Tenney and Logan

I planned to go to the AG store on Saturday to see all the new shiny things, but Very Unexpectedly my Thursday opened up and I thought, Oh, my gosh I actually have time to go the AG store! I didn’t have much time though. I took the 11:10 train to Union Station and jogged the rest of the way to AG (yeah, I’m going to spend tons of money on AG, but I’m too cheap to take a cab) so I could have as much time at the store as possible. When I got near the store I almost thought it was closed because I saw no one with AG shopping bags. I was relieved to find it opened and STUNNED to find that I was basically the only one there!

I’m so sorry I don’t have pictures. This was such an abrupt decision that I hadn’t charged my camera battery over night and it was completely dead! (It charged while I went to the AG store). I hope to go back on Saturday, possibly with a friend, to spend more time and take more pictures.

I always have such a good time there even when I’m in a hurry (I had only about 45 min at the store before I needed to catch the next train back). One store employee did the usual asking me what I wanted/looking for. I told him I was here to buy Tenney because I knew she wouldn’t have permapanties and I’d come back Saturday for Logan. He said that was a good idea, but that maybe I should get Logan instead. He seemed to think Tenney would be okay at least until then as far as underwear goes but because of the press releases about Logan, Logan is expecting to sell out very quickly, “I wouldn’t be surprised if he’s sold out by Saturday,” he said.

After I had looked around, (added to my wishlist to get Kit’s dress, and Julie’s outfit, I didn’t even get a chance to see her bathroom) I kind of agreed with him, and wondered if Tenney herself wouldn’t sell out too. The Chicago AG store is HUGE, but Tenney only has two small spots. She shares space with Gabby at the front of the store, and that’s the only place you can buy the Tenney and Logan dolls, and then there are some more of her accessories right before you go upstairs. Gabby still has full reign upstairs.

The whole time I was walking to the AG store and even before that, I had no clue who I was going to come home with. I had reserves about Tenney due to her panties and her lips. The leaked photos I’d seen of the actual doll made her lips seem as if they had very heavy lipstick and her whole face seemed very done up. I wondered if I’d have to go through a Tenney in a haystack to find one with natural lips and real underwear.

But when I got to the store ALL the Tennies had beautiful lips. Not only that, she is just a Stunningly beautiful doll. Very few AG dolls have really captivated me with their beauty. I can come up with Elizabeth and Ruthie and that’s it. Not even Lea is that beautiful. But Tenney is one of those stunners. I knew as soon as I saw her, she was coming home with me no matter what. It also helped when another store employee came up to me and said, “Oh, my goodness, Tenney looks just like you!” Yeah, right. I don’t have freckles, or gorgeous thick hair, or even brown eyes!

I asked one of the store employees about Felicity and he said Felicity will be getting new clothes and items but he didn’t know when. I guess we’ll find out whether he’s right or not soon enough. I didn’t come home with her, but I did get her undergarments set.

Although I love Tenney’s outfits and want them and all the accessories, I think they’re terribly overpriced. I only bought the banjo because it’s adorable and banjo music makes me so happy.

So after all that, you want to see pics, right?

I finally got home and grabbed my newly charged camera and clicked away:

 “Woooow! A new doll is here!” Saige cried as I dropped the Tenney box in front of Nicki and herself, “Let’s open it and let her out!”

 Saige scrambled to lift the sides of the box.

“Um, Saige, I don’t think you can lift it that way anymore. They changed it.”

 “You open it from the top now.”

 “Wow, she’s so pretty,” Saige admired, “I think she’s even prettier than me.”

“Hi, guys!” Tenney said, “You want to get me out the rest of the way?”

  I didn’t need any scissors to get her out. As you can see, the only thing different are the plastic straps around her wrists. It took me the usual 1 minute to detach her from her box. I do think, although the box looks Barbie-ish, I think it’s stronger and the doll is safer than the older boxes. Because you slide the boxed doll out, it’s double thickness except for the front.

 Yay! No permapanties!!! And the original body design.

 Adorable boot shoes.

 I’m not a big fan of her meet outfit. I think the colors clash, and it’s cheap. The skirt is as thin as OG quality.

 The pockets are no longer real.

 I wonder what that design is on her shoulder. I can’t wait to read her book to see if it says anything about it.

 If you are looking to buy a Tenney or Logan I strongly advise you to pick them out at the store. I saw a number of Tenney dolls with messy pincurls, thin pincurls, long and short pincurls. I went through 8 boxes before I found the perfect one.

I need a tutorial on how to take a hairnet off a brand new doll. I ended up extracting a chunk of hair from her ponytail trying to take the darn thing off!

 

Right out of the hair net. Look at the gorgeous waves of THICK golden beauty! And that’s not even all her hair, because of the chunk that got dislodged!

Without flash. I haven’t yet taken her hair down (I will tonight). I always like to keep it the way it is brand new for a while. But Tenney’s been complaining she wants it down because she’s cold. (eye roll)

 I almost forgot about the bracelet that’s attached to the side of her box. Good thing I noticed it when I took her book out.

 Someone had mentioned that it had a pick charm for her guitar, but that’s not true.

 It really is weird how her lips change color when a picture is taken. In real life her lips look much more natural than this pic.

 “We’re going to be good friends!” says Saige.

 “Do you guys want to listen to some music?” Tenney asked.

“Wait!” I said, “I just want to do a quick hair comparison and then you can have a country concert.”

 Sorry these pics are so bad. Here are Lanie and Tenney. Lanie has more highlights than Tenney.

no flash.

 Caroline and Tenney.

 Caroline is almost Barbie white when compared to Tenney’s. I think Tenney’s is much more natural.

 Without flash.

Tenney’s banjo box.

 The banjo not only plays 3 songs, but the strings really strum and can be tuned! Very cool, AG.

 The only thing cheap about it is the strap:

 The teeny, tiny pick. (AG, if we loose doll underwear, how the heck are we going to keep track of this?

 It fits Tenney’s finger perfectly. And also any other AG doll.

 “I can bring my guitar and play too!” Nicki said.

 (Nicki’s dollar store guitar)

 Jonathon walked in, “Hey guys, cool music. I don’t know if you know, but there’s another doll waiting to be opened…”

And….it’s a BOY!”

 “A BOY!!”

 Logan’s arms were not tied to the box.

 “Finally! I’m not the only American boy doll in this place!”

 “Are we the only male dolls?” Logan asked.

“No, there’s Stephan and Jakob, but that’s it. Just the 4 of us against a thousand girls.”

 “That’s okay, I get along with girls pretty well.”

 No permapanties again!!

 His cute underwear.

I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep their boxes. I’ll probably keep Logan’s because the back shows Logan with brown eyes instead of gray. Here’s a Logan comparison:

 I don’t have a problem that he shares the same face mold as Kaya. I do not believe there is a contract between the Nez Perce and AG that only Kaya is allowed to have her mold. I also think Logan’s is different anyway. His face is less chubby, the lips are thinner, the eyebrows are different. and his chin is more pointed. I had so much fun playing with his bangs.

 Back of Logan’s head.

 Logan has gray eyes, but they’re different than Molly’s and Ruthie’s. All I can describe it is they’re darker and deeper.

 Logan and Ruthie.

I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep Logan’s name. I don’t like the name and my hopscotch hill doll is already Logan and I hate having two dolls with the same name. But I’ll probably end up keeping it because I have a hard time changing given names. They always become James-but-he’s-really-Logan or something like that. I’m going to treat Tenney like I do with Marie Grace. When she’s truly Marie Grace then she keeps that name, but when she travels to a modern or Colonial time period she becomes Mary Grace. Tenney will be Tenney when she’s Tenney (ha). And when she’s not she’ll be Tenny. I like that spelling better.

That’s it! I’ll post more soon and let you know if I go again on Saturday.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Meet the Dolls, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tenney and Logan

  1. Jen says:

    Congratulations! They look great and I think the banjo is pretty cool too. You jogged from the train station? That’s FAR!!
    What do you think about Tenney’s birthmark/stray freckle? It jumps out at me in pictures but they do look different in person.
    I like Tenney’s cabbage rose motif.
    I am fully expecting a post about Lindsey’s return to being a girl!

    • jackylina says:

      I’m not a big fan of her stray freckle. If you just glance at it, it looks like she has dirt on her face. And now that I’ve had her for a full day, her lips aren’t quite as natural as I had described in the post, but they aren’t too bad.
      Lindsey is still refusing to become all girl. She loves playing Ricky in the Molly series and I can’t see her giving that up especially since she’s the director of the whole thing. I will make a post of Lindsey meeting Logan. Stay tuned!

  2. Emily says:

    Congrats! I’m still feeling lukewarm to both of them, but seeing the photos and excitement of others is bringing me around a bit. The banjo is wonderful!

    • jackylina says:

      Yes, I normally tell myself to wait at least a month after a new doll comes out. When they first come out and everyone shares pics and excitement I end up wanting the doll right away. Waiting a month helps me to really decide whether or not to add her to my overly large collection. I did not want to wait this time because I know later Tenneys and possibly Logans will have permapanties and I will never buy a doll that has that.

  3. bennettv says:

    Welcome Tenney and Logan!! She is very pretty and Logan is adorable! However, I am on the fence like a lot of people at this time. We are from Canada, so we can’t buy a doll from the store. Since we wouldn’t be able to choose our own Tenney, and like you said, some are not equal to others, I don’t know if we will get her. I do get what you mean about purchasing before the permapanty debacle arrives. There are just a few other dolls that we really want instead, and so we might just have to pass on Tenney for those.

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • jackylina says:

      What dolls are you thinking of getting? I hope you’re able to get them before permapanties.

      • bennettv says:

        Well, I won’t have to worry about the permapanties because for the dolls we want, we will have to go to eBay. We really want Jess. 🙂 We just love her face mold! She is so cute! ❤ I was also thinking of looking for another TLC doll to give new life to. We probably won't be looking to get a brand new doll for a long while now, so I'm afraid it's going to have to be eBay for us unless they change the permapanty design. 😦 AG should really reconsider what they are doing. Time will tell I guess.

        ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

      • jackylina says:

        Jess is beautiful. She has those gorgeous red highlights in her hair that light up in the sunlight.

  4. kaffrum says:

    maybe Logan can be his middle name..

  5. Flo says:

    ROFL at your comment about the guitar pick! I doubt I’ll be getting either of these, but I am embarrassed to admit that Logan looks an awful lot like a guy I had a major crush on all through school. Hmmmm…

Leave a Reply

