What is AG Doing!?

I normally don’t write posts on leaks or any future information that American Girl will do on this blog. It’s just not what this blog is about, but I can’t help doing it with this.

2017 has been a huge year of changes from American girl and most of them are not good: AG changed their packaging, they switched GOTYs (Tenney and Gabby) and poor Gabriela had hardly anything to debut, and NOW THIS:

American Girl has decided to permanently attach underwear to their mostly modern dolls. This includes Melody, Maryellen, Julie, all the TMs, Tenney and Logan and future Contemporary Characters. I don’t think the underwear will be painted on their bodies nor will it be part of the body itself, but they stated that it is permanently attached and you can’t remove it with a seam ripper. The Wellie Wishers and Bitties Babies will NOT change, nor will Gabriela get this.

The packaging, I could deal with as long as I don’t find holes in my clothes. And I was pleased to learn that Gabriela will receive at least one new outfit, a mini doll, a loft bed, a fuzzy chair and ottoman in her collection this spring. But THIS takes the cake! I am in the midst of writing an Isabelle story and lots of my dolls are wearing ballet outfits and warm-up leotards and I can just imagine how terrible that would look with underwear underneath. How are they going to wear swimsuits? Julie is supposed to get a giant pink bathroom, complete with the toilet and now she will never be able to pee!

I cannot fathom the reason for AG doing this. I am simply at a loss. It makes their dolls seem even cheaper than they already are. Here I was SO excited that I have gift cards and money saved up to go to the CC release and buy Logan, and probably Tenney and possibly Felicity, but now, I don’t know what to do.

Every time I see stuff about this I think, is this really happening? Is this a big AG joke? It’s a little early for April Fools, but….

The best way we can stop this is to send snail mail letters to Katy Dickson, the CEO of AG. If you take the time to write a real letter it may get noticed more than just a comment or an email. Here is the address if you feel so inclined:

Ms. Katy Dickson

American Girl

8400 Fairway PL

Middleton, WI 53562

Right now, I still plan to go to the release, but I have no clue what or if I’ll buy anything. I’d like to see what it really looks like. I’m sure we will be seeing lots of almost naked Tennies and Logans when they release on the 14th.

Update: Someone bought a Logan doll from the Navel Exchange (who accidentally released Tenney and Logan early). He did NOT have permanent underwear and he has (I think) a new version of gray eyes! They are really similar to Marie Grace’s so it’s hard to tell whether it’s MG or gray, but I think it’s a deeper, slightly darker new gray. I’m probably going to buy Tenney and Logan right away, open them in the store and see what kind of undies they’re wearing. Hopefully, for the first batch they will be normal AG dolls.

Tell me what you think in the comments.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to What is AG Doing!?

  1. Jen says:

    A disappointing change. Reminds me of how Barbie dolls now have spray painted underwear. Better play value when you can swap undergarments. Maybe Julie wants to hang with Felicity…. and wear some pantallettes. Thank you for the suggestion to write to AG.

  2. Abby says:

    I’m writing about my dolls their protesting AG. XD It will be up after the super bowl post. 🙂 Which should be up tonight hopefully.

  3. light4thelord says:

    I am TOTALLY writing. LIke, REALLY soon.
    ~ LIght4theLord
    https://dollsnall.blogspot.com

  4. Pingback: AMERICAN GIRL DOLL BLOGGERS & AG Doll: LIZ/ TAKE A STAND DOLLS – BRUNCH WITH THE DOLLS

  5. Flo says:

    Another suggestion too–go to social media–Twitter, Facebook, Instagram–anywhere AG has an account and complain publicly. I’ve already done it and I think the more people do it in a public forum, the more they are going to have no choice but to pay attention. I think this is absolutely the most ridiculous thing they have done, and their reasoning makes no sense. Great way to lie to the public about the real reason they are doing it, which I suspect is more cost cutting measures.

    LOL at Julie not being able to pee!!!

    • jackylina says:

      I totally agree. I just think it makes more of an impact to actually handwrite a letter. It shows you care enough to take the time to do something like that.

      • Flo says:

        I mean do everything, all of it. Not just one thing, but hit them EVERYWHERE. This can’t be ignored, we are tired of putting up with mediocrity but paying premium prices.

      • jackylina says:

        YES! (I don’t have my own account on facebook, but I will everywhere else!) I heard they’re deleting comments on facebook too.

    • Jen says:

      On Facebook American Girl page there are photos of the new design … pink! And an explanation that it is to make play easier. What if the kid doesn’t want pink underwear on their doll?

      • Flo says:

        Gee, what a surprise! Heaven forbid they might be yellow or blue?!?!?!?! What is their obsession with pink?

      • Jen says:

        I feel sensitive to girls who may want to shape their doll’s identity in some other way…. AG was much more open for interpretive play when Pleasant Co had clothes that were more realistic and less girly (like the short skirts now).

      • jackylina says:

        How is that making it easier to play? It’s limiting imagination! Now girls can’t pretend to have them go to the bathroom – when they may have just gotten Julie’s new bathroom!

  6. Jen says:

    Girls=long hair, short skirt, and pink underwear. See my post on “Free to be You and Me”!

Leave a Reply

