Jacky’s Downfall

Here is the modern version of Jacky’s disaster story. For this photo story, please pretend there is a whole lot more snow than what you see here. I really want some snow!!

Jacky and Amy were thrilled to be the very first girls on the hill since the last snowfall. Jacky was really a snowboarder like Amy, but her snowboard was being borrowed by Kennedy who was on vacation, so Jacky borrowed Nicki’s skis instead.

 “Come on, Jacky, let’s be the first girls to slide down the hill together.”

Jacky looked apprehensive, “I don’t think we should go together. I’m still brand new to these skis and I’ll feel a lot better if I have the whole hill to myself.”

Amy shrugged, “Okay, here I go..”

 “Wheeeee!” Amy sailed down the hill and performed a heel tuck jump at the bottom, “Your turn!”

Jacky took a deep breath, I’ll never know how it feels until I try, she thought as she gave her skis a push and cautiously crept down the hill.

 At first she wasn’t going to fast and felt she was in control. She could feel the wind whipping at her cheeks as she started to pick up speed. As she headed toward the bottom of the hill she picked up even more speed.

Kthump! One of her skis hit a protruding root, making her loose her balance. She tried to right herself by leaning the other way, but she leaned too far. Flailing wildly, she stopped looking where she was going and just tried hard to not fall.

 Suddenly she gasped. A tree was right in front of her and she was going way too fast to avoid it.

 CRASH!

Jacky opened her eyes as shock and adrenaline coursed through her. Then there was pain. Pain of the highest level she had never experienced before. She screamed once. Stars were glittering out of the corners of her eyes and shooting toward the center of her vision.

“Jacky! Are you okay!?” Came a voice that seemed very far away.

More stars, and then blackness….nothing…..no pain.

 Jacky woke up but she didn’t open her eyes. She could tell by the smells and sounds that she wasn’t where she had been before. Where am I? What happened? What’s going on?….and then it all came flooding back. The crash, the fall, the pain. She wasn’t feeling any pain now. She opened her eyes and found herself in a hospital room by herself.

A nurse walked in, “Oh, you’re awake! Jackylina Faber, right? You had quite the fall. It’s a good thing your friend was there to get help. I’m going to take your temperature just as a precaution. I’m Nurse Kohanna by the way.”

 Jacky didn’t even get to respond as Nurse Kohanna shoved the thermometer into her mouth.

 “Perfectly normal,” Nurse Kohanna concluded, “I’m going to get Dr. Ashleigh now that you’re awake. She wants to talk to you.”

Alone again, Jacky looked around the room. A blue sink was on her right, and a little hospital table already filled with medicine and Kleenex was on her left. Jacky started to sit up to see more but stopped with a gasp. There was just a little bit of pain, but what scared her the most was that she couldn’t feel her left leg at all. It was like it was gone. She had no control over it. She thought about looking under the covers just to make sure it was there but Dr. Ashleigh walked into the room.

 “Jacky, hi, I’m Dr. Ashleigh. You had a really nasty fall on those skis. Do you know what happened?”

“I don’t know. I guess I was going too fast, my ski hit a root, and I lost my balance and crashed into a tree.”

“Hmmm. I believe my patients need to know everything that’s going on, whether they’re kids or adults, so here’s the verdict of your injuries; You injured your leg so badly, we ended up having to amputate it.”

Jacky almost fainted again.  Her leg didn’t just feel gone, it really was gone! What was she going to do? How was she going to live the rest of her life?

 “Our hospital is not equipped to do such complicated surgical procedures to re-attach it. We are going to transport you to a surgical hospital in Wisconsin. On January 22nd, you’ll be sent to the hospital and in a few weeks you’ll come back with a new leg. You’ll be in a wheel chair, and then on crutches for a while as the bones and muscles get realigned and heal, and then you’ll be as good as new.”

As good as new. Going to a hospital. Being gone for weeks. She was certainly relieved that she wouldn’t have to live the rest of her life with one leg, but Jacky still had a lot of anxiety, “Will it hurt when I get my leg reattached?”

“No, it won’t hurt at all. That hospital is great, they even do head transplants perfectly. Right now, I advise you to stay in bed as much as possible. Nurse Kohanna will be back to fix you something to eat.”

Dr. Ashleigh left the room.

Jacky took a deep breath and let it out. She wasn’t looking forward to going to this surgical hospital, but what was she going to do from now until she left? How could she possibly stay in bed for 3 days? She was a girl of excitement and action. She couldn’t even watch a movie for more than an hour, and she detested video games.

Jacky hadn’t realized how hungry she was until a bowl of alphabet soup and green tea was brought to her. Amy came bursting into the room just as she was about to take her first bite. She hadn’t even changed out of her snow gear.

 “Jacky! Oh, I’m so sorry. I can’t believe this happened. This is so terrible! What are you going to do?”

“That’s a really good question,” Jacky said, “I wish I could go to that hospital right now instead of having to wait in bed for days and days.”

“Well, just because you can’t walk doesn’t mean you can’t get around. There are tons of wheel chairs in this place. Why don’t you finish your soup while my dad talks to the doctor to get you out of here.”

Jacky grinned, “The doctor advised me to stay in bed but she didn’t say I had too! I’ll eat super fast!”

It was odd, because Jacky didn’t even remember leaving the hospital, but the next time she was conscious, she found herself in her own bed and Amy was waking her up.

 “Jacky, the doctor said to wake you up after two hours. How do you feel?”

“Really sleepy,” Jacky said groggily, “how did I get back home anyway?”

“The doctor gave you some medicine that’s supposed to take away all pain for 12 hours. But it made you black out. She said you should take some when you go to Wisconsin.”

“Great,” Jacky said sarcastically.

“Come on, Jacky. You’re going to Wisconsin to get better so cheer up. Aren’t you hungry? All you had was one bowl of soup this whole day. Cecile made you a breakfast even though it’s 10 o’clock at night.”

“Aw, that’s sweet of her. And now that you mention it, I am hungry,” Jacky waited expectantly for Amy to bring her a tray to her bed. Instead, Amy brought a wheel chair.

“A wheel chair!” Jack whined, “You mean I have to get out of bed?”

“You should practice getting in and out of a wheel chair. You’re going to have to do this for three more days and a couple more days after your surgery too.”

 Jacky groaned but not from pain. It was more from humiliation. Amy guided her expertly and ever so gently into it but she felt like such an old lady.

 As Amy wheeled her into the kitchen, Jacky could smell the wonderful aromas of bacon and eggs and pancakes. Her stomach rumbled even louder.

 Cecile was just about to dig in to her breakfast dinner when she looked up as Jacky was wheeled in.

“Jacky, I heard about your skiing disaster. That’s so sad about your leg.”

 “Yeah, I can’t believe it happened. It feels almost unreal. Now I’m going to have to go have surgery in Wisconsin. I’m scared.”

 “I’d be happy to come with you. Or, at least as far as they’ll let me. Maybe I can visit some of the patients like Marie Grace did in New Orleans.”

“You’d come with me?” Jacky asked gratefully, “Thanks so much, Cecile. It’ll be so much better with a companion.”

However, when the day actually arrived, Jacky ended up not being too thrilled to have company. She was forced to take the medicine that morning, and it was different from before. It was pre-surgery medicine. It took away all pain, but it also made her feel miserably sick to her stomach. She stayed hidden in the travel bag the whole way in the car, moaning at every bump.

Heather the human tried hard to not bump Jacky as she trekked the one and a half miles to the AG store from the free parking spot, but Jacky didn’t feel much better even when they arrived and Heather and Cecile ooh’d over the new GOTY windows:

“Is this why you brought me and made me wear this outfit?” Cecile asked Heather with a sly smile, “because I look like the new GOTY?”

“Yep,” she answered, “I wanted to make a real life comparison between the two of you and the only way to do that was to bring you here, because Gabby is not coming home to us.”

Jacky gave another groan.

“Come on, let’s get Jacky to the hospital before we have our fun.”

As soon as they arrived at the hospital, Jacky was given some more medicine that helped her feel better almost instantly. She was put in a hospital gown and placed in a berry colored wheel chair.

 “I guess this is it,” Jacky said trying to be brave.

“I guess so,” Cecile answered, “they won’t let me go any farther, but the nurse here seems really nice. They said you’ll come back home in 3 to 4 weeks.

Don’t worry, Jacky, the greatest Doctor in the world is watching over you and we are all praying for you.”

“Huh, I never thought about Jesus being the greatest doctor in the world. But I guess he was. I mean, he healed many people in incredibly miraculous ways.”

“He even brought Lazarus back from the dead,” Cecile added.

“Yeah,” Jacky sounded much more confidant and very much at peace, “And Jesus is on my side so I have nothing to fear.”

“Exactly,” Cecile gave her a hug, “We’ll see you in 3 weeks!”

Jacky was wheeled out and Heather and Cecile turned around to look at the new Gabriela displays.

“Come on, let me take a picture of you and Gabby.”

Guess who’s who?

Cecile walked over to a human size Gabby display.

“Does Gabby like hopscotch?” she asked as she jumped the steps.

“I don’t know, I haven’t read her story yet, but this is practically your size, isn’t it?” Heather replied.

Heather took more pictures of Cecile and Gabby in their matching outfits. And a comparison of their hair.

“We’re practically twins,” Gabby said.

“Yes, but not quite,” Heather said, “you happen to have the same hairstyle as Gabby, but I know other Ceciles have sausauge curls rather than ringlets which look different. Your hair is definitely darker than Gabby’s and it has those beautiful red tones that Gabby’s doesn’t have. But I think Gabby’s is longer. We’ll have to do a comparison photo with your hair down.”

Heather was just about to grab Cecile to take her hair down, when Cecile ran towards the BeForever section pointing at Rebecca.

 “How in the world is she holding her skirt like that?” Cecile asked.

It did look like magic from the front. Heather looked carefully at her hands, “Look, there’s sticky stuff on her hand to make the dress stick there. I wonder what they use to not ruin the fabric. And look at the other side.

 It’s wrapped around her middle fingers. I’ll have to remember that for some skirt poses you guys can do.”

Heather was finally able to snag Cecile on the escalator and take her hair down. When they reached the second floor, Gabby greeted them again just like Lea had.

I wonder if this is where Tenney and Logan will be in February, Heather thought to herself, I wonder where Felicity will go if it’s just her. Distracted by that thought, Heather didn’t see Cecile run off. Heather whirled around wondering where she could be. Then she saw her.

 Gabby was letting her borrow her headphones so she could teach her a dance move.

 “Cecile! Stop running away from me! People are going to notice you!” Heather scolded.

“No they won’t. There aren’t even many people here,” Cecile started shadowing Gabby’s moves.

Heather looked around. Cecile was right, there weren’t many people in the store and hardly anyone was near Gabby’s things. In fact, she had never even seen a little girl carrying Gabby around the store. Whereas with Lea, Heather would frequently have to wait her turn to look at her accessories or stand by her hut. And there were constantly little girls clutching their Lea dolls or carrying them in backpacks. Heather had even seen a girl carrying a messy haired Lea out of the store when she was going in today.

“Stop moving for a minute, I want to take a pic of your hair down.”

 “Just as I thought, ” Heather confirmed, “Gabby’s is basically longer and thicker than yours. Except for one or two weird little ringlets that are longer.”

 After one more dance set, Cecile was carried off to look at the old GOTYs.

 “Look! Lea’s there,” Cecile sighed, “aw, it’s so sad to see her in a glass case now.”

 “Don’t tell our Lea about this. She won’t be very happy.”

They looked at a couple more pretty displays and then thought about heading out.

 “Wait,” Heather said, “I want one more pick of you and this doll.

 The next time I come here will be in February, and I’m not taking anyone with me…..but I may bring a friend or two home….”

-Heather

Yes, as you know from reading the Felicity story, Jacky is not at the AG hospital for a new eyes and a re-attached limb. I’ll show her to you when she returns!

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jacky’s Downfall

  1. Flo says:

    Poor Jacky. Kit could totally relate when she read about the trip to the hospital. They are so nice at that one in Wisconsin though. Hopefully she will be home soon.

    I’m still debating on sending Abby in. Some days her hair looks okay to me and others it just looks fried. First world problems…

    • jackylina says:

      I had the same thoughts with my Miranda (#11) and I finally decided to send her in for a new head. I’m so happy I did! Her hair is amazing. I play with her so much more than I used to.

  2. Jen says:

    I had to admit I laughed out loud about the amputation and reassurance that they even can replace heads. Will look forward to Jacky’s return!
    I enjoyed the pictures from AG. The window displays don’t seem that appealing to an 8 year old. Were they better in person? Love Gabriela’s tap dance outfit!

    • jackylina says:

      I giggled when I wrote that too!
      No, the AG windows aren’t very appealing. I’m excited to see what they’ll do for Tenney. I guess I’ll see when I go Feb 18th.

  3. I cannot tell you how much I enjoyed this post! I love how you wrote it, and I thought it as sooo funny when Dr. Ashleigh said, “That hospital is great, they even do head transplants perfectly.” Oh my goodness, that was hilarious! XD And thanks so much for sharing your pictures from the AG store! I really love your AG store pictures – they’re of all the interesting things that I really want to see.

    Madison

  4. bennettv says:

    Poor Jacky!! I am so glad that she is getting fixed up good as new! I have some experience with fixing doll limbs. There are actually a couple of dolls that I am going to be fixing their limbs soon. Maybe I will post about it so others can do the same. Good luck to your Jacky! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • jackylina says:

      I thought about trying it myself, but her eyelids are scratched up so I sent her in for new eyes too.
      I’d love to see a post about it though. It might make me braver to try it on my Kit doll.

  5. Pingback: Jacky’s Back! | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

