Keeping it Special (packaging)

I’m sure you’ve heard AG is changing the packaging of their dolls and clothes. We have seen it firsthand with GOTY Gabriela. When I first saw this I didn’t think I’d be bothered by the new packaging and I don’t think I’ll be bothered by the new box for the doll. I kind of like all the colors of the box and I think the young girls AG markets towards will like it. Though it is rather Barbified. The clothes, however, are a different story. I’ve read about people cutting the threads that attach the clothes to the cardboard and finding holes in the clothes, especially on Gabriela’s pjs. AG clothes cost way more than Walmart and Target clothes and I expect better from them.  It makes AG clothes no longer special. This will certainly make me think twice about buying from them.

There are many doll companies who still make their packaging special and one of them is Via E. They just had a 40% off sale on all their clothing so I picked up Alexis’s Sao Paulo dress. It was like opening a Christmas present. There was even a handwritten thank you signature from Ellen Callen herself on the receipt.

 I love the colorful box. The thing on the side is a vinyl cleaning sponge and cream for doll scratches. Alexis has had 3 scratches on her face for a year now because she fell onto the kitchen table face first trying to steal a cookie. I’ll write another post about that when I have time to scrub the scratches off. We’ll see if it works, at least the sponge was only $1.

Most outfits from Via E come with a card, and if you have one of the dolls you can add it to the two ring binder that accompanies the dolls. The front of the card describes Alexis’s excitement about living there. The back is the best: There are 4 different ways to wear this outfit!

I remember when AG used to add extra things to their outfits; pamphlets, trading cards, mini books, charms, and now….nothing.

Look how beautifully it’s wrapped, and I love the colorful tissue paper.

The dress is folded carefully inside. I’ve opened many AG boxes where the box is just a bit too small and the dress is stuffed into the box and comes out all wrinkly.

Does AG’s packaging bother you? What do you think of it?

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Keeping it Special (packaging)

  1. I agree with you that AG’s current packaging seems pretty poor, though I wouldn’t know from first hand experience because I don’t buy anything from them. I really don’t like the new doll box design, partially because AG has had a different kind of box for so long. But it all seems cheaper to me.

  2. bennettv says:

    I am unsure about the new doll packaging, but I have to say that receiving all those cute little outfits in their individual boxes with tissue paper is something special. I don’t think that punched through with string and attached to cardboard holds the same sort of specialness. I also don’t like the new zip tie method instead of the neck strings. Our new Lea has that so we will see how it holds up. Her neck is pretty stiff and I am thinking that’s why.

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • jackylina says:

      Yes, I have Lea and Melody with the zip tie. Lea’s head is just fine to turn but Melody’s takes two hands and a lot of effort to turn. I like that they can wear bathing suits without the neck strings making them look stupid but I feel bad for the AG customizers. The zip ties make it a lot harder to customize the dolls.

  3. I’ve heard about American Girl changing the doll boxes, but I had no idea about the doll outfits. This will definitely make me think twice about buying from them, too… Getting an American Girl outfit or doll was special and unique, but the new cheap packing will change that experience dramatically. :\

    Thanks for sharing about Via E! Do they make 18″ doll clothing?

  4. Flo says:

    I understand why they are changing the way they package, but I have to agree, if I’m going to spend that much on a doll outfit, I don’t want holes in it! I will definitely be thinking twice about purchasing any of their newer outfits that will be packaged this way. Not only that, but there is no way to get these outfits out of the packages without mutilating the package, so no reusing the boxes for storage or crafting. Seems wasteful to me. Guess I’ll be buying more and more from Etsy!

  5. Jen says:

    The Via E packaging is impressive. There has been a lot about the new doll on FB this week, FYI. I’ll accept a string through the clothes for a 12.00 Target outfit. Not acceptable for AG pricing.

Leave a Reply

