Tonner My Imagination Doll

Well, I was not expecting to buy another doll until the great Felicity/Logan/Tenney release in February. I do not foresee myself getting Gabby. Even before she was released there were confirmations that she would be a #46 and AG would not put any effort into her or her collection which was why I decided to get Melody instead. I confirmed this decision even more by purchasing Gabriela’s meet outfit (that’s my favorite outfit of hers) through a back link American Girl Doll Artist from small dolls in a big world provided. If I need a Gabriela, Cecile will be happy to step in.

Anyway, a new doll did make it in to my house just after Christmas. Ever since Dolldiaries introduced me to the Tonner My Imagination doll line I fell in love with all of those dolls. For the longest time I couldn’t decide which one to choose and I also really wanted a Deluxe one who could bend her knees but they weren’t available for the longest time. When they did finally show up, I had so many other new dolls that I decided to wait, that is until I read this letter from Robert Tonner stating he was discontinuing practically all of his major doll lines including Ellowyne and My Imagination. I was so sad because My Imagination is such a new line and barely even got a chance to grow. There was an Alice in Wonderland and an African American MI doll in the works that Char from Dolldiaries saw at the fair and said was absolutely adorable but I guess we’ll never see them. Since I’ve collected all the Tonner 18″ play dolls (Magic Attic, Penny and Friends)  I knew I had to have a MI doll before they sold out. I bought a beautiful Deluxe doll and a black wig. What’s special about these Deluxe dolls compared to the regular $80 dolls is they can bend their knees and change their wigs. Each doll comes with a brown curly haired wig with bangs and a blond wig without bangs (I bought the black wig separately). Normally when I buy a doll she already has a name and I have invented at least something of what her character will be like. Since this was such an unexpected buy I had no clue who she was going to be. I decided to not think about it until I opened her up:

Brand new in the box. You can see the extra blond wig on the side.

This is the message on the back of the box. I love the logo:

She’s tied down with white ribbons so it’s super easy to get her out of the box and you can reuse the ribbons because they are the perfect length for doll hair.

Here she is right out of the box.

I love the brilliant blue of her eyes. They almost seem to change color in different lighting. Her eyelashes are so long they almost touch her bangs. I know some people don’t care for her expression but to me she looks focused or curious about something. As I continued to contemplate her expression two names popped up – she could be Samantha’s nemesis – Rebecca. At least, if Samantha would let me own Rebecca I’d have this doll be Ana. I even dressed her in Rebecca’s BF meet outfit (don’t tell Samantha I own it!):

 It is so odd to have an all vinyl doll who fits into AG clothes perfectly. All my other all vinyl dolls are either too slim or too weirdly shaped (Maru and Friends) to fit into their clothes. Here she is sitting down:

Here is a look at her beautiful Rebecca-like brown curls:

Her wig is on the thin side, but not too thin. After turning her around once more and dressing her in Cecile’s Christmas dress….

I decided to name her Lydia in honor of Samantha’s mother. I thought this doll would be what Samantha’s mother might have looked like when she was a child and hopefully Samantha will become fast friends with her.

A face comparison with my other Tonner dolls tells me these dolls are definitely related. Can you see the resemblance?

 Original Magic Attic Megan, her sister Sara (a revised MA Megan), Lydia.

Lydia, Penny (Penny and Friends), Ann Estelle. Ann is the only completely different Tonner doll although she does resemble the Magic Attic Rose face mold:

I’d say if you want to get a Tonner doll get them now. Patience is already sold out and there’s not too much there for Ellowyne and the My Imagination wigs are gone.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Meet the Dolls. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tonner My Imagination Doll

  1. bennettv says:

    She’s beautiful! I love her eyes! 🙂 She is the perfect choice. I think Lydia is a lovely name too. 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

Leave a Reply

