Snaggy Velcro?

I meant to post this well before Christmas but I got too busy and it didn’t happen. But I thought, better late than never:

Have you ever been so frustrated trying to put a doll dress on? First, the Velcro snags the tights, then it snags on part of the dress itself and pulls out tiny threads making a brand new dress already look worn. Then just when you’re trying to close it, it snags on your doll’s beautiful hair and gets it all tangled! GRRRRR!
Well, I have the solution for you! I’ve been doing this for years and I’ve never ever had a problem with snaggy velcro. In fact I prefer AG to keep the super snaggy velcro on their clothes rather than the softer kind. Here’s why:
First, you need to buy some Velcro strips. I got mine from Joann Fabrics. You open the dress:

 As soon as that dress is opened, cover the scratchy Velcro side of the dress with the soft strip of the Velcro you bought:

 Make sure ALL of it is covered:

 Put the dress on the doll.

 And when the dress is on the doll, either turn her head around or make sure her hair is out of the way, and take the strip off to close the dress.

And there you go! No snags. I’ve done this so much it kind of became a habit. I do it even when I probably don’t really need to. I prefer the super snaggy kind because it sticks better.

 

 I have three Velcro strips lying around just in case I loose one. I’ve also used them on my fat PC dolls. If they want to wear a Mattel dress that doesn’t fit them, I put the Velcro strip on and just leave it there. They just wear the dress open, or slightly open, and I don’t have to worry about snags. I hope this is a helpful post for you!
-Heather
About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snaggy Velcro?

  1. Awesome life hack! I’ll be sure to use this all the time! 😀
    -Sam

Leave a Reply

