Messiah

Merry Christmas everyone!! Like Nellie said to Melody in this post, I had so many plans for my dolls for Christmas this year; I had hoped to have them do a whole bunch of mini Christmas shows: some would do the Nutcracker, some would perform in the Messiah, some would do a Santa skit, and some would do the Christmas pageant, but only one of those happened. I started with Handel’s Messiah with a good size choir of dolls. They had such a great time singing ‘For Unto Us is Born’ and the ‘Hallelujah Chorus’.  And they were amazed at how Handel was able to depict the meaning of the words through his music, for example, ‘The People Who Walked in Darkness’ starts in a minor key, and the melody is very winding – you can’t tell where the music is going. Then when it opens up to “They have seen a great Light” it transposes to a major key. The dolls (or maybe me) got so excited about singing they invited more friends to join the choir and every day of rehearsal the numbers doubled! Soon, practically every single one of my dolls participated in it in some way or anther, whether it was singing in the choir, being a soloist, accompanying in the orchestra, or setting up for the Wassail Bowl reception afterward. The dolls all thought you might like to see, so here it is. Handel’s Messiah performed by my dolls:

 Above was the original choir. I used all my historical dolls plus some friends. Ruthie is making Samantha very unhappy. She dressed as Rebecca instead of herself, wearing a blue dress with dreidyls on it. Samantha still has a grudge against Rebecca for ‘kicking her out’ and can’t stand anything about her. She almost wanted to cancel the whole thing but that got all the dolls upset!

 THIS is the choir I didn’t expect to have. All of my GOTYs and all their friends lined up below the historicals who became the balcony choir.

 Jess McConnell was one of our soloists.

Lanie was another.

I’ve been in different Messiah’s for many years and all the soloists dress up in spectacular fashion. The dolls didn’t disappoint either!

 Marisol and Maggie were the other two soloists.

 Of course we couldn’t have a choir without the orchestra! Performing on violin are Stephen and Sara. Penny is on the viola and Tanya is playing cello.

 Last but not least, the girl who enjoys being in charge of everything and the boss of it all – Ellie-Grace Thomas: (click here to listen to it)

For unto us a Child is born, 

 unto us a Son is given, 

 and the government

Shall be upon His shoulder; and his name shall be called:

  Wonderful! Counselor! 

 A Mighty God! 

 The Everlasting Father! 

The Prince of Peace!

The concert went magnificently well due to Grace’s musical conducting, and the doll audience enjoyed the Wassail Bowl at the end of the concert (except I don’t have a punch bowl for dolls, so you’ll have to imagine it!)

 Jonathan and Elianna helped set it all up and even did some last minute baking because they didn’t have enough cookies!

 Kaitlynne, Kanani, and Alexis are enjoying the treats.

The audience really dressed up for this occasion!

I still have tons more to say about my doll’s Christmas, but I wanted to show you today how they celebrated this year. I just had so much fun setting this all up! I kept on adding, and adding and adding more dolls! Stay tuned for at least one more Christmas doll post. More than likely I’ll have it up after Christmas.

Merry Christmas to all you wonderful blogger friends!

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Messiah

  1. Marion says:

    Love this post. Wishing you an yours a Merry Christmas and Blessed New Year.
    Joan,Marion and Marilyn

  2. Jen says:

    The Messiah has been one of my favorites since I was a little kid. So fun to see all your dolls at once!

Leave a Reply

