The Invitation

This is a historically inaccurate, fictional series created by me. Please let me know if you can’t see the pics or the invitation, I had a hard time posting it (I had the invitation in a fancy font and it wasn’t working). Enjoy:

It was late afternoon and Felicity, Elizabeth, and Annabelle had been working hard at lessons with Miss Manderly all day long.

“Young ladies,” Miss Manderly called them to the table, “before you leave today, there are three letters addressed to each of you from our governor, Lord Dunmore.”

 That announcement raised a hue and cry. Felicity raced from the bench over to Miss Manderly and Elizabeth jumped up from the writing chair, almost knocking the inkwell over.

“Lord Dunmore!” Annabelle cried, “good heavens! What could it possibly be? May we open them now?”

 Miss Manderly put her hand up,”Every young lady receiving tutoring has been issued a letter from our governor, and so to save time, I shall open one, and read it out loud.”

It seemed to Felicity that it took Miss Manderly forever to break the seal and slowly unfold the letter. The girls leaned in, so they wouldn’t miss a word.

Dear Miss Elizabeth Cole,

I have the greatest pleasure in inviting you to an exhibition featuring our lovely young ladies who are endeavoring to become gentle women. Every young lady of Virginia will get a chance to display her etiquette in writing, sewing, horseback riding and dancing. You will submit your work to your tutor, who will then submit it to my wife. We will then choose, a number of the finest ladies to dance at our annual Christmas Ball. We will also select one special young lady at the Ball, to attend an even larger exhibition in New York, where some of the finest young ladies in the whole of the Thirteen Colonies will dance at yet another ball there. Both my wife and I hope you will work hard to earn your place at the Ball.

Very Respectfully Yours,

Governor Lord Dunmore,

Lady Charlotte Stewart Dunmore

Squeals of delight erupted from the girls.

 “Another ball!” Felicity cried, “The Christmas ball last year was truly delightful and now we get invited to another one! I’m so excited.”

 “And a chance to go to New York,” Elizabeth said, “it’s like another country away but I’d love to see the city where everything is happening.”

 “You? Going to New York?” Annabelle snickered, “you can barely thread a needle or even take a step without falling down, and now you think you’ll  be good enough to get chosen to go to New York?” her eyes glared at Felicity too, “both of you are too young, you don’t have enough experience as a gentlewoman.”

 “Annabelle!” Miss Manderly scolded, “What a thing to say! Felicity and Elizabeth were invited just the same as you and everyone has the same amount of time to get ready for the ball. There is no age limit. I should expect you, who supposedly has the experience, to know better than to pick fights with others. That is a most unladylike manner to portray.”

“Yes ma’am,” Annabelle said.

Felicity and Elizabeth grinned at each other. It was always a nice feeling when Annabelle got in trouble.

After class Felicity and Elizabeth found a seclude area without Annabelle to discuss the news.

“Annabelle is right in one way,” Elizabeth said, “I make plenty of mistakes in everything I do for Miss Manderly.”

“We all make mistakes,” Felicity said, “even Annabelle. But I think if both of us work together and practice all the time, even outside of tutoring we could get really good, and maybe we’d have a chance to go to New York.”

“You’re right. I’m going to work extra hard,” Elizabeth resolved.

….To be continued.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Invitation

  1. Jen says:

    I could see the invitation, but it wasn’t in a special font. I’m reading in the WP reader though. Felicity and Elizabeth… I’m rooting for you. I still need practice as a gentle woman too! Is Elizabeth’s dress from her collection or from CW?
    I enjoyed this short fiction break and look forward to more.

    • jackylina says:

      Thanks so much! I ended up giving up on the font. WordPress didn’t understand it. Just imagine very elegant Colonial script. Felicity and Elizabeth were both wearing AG school clothes. Everybody else was wearing CW.

  2. What a great post! I love the Colonial era – such lovely dresses. sigh I wish sometimes that ladies still dressed like this today. (only sometimes) 🙂

    • jackylina says:

      Yeah, I wouldn’t mind every once in a while but to have to put on all those layers of clothing and corsets! I’d maybe do that once a year. If I could travel back in time I’d probably pick this time period though (I’d just want to bring along a few modern things with me…)

  3. bennettv says:

    Such a great post! I love seeing the dolls all dressed up in their colonial dresses! So pretty! Oh I do hope that Felicity and Elizabeth get to go to New York! How exotic! 🙂 I just love your photo stories! They are the best! 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

  4. Pingback: Felicity’s Mission | dollightful dolls

  5. Pingback: A Test in Friendship | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

