My Black Friday Lissie Loot

Ever since I found out about American Girl, Samantha has and always will be my favorite American Girl doll. Molly has and always will be my favorite American Girl character. But, if I had not grown up with AG as a child, and came in to it as an adult, Felicity would be my favorite. My grandma moved to Virginia, very close to Williamsburg when I was in college. I will never forget the first time my family visited her and toured Colonial Williamsburg; Felicity’s world had truly come to life. I couldn’t help exclaiming to my family, “That’s in Felicity’s book! That’s the exact church Felicity goes to!” etc.  I found my first Lissie at a church rummage sale. She was a Mattel doll and although I would have preferred a PC one, I was not an ebay/online shopper at that time and so I had no means of getting one.

Now, ever since I found out Felicity is going to come out of retirement I’ve been so excited I can’t stand it! Any time a blogger leaks one of her new dresses or undergarments (yes!! she’s actually going to get undergarments!) I squeal out loud. Because I’m so impatient and don’t want to wait until (possibly next fall) for the release, I’ve been perusing ebay for a PC Felicity, and one finally caught my eye. I bought her for $69. Her hair was in very good condition, but her eyes were a little wonky. I thought that wouldn’t bother me but when she arrived I was disappointed. One eye looked one way and the other looked straight at me and that bothered me enough that I knew I couldn’t keep her. I’m going to sell her right after Thanksgiving weekend is over.

 Here are pics of her in different lighting.

 Pretty hair, but you can kind of see in this pic below, and much more in real life that her eyes aren’t aligned.

I decided to be Super Picky about obtaining another PC Felicity so I made a list:

1. She must be under $100.

2. She must be a German Felicity.

3. Her eyes must be straight.

4. Her hair must be Perfect.

5. Her limbs must be tight.

6. No defects on the vinyl or body.

Now, the fact that I wanted her to be German made, under $100, and basically perfect made it almost impossible to get, and I knew that, but I still had fun looking. Unless there is something majorly wrong with German tagged Lissies they will sell for well over $100. I’ve seen some perfect ones sell for $350 or more (the ones with special looking faces sell for more). You also have to be really careful to make sure the doll your looking at really is a West German doll. Some dolls have Made in West Germany 1986 tags on their bodies, but lots of sellers go by the dress, and if the dress is tagged West Germany they’ll automatically figure the doll is too. It’s a lot easier to tell with Molly, Sam, and Kirsten who have white bodies. PC changed the bodies when Felicity was introduced because Colonial dresses have low necklines.

I figured it would be a looong time (maybe never) before I got the PC Lissie I wanted.  Then, I saw one that matched my list wearing a very incomplete school outfit with a starting bid for $89.99 with the auction going for just two days. I decided to keep an eye on her and see if anyone would bid. I couldn’t believe it but on one did! I won her for $89.99!!

As soon as I paid for her I had instant doubts; what if she wasn’t really German, that her head had been switched and it was just her body that was tagged 1986 West Germany? Her hair was truly perfect and her eyes looked straight in all the pictures (and there were many) but it’s always hard to truly tell.

When she arrived I held my breath as I took her out, but it was fine!….except for one little (thankfully solve-able) problem. Her hair looked like it had never been touched, her eyes were straight, her limbs weren’t floppy (they could be tighter). BUT, she must have been stored face up for a long period of time. Do not EVER store open/close eyed dolls lying on their backs, (face up) for a long period of time. The weight of Felicity’s eyes had caused her face to kind of collapse so that it looked squished in. It’s not too noticeable in pictures but you can spot it right away in real life especially if there are other dolls around to compare to. There are different ways to solve the problem:

1. Lay her face down and see if it fixes itself. (I tried that for a week and it didn’t work)

2. Lay her face down in a hot car and see if it fixes itself. (That’s going to be my next step but unfortunately I’m going to have to wait many months for the weather to get warm)

3. Lay her face down in a hot car until her vinyl gets hot/warm and squish her head back to normal.

4. Take her head off, put almost boiling water in her head, (or use a blow dryer but be careful of her eyes!) and see if that fixes it.

5. Send her to the doll hospital. ( I will never do step 5).

She really is SO different from any other doll I have. I have a PC Samantha, Kirsten, and Addy (my Molly is more transitional) from the 90s and Lissie seems to have almost a completely different classic face mold than Sam or Kirsten. Her face is very wide, you could use the word, fatter, than Sam and Kirsten. Her limbs and body are the chubbiest I’ve ever seen! As the days go on, I’m falling more and more in love with her. After all this talk you want to see pics, right?

 I dressed both in the same outfit so as not distract. (German F above, PC F below)

 These are two PC dolls and they look so different from one another.

 Do you see what I mean how the German Lissie’s face is wider and flatter?

 Side profile comparison.

German F’s arms are much more plump.

 I should have taken these dolls outside to get better quality pics, I’m the farthest thing from a good photographer, but you can tell how perfect German F’s hair is compared to PC F’s which is still in good shape.

 Oh yes, the dresses. PC F arrived wearing the Pleasant Company version of the travel gown (that’s the one German F is wearing). The other dress is my Mattel F’s meet dress. I thought they were exactly the same, but they’re different! The Mattel dress is shinier and the sleeves are a touch longer:

 Here’s a pic of my 3 Lissies:

 German, Mattel, Pleasant Company.

German, PC, Mattel.

 PC and Mattel comparison.

German, PC, Mattel.

 German, Mattel.

 These two are keepers. Depending on how different the brand new AG Felicity will be, I just might add her to my duplicate dolls and make them a triplicate.

Okay, enough of dolls. I titled this post my Lissie Loot, right? (And I was a very good girl and didn’t buy or go to any store on Black Friday because I spent all my Black Friday money here.) Well, every time I visit Colonial Williamsburg I always stop in the gift shop(s) and gaze wistfully at the super expensive Colonial Crafted doll clothes. If you think AG is expensive, think again. Colonial Williamsburg doll dresses go for $40 on up. The accessories, which is the only doll thing I’ve ever bought directly from them, are $24. It includes an apron, a mob cap, and a pocket, probably what AG would charge. I couldn’t bring myself to buy any dresses because Felicity already has a vast Colonial wardrobe, but she doesn’t have any winter wear. CW sells their own gorgeous red cloak and although I’ve never seen/felt AG’s Felicity’s red cloak, the CW cloak just looks like it’s better quality. Every year I go to CW I think I”m going to buy it and then I look at the price tag and change my mind.

While looking for my German Felicity, I came across someone selling a whole set of official Colonial Williamsburg dresses, accessories and that coveted cloak with the starting bid at $50. I could not believe it but no one bid any higher! I got a whole set of clothes for basically the price of one outfit! Here’s the rest of my Lissie loot!

The beautiful cloak is long and heavy and oh so pretty! Felicity can’t wait to go outside now that it’s getting colder.

Every outfit has the Crafted by Colonial Williamsburg tag.

 Finally Felicity can have two pockets instead of just one, and even Elizabeth will get a pocket.

 Two pinner aprons without the pins, but they stay up anyway.

 It was very common for young Colonial girls to wear these kinds of dresses with different sashes that they can change out. The sash is not attached to this dress so Lissie can change hers out too.

Three different jackets that can coordinate with the variety of skirts below.

 And finally, this beautiful dress which I think will go to Elizabeth. The skirts are interchangeable with it too. (AG should do this).

Some photo stories are coming your way featuring my Colonial girls wearing these outfits so stay tuned.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Black Friday Lissie Loot

  1. Jen says:

    Well, they’re both beautiful. The eyes and hair color are fantastic. The Colonial Williamsburg clothes… what an amazing find! I can’t wait to see some of your upcoming Colonial posts. If you ever get a chance, read the book “Fever” by Laurie Halse Anderson. It’s a young adult book set in this time period and deals with yellow fever. It’s a quick, absorbing read.

    • jackylina says:

      Oh, cool I will definitely read it. I’m trying to get my hands on any Colonial book I can find. I’ve been obsessed with Hamilton (I’m going to see it in March and I’m taking Elizabeth and two human friends with me). I just finished reading the biography. Now I’m reading Chernow’s Washington a Life bio, and now I guess “Fever” will be next on the list. Thanks!!

  2. Flo says:

    Great finds! I’m very anxious to see what different items they either bring back or add to her collection.

  3. bennettv says:

    Wow! I can’t believe how different each of your Felicity dolls is! It’s amazing, isn’t it? We have a PC Felicity. I had to take a bit of paint to her lips because they were very pale. Also, thanks for the tip about not storing dolls face up. I will keep that in mind for sure! What a fabulous lot of loot you found! That cloak is incredible!

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

    • jackylina says:

      I can’t believe the difference either. And I’m super excited, I found out a couple days ago the Beforever Felicity may possibly be released February 9th!!

Leave a Reply

