Kit and the Cubs

A week ago the Chicago Cubs won the National Pennant. My family, especially on my dad’s side, are Cub fans. My dad was talking to his sister who lives in VA and she was telling him if she were here in Chicago she would love to go to Wrigley field just to experience the big hoopla of a team winning something they haven’t won in 71 years. I thought, if she were here, I’d totally go with her. Then I got to thinking, I have a doll Cub’s uniform (AG has gone out to Wrigley field and given away doll Cub’s uniforms for marketing. This past summer they did it to the Sox at US Cellular field) so why not take a doll downtown and try and get some cool pics? I even thought about actually going to Wrigley field because I’ve lived in the Chicago area my whole life and I’ve never set foot or even been near any of our ballparks. I knew I’d have the whole day of Sunday of the next week free so I thought I’d do it then.

Fast forward to yesterday (Saturday) I had to decide which doll to take. I really wanted to take Kit because I know how much she loves baseball but I knew there was just one problem…..

 “Hi Kit! Do you want to go on an outside adventure with me tomorrow?” I asked.

“An adventure? Outside? Definitely! I hardly ever get to go outside! I’m so excited! What are we going to do?” she asked.

 “I thought we would go downtown and go on a treasure hunt to find as many Cub’s things as possible and take pictures with them. And you get to wear a super special Cub’s uniform for the occasion,” I dramatically handed her the Cub’s uniform.

She grabbed it and threw it on the floor, “How Dare you ask me to put that thing on my vinyl body!? I came from Ohio, I am a Cincinnati Reds fan, and if the Reds don’t win, then I’m an Indians fan. I could never wear something from an enemy team.”

“I know, but have pity on me, the Cubs haven’t won a World Series title since 1908,” I pleaded.

“Hey! I was 14 then!” Samantha said.

“I still don’t feel sorry for you,” Kit told me.

I sighed, “Fine, then I guess I’ll just have to ask Jonathan or Katelynne to come with me.”

Kit made a face. She really wanted to go outside and have an adventure. The last time she had one was in the summer and it was something she’d never forget. She’d do almost anything to go on another one. Plus, she was such a city girl. She loved going downtown when she lived in Cincinnati and having the opportunity to go downtown Chicago was almost too good to pass up.

“Wait…” Kit said, “You’re going to put this on the blog, right?”

“Yep, that’s part of the fun,” I said.

“If I go, will you tell all the readers that I’m really a Red’s fan and I’m just doing this Cub’s thing for the fun of it?”

“Of course, Kit, and anyway, I think the majority of the readers already know you’re a Red’s fan because they’ve read your books.”

Kit looked much happier, “Okay then, I’ll do it.”

The whole rest of the day I was all excited about what we were going to do on Sunday until Game 4 of the World Series when the Cubs lost to the Indians 7-2. That meant the Cubs were going to have to win 3 in a row to clinch the title. All my excitement puffed out. I heard on the news that everyone leaving Wrigley field that night looked like they had just come from a funeral.

Today, I still did not have the excitement I had yesterday and decided to scrap the whole idea of going downtown.

Kit was heartbroken, “I was really looking forward to it. There’s still a chance. Maybe they’ll still win. It’s not impossible yet.”

I grinned, “Look at you, feeling hopeful for an enemy team.”

Kit ignored the joke, “Well, can we at least do something? I’m wearing this uniform so I want to get something out of it.”

First, I took pictures of Kit in it:

 I bobby-pinned her hat five times so it wouldn’t fall off in the Windy City.

AG quality means everything is embroidered, including the Cub’s logo, and this was a free outfit! (Since I’ve never set foot in at Wrigley Field I had to pay money for mine. I got this at Gigi’s Doll store).

Then I decided that even though we weren’t going to go downtown (and it was a good thing we didn’t either, because it’s raining right now as I type this) we could at least roam around my town and take pics of any and every Cubby thing we found.

So, Kit and I got on my bike and road around town. We had no trouble finding Cub’s gear. I barely went a block when we stopped to take pics (click to listen):

Baseball season’s underway,

Well you better get ready for a brand new day

Hey, Chicago, what do you say

The Cubs are gonna win today.

They’re singing …

Go, Cubs, go

Go, Cubs, go

Hey, Chicago, what do you say

The Cubs are gonna win today

Go, Cubs, go

Go, Cubs, go

Hey, Chicago, what do you say

The Cubs are gonna win today.

They got the power, they got the speed

To be the best in the National League

Well this is the year and the Cubs are real

So come on down to Wrigley Field.

We’re singing now …

Go, Cubs, go

Go, Cubs, go

Hey, Chicago, what do you say

The Cubs are gonna win today

Go, Cubs, go

Go, Cubs, go

Hey, Chicago, what do you say

The Cubs are gonna win today.

You can catch it all on WGN

So stamp your feet and clap your hands

Chicago Cubs got the greatest fans.

You’re singing now …

Go, Cubs, go

Go, Cubs, go

Hey, Chicago, what do you say

The Cubs are gonna win today!

Did I look like a complete nut riding my bike with Kit and taking pics on other people’s property? Um, yes! But no one stopped me, and whatever cars thought of me as they passed by looking at me taking pics of Kit in front of the cars with the flags, I’ll never know but I don’t care! It was fun.

Kit’s last request was to watch game 5 tonight. So I put her up in the living room with the Halloween decorations.

Go Cubs Go! I think there’s still hope…I hope….

Disclaimer: Kit is not a Cubs fan, she supports the Cincinnati Reds. She does not approve this message.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Kit and the Cubs

  1. Jen says:

    As your neighbor to the north, I have to side with Kit on the baseball teams. I’m happy for you, though! 😉. Kit does look cute in the outfit

  2. Molly says:

    Our girls are all dressed up in their Cubs gear to cheer their team on, too! (Let me know how to share a pic w/ you!)

  3. Flo says:

    Oh my word Heather, you have no idea how hard I laughed at Kit’s reaction! Great post. She does look cute in it, even if it is for the wrong team.

Leave a Reply

