Master Chef Doll: Episode 3

 “Our party has gotten so much smaller and quieter for this penultimate episode,” Grace looked at the three competitors left in the Master Chef doll competition.

 “You have all completed challenges to make breakfast and lunch, but you haven’t gotten a chance to make dinner. And I mean dinner, not supper. For those of you too ignorant to know, supper is a lighter meal held a little after lunch. I am hungry for a full meal. You have free reign to cook anything you want, but it must be under one hour. GO!”

 Even though there were only three competitors, the kitchen was still bustling with activity. Addy was chopping broccoli, and throwing flour to make dinner rolls into her cook pot at the same time.

 Lea had discovered the grill behind the fridge and was using it to it’s fullest potential.

 “If I would have known about this grill for the luncheon I would have grilled my panini on a real grill rather than the panini maker. It would have been that much fresher,” Lea said to nobody in particular.

Lanie was feeling rather melancholy for this compeition. She had been so excited for all of the others, but now, without her friend Suki, it wasn’t the same anymore. Then she remembered Suki telling her that her favorite thing to make was sushi and she had a great idea. Why not make sushi in honor of her friend for the supper challenge! She guessed she’d never be able to make sushi the way Suki did, but she could try.

“Time’s up! Hands in the air!” Grace yelled over the timer, “Addy, please bring your dish forward.”

 “I made barbecue chicken, broccoli, and a buttermilk cornbread muffin,” Addy said as she step away from her dishes.

 “Everything tastes really good,” Grace said after she had swallowed, “but I’m just a little disappointed on two points.”

 Addy held her breath.

“First, you only made one basket of chicken for two dishes. Sharing food is more of an appetizer type thing to do. It is rarely done for the main meal. I am hungry enough now, that I could eat the entire basket, and I certainly don’t want to share it with Jonathan who would probably chow on more than his share.

I’m also disappointed that you didn’t try anything new. Yes, last time it was barbecue hamburgers, but you used the same sauce for this chicken. I expected something new and different from you for the semifinal challenge. You may go.”

The Food Booth

Addy: (sighs) I didn’t expect to get in trouble about the chicken quantities. I thought that was a big basket and I definitely made enough for two people. Grace is opinionated and sometimes her judgments are subjective which I don’t think is right, but she’s the judge and I entered the contest with that knowledge. For this challenge I wanted to do what I’m best at, and that’s my barbecue sauce. I know I’d done it before, but it’s SO good!

 It was Lea’s turn at the judging table.

“I made grilled spice chicken, grilled sweet corn, and a fruit bowl.”

 Grace tried the chicken, “This chicken does not have a sauce to hide any miscalculations. And I believe this chicken is perfect. It is so moist, it literally melts in my mouth and the spices fill my mouth with goodness. This is one of the best grilled chickens I’ve ever eaten. I love how the bowl of the fruit salad is a grapefruit. Very creative.”

 “Thank you,” said Lea, trying hard to hold back her giddy excitement from the praise.

 Jonathan chomped on the corn, “This really is sweet! I can taste sugar, cinnamon, and butter in it. I could eat this corn all day. Thank you, Lea.”

The Food Booth:

Lea: Whoooo! I am so happy! I think I’m going to start a barbecue chicken cafe. I can’t believe they liked my food. I hate cooking supper, I’d rather make a light lunch, and just focus on one thing like my panini, but I surprised myself by making three wonderful items.

 Lanie put her dishes on the table next, “The first dish is peas and carrots, macaroni, and nigiri sushi; The yellow slab is an egg, it’s basically a sushi omelette. The second dish is caviar sushi, tomato paste sushi, and salmon slab sushi. I decided to make sushi in honor of my friend, Suki who is hopefully watching right now: hi, Suki!”

 Grace looked at the plates, “My first reaction is displeasure because these dishes are totally different from one another. However, I know how much work goes into making sushi, so I’m willing to try it.”

 Jonathan and Grace took a bite of sushi. “Not bad,” Jonathan said, “It’s a little bland, but you have exactly the right texture for the rice, and the sushi is holding it’s shape very well. The only thing is, you should have left the carrots and peas and macaroni out. It doesn’t mix with sushi. You should have focused solely on that, and I think if you would have done that, your sushi would have been phenomenal. I thought the luncheon would have taught you to be careful about food combinations, but apparently you haven’t quite learned that lesson. You may go.”

The Food Booth:

Lanie: Oh, man, I’m a goner. I have never made sushi before so I wanted the peas, carrots and macaroni to be my backup if the sushi failed, and they didn’t even try them! And on top of that, my sushi is bland. Good-bye chef hat.

 “All right, girls,” said Grace standing in judgement in front of the three girls, “The time has come to send someone home, but before we do that, I have the pleasure of announcing who made the dish of the day. That award goes to Lea Clark. Everything you made Lea, was superb. You are safe.”

 Lea breathed a huge sigh of relief.

 “That leaves Addy and Lanie. Both of you have things you needed to work on from last weeks challenge and neither of you accomplished that. Addy, your plate was monotonous, but Lanie, neither Jonathan or I knew that was your first time making sushi. If we had known that, we would have been astounded at how good the sushi really was in the first place. Because of this, Lanie, you are safe, and I’m sorry to say, Addy you must go home.”

 Addy stood rather shocked.

Lanie put her arm around her, “Addy you worked so hard on all of the challenges, I’m so sorry to see you go. I really thought it was going to be me.”

“Me too. You must have really made some spectacular sushi. I want to try it sometime.”

Lanie smiled, “Anytime!”

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Master Chef Doll: Episode 3

  1. Flo says:

    And then there were two…

  2. bennettv says:

    Adorable! Poor Addy, I really thought she had a shot. She was doing really well. 🙂

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

Leave a Reply

