First Day of School

“Good morning, Lea! Are you ready for your first day of school?” Cecile asked.

“I guess so. I’m kind of nervous though.”

“Well, I know you won’t be the only new doll at the school. There are always some others. You’re such a sweet girl, I know you’ll make a lot of friends. Plus, I bet everyone feels as though they know you already because they’ve seen you on the blog discussing the Dollympics for practically this whole summer. In fact, you’ve been so busy with that, everybody, even you, didn’t have time to celebrate your birthday which was August 14th.”

“Oh, that’s okay. The Dollympics was way more fun than any birthday party anyway.”

“Well,” said Cecile, “I got you a present. You can open it now if you like.”

“You actually bought me something? Aw, Cecile, you’re the most thoughtful and caring person…”

(Gasp!) “She’s just like me!”

Cecile smiled, “When I saw her, I thought of you right away. She’s your very own mini me!”

“Thank you Cecile! She’s the greatest! I can’t wait to play with her after school. You probably should have had me open her then because now, all I’ll be thinking about today is playing with my new doll, Gemma!”

“Well, at least that will take you mind off being nervous.”

 “And look,” Cecile pulled out her doll, “I have a mini me too, do you want to play dolls after school together?”

“I’d love that!”

……………………………………………..

Lindsey knew she was running late to school as she hurled down the sidewalk on her scooter. She had tried so hard to be on time but there were just so many things to do and get ready for. As she approached the school, she saw that the school doors were wide open. Hoping she wouldn’t be seen by any principal or teacher, she continued riding her scooter into the school and down the hallway. She didn’t stop until she found her locker, just as Isabelle walked up.

 “Jeez, Lindsey! You’re going to kill someone riding that in the school. You almost ran me over!”

“Sorry, but I’m late and I thought it would save time.”

 “Hm. You must have been riding so fast you missed seeing the new boy you just passed in the hallway.”

“New WHO!?”

 “What I just said, a new boy. And not only that, a new American boy.”

“They don’t exist!”

“They sure do. And that one right there is heading to the same class as you,” said Isabelle a little stuffily as she headed to class.

Lindsey whipped her head around but she just missed the actual person and only caught sight of a brown shoe.

 A boy? thought Lindsey, Isabelle has to be joking. Jakob had given her enough of a heart attack. She certainly wasn’t ready for another one. And Isabelle had said he was an American boy. Jakob was from Germany. Jakob had ended up being a real asset to her theater group. He had done an amazing job playing Stirling in the Kit series and now he was playing Brad for Molly. Lindsey wasn’t about to give up her part as Ricky to this new boy, but maybe she could find a role for him that he’d like and get him to be in her theater club before he joined some other stupid school activity like basketball. Lindsey was so deep in thought she forgot she was late.

“Hurry up, Bergman!” cried a voice making Lindsey jump.

 Lindsey threw whatever thing her hand happened to grab from her locker into her backpack, ran down the hall and got to her seat just as the bell stopped ringing.

“Please try to be a little more punctual next time, Lindsey,” said her teacher, Miss Carpatina.

 “Boys and girls,” she continued, “Please stand for the Pledge of Allegiance.”

All throughout the pledge Lindsey stared around until she finally spotted the boy. He was sitting at the front and it had been hard to spot him because he was wearing a green hat.

When they were finished Miss Carpatina did the roll call.

 “We have some new students in this classroom so please pay attention to the names I call:

Lindsey Bergman.

Lea Clark.”  When Lea’s name was called everyone started clapping. Miss Carpatina smiled, “Lea, your work on the Dollympics this summer was absolutely wonderful. I’m glad to see our class appreciated it.

Kimberly Yuna,” Miss Carpatina continued to the next student.

 “Kimberly has come from South Korea where the next Dollympics will take place.”

“Yes, ma’am” said Kimberly, “But please call me Kim or Kimmie.”

” I will make a note of that, thank you,” said Miss Carpatina and moved on to the next student, “Jonathan Fletcher.”

 “Jonathan, please take your hat off.”

 So that’s the new boy, thought Lindsey, not paying any more attention to her teacher, Jonathan Fletcher. We find out Kim is from South Korea but we don’t get anything about Jonathan.

 Lindsey suddenly turned to Isabelle, “Did you get to talk to Jonathan before school?”

“Yeah, I only found out that his brother, Jamie, is away in England training to be a sailor in the navy,” Isabelle whispered.

“Did you – ”

“Lindsey Bergman! I already had to reprimand you once. There is no talking in class. If I have to reprimand you again, you will get a detention. And on the first day of school, that would be sad.”

Lindsey sighed. She really tried hard to be a good student but many times she just didn’t think and ended up getting in trouble. But she just had to find out more about Jonathan Fletcher. Finally, at recess she had the chance. As soon as the bell rang, she raced up to him.

 “Hi, I’m Lindsey Bergman and I run the theater club here. I was wondering if you’d like to join. We have one other boy in our club and I’m sure he’d love to meet you.”

 “There’s another boy? I thought I was the only one. Yeah, I guess that sounds like fun. I’m going to try out for basketball though, but if our schedules don’t conflict I’d be happy to help out.”

 “Great! We meet every month for two weeks. The first week is rehearsals and the next week is the performance. I’ll let you know how you can help for our next play in October.”

“Sounds good,” said Jonathan.

Despite getting in trouble three times that morning and ending up with her first detention of the year, (the thing she had grabbed from her locker turned out to be her English book instead of her math book) Lindsey couldn’t help feeling good as she headed for her locker at the end of the school day.

 “Hi, Lea,” she said, “Did you have a good first day?”

“I did. Everyone is so friendly. People kind of act as though they’ve known me for a long time because of the Dollympics.”

“Yeah, lucky you gets to be famous on the first day of school.”

“Well, I’m not sure if that’s a lucky thing to be. Everyone wants me to join whatever after school activity they’re doing.”

“Just find what you’re most interested in or good at and join that.”

“But I’m interested in everything.”

“Then I guess, join everything and whatever you like best, stick with that.”

“Okay, that sounds like a good idea. I hope the coaches will let me try them out and quit if I don’t like them.”

“You can visit the clubs too. Go to a ballet practice and see what’s involved, or a volleyball or basketball game. Then you can see how much work it entails and it can help you decide if you want to do it or not.”

“Thanks Lindsey, that’s good advice.”

Lindsey smiled, “You’re welcome. I’ll see you later.”

-Heather

I’ve been looking for an American boy doll for quite a while on ebay. I was very picky about it. I wanted someone special and unique. Often times when I see a custom boy, I can tell, oh, that used to be Kirsten, or Molly. I wanted a boy where you couldn’t tell who he used to be. When I saw Jonathan I couldn’t tell at all and he jumped right out to me. The seller’s description said he used to be a Lanie, but when I put him next to my Lanie

 he still looks really different. Their eye colors don’t match. I have heard that Mia’s hazel eyes are different from one doll to another. Some of the earlier Mias have lighter hazel eyes than the older ones but I had never heard that about Lanie. My Lanie’s head is very recent, coming from the doll hospital two years ago. What do you think?As far as a Jamie goes, yes, I plan to someday get a dark haired AG boy doll who will be Jamie, but that probably won’t be for a while.

P.S. If you’ve read the Jacky Faber books, yes, I’m looking for Jacky’s Jamie Fletcher. I know Jamie’s brother’s name is supposed to be George but when this doll came out of his box, he said right out to me, my name is Jonathan.

Kimmie Yuna is the completion of my Gotz Precious Day collection. She is the rare Asian doll. I named her after my very favorite ice skater of all time – Yuna Kim.

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Day of School

  1. Jen says:

    Jonathan definitely resembles our Lanie. He has a great haircut! I wonder if a stylist cut the hair. One of the best boy dolls I have seen.
    Lea looks terrific in the plaid shirt.
    I enjoyed your story and I look forward to reading how everyone settles into a fall school activity. M

  2. Fun photostory! 🙂
    I totally understand what you mean about boy dolls. I’m not a fan of boy dolls that obviously look like Felicity, Molly, etc. But you’re right, Jonathon doesn’t look much like Lanie. When first saw him in your post, I didn’t know who he originally was.

Leave a Reply

