AG Doll Makeover: Part 1

I have greatly admired people who take tlc AG dolls and either bring them back to brand new life or totally customize a doll and make them unique. I’ve seen so many amazing dolls on ebay and other websites that simply take my breath away or make me ask, why in the world doesn’t AG make a doll like that? For the first time this summer I decided to try my hand at doll customization and I have learned from this experience that I will never be a doll customizer. I hated every part of it:

Do you remember this doll, Ellie-May?

She played the part of the jailer in Kit Saves the Day,

 and was the wife of the narrator in Twas the Night Before Christmas.  Other than that, I have basically not played with her at all.

 She was my one and only impulse buy on ebay, listed as a tlc doll for under $40. Her only problems are small blue marks on her feet, a very pale face, and two clumps of hair that seem to be glued together.

 The majority of her hair is beautiful and silky which was a big reason why I fell for her (it’s not an AG wig). But I’ve never really played with her because she’s so similar looking to Felicity and Saige. I’ve always turned to those two dolls rather than Ellie because their faces are so much warmer looking. Plus, when I try and brush Ellie’s hair it always gets stuck on those clumps of glued hair:

 I’ve tried to get the glue out (I’m not even sure if it is glue) but nothing seems to work. And I was feeling bad that she wasn’t getting played with. My first thought was to sell her, but then I decided to give her another chance. I couldn’t bring her to the AG hospital because she had already been customized and was not wearing an AG wig, so I thought why not customize her again?

 I did some research on how to customize and had my spoon ready to take the wig off, but the wig came off with barely any effort!

 Here’s the tag on the wig. I’ve never heard of that company.

 Poor wigless Ellie. Now I had to decide what to do with her.

 I knew there was no way I was going to try an eye swap. I had read horror stories about that, plus she has a hole in the back of her head. I also knew I wanted an AG wig to put on her. I narrowed it down to two: Kailey or Grace. If I put a Kailey wig on her she’d basically be a Kailey. Kailey and McKenna’s wigs are the only two wigs AG has made that do not have any kind of part and I have already had a ton of fun styling McKenna’s hair because of that. But I had also read that many Kailey wigs were really thin in the back.

Some of you already know I do not like GOTY Grace doll. I don’t think she looks good in a Josefina face mold, and I can’t stand her lips; the color and the shininess. I do, however, love the color of her hair even though I’m not crazy about the half bangs. I remember running my fingers through a store display Grace and marveling at the caramel highlights in it.

I saw on AG playthings that someone had made a Grace doll with brown eyes which absolutely captivated me. The customizer had taken Grace’s braid out which helped to cover her side bangs. I decided to go for that.

It took a while to finally find a Grace wig on ebay that wasn’t $50-$90 but I finally found one for $20. While I waited for it to come in the mail I decide to touch up Ellie’s face.

I did some research about face paint but just decided to go the cheap route and get make-up from the dollar store. I tried it and it looked terrible. I also tried to do her lips and it was even worse. Ellie told me she hated me taking pics of her bald and there was no way I was going to take pics of her with her terrible make-up. I got it all off with nail polish remover which of course made her look paler than she already was.

Right now, I have given up. I will never customize again. I am going to send Ellie to a dolly doctor I found on agplaythings who will hopefully restore her to a brand new girl with a new name. I’ll update this when I get her back.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to AG Doll Makeover: Part 1

  1. Emily says:

    Aww, sorry it wasn’t a good experience. I agree with the eye swap thing. I’ve done it once. Never again. Wigs are easy though, you could totally do it!

  2. Jen says:

    Enjoyed the post. I think she’ll be terrific when she finds her new look. Can’t wait to hear more!

  3. MERmade9 says:

    Hi, Heather! I’m a new follower here and Grace is my fav of the 5 Mattel AG’s I own. Her hair & freckles are what I love, including her side-swept bangs. That being said, her right eyelashes sometimes catch in her bangs! 😦 Like you, I think her caramel highlights are gorgeous! I’d never have the nerve to even try to re-do a doll’s make-up, so I applaud your efforts! Sure when she’s all dolled up and home again, you’ll be thrilled w/her beautiful new look and she’ll feel like a new girl with her new name! 😉

Leave a Reply

