Dollympics 2016: Tennis and Cycling

(cue Olympic music)

Lea: Here I am with Tatiana at Copacabana Beach on the final day of Dollympic competition.

 Tatiana: I can’t believe this is the last day. I have been having so much fun here! I know I’m definitely coming away with so many amazing memories from so many fantastic athletes.

 Lea: Yeah, and one of the – Oh, my gosh! Look!

 Tatiana: It’s a sea turtle!

Hi little guy.

 Lea: Don’t get too close. We need to give wild animals their space. He might get frightened and go away.

 Tatiana: Aw, he’s so cute. I’ve heard that from the months of September through March, female sea turtles will lay their eggs on the Brazilian sand and the temperature of the sand determines the sex of the turtle.

Lea: That’s kind of weird. I know conservationists of Brazil are doing all they can to protect these endangered animals. If they find a nest in a crowded area they’ll move it to a safer spot and they put nets on the eggs to protect them, but it doesn’t hurt the turtle.

 Tatiana: Well this one looks happy on it’s little log. I guess we’ll all watch the sunset together.

Lea: I hope the sunset will be beautiful tonight.

 Tatiana: I think it will be.

 Lea: Oh, the turtle’s gone. We were watching the sunset and we didn’t even notice.

 Tatiana: Maybe he went off to go chase the sun!

Lea: Speaking of chasing. We need to chase our readers off to the tennis courts where Marie Grace of France and Sonali of India had their match.

Kohanna: Hello, readers. I’m Kohanna, the bronze medal winner of these Dollympic games. I thought I’d show you a little snippet of the last serve of the gold medal match. Here’s Sonali getting ready. She’s winning by 3 points.

 Sonali makes a good serve.

 Mary Grace volleys it back.

 But Sonali’s right there to catch it.

 Mary Grace snags it.

 But it’s stopped by the net.

 Sonali wins! She flings herself down on the court in joyful exhaustion.

The two shake hands for a well played match. I’ll take you down now to Alex and Tatiana who are having some fun with British cyclist, Jacky Faber.

 Tatiana: Thanks, Kohanna. Yes, it’s Alex and I here to cheer on the great cyclist, Jacky Faber.

 Alexis: Jacky, as a kid, you used to be terrified of riding a bike. You refused to have your training wheels taken off until the age of 8, and all of your other brothers and sisters learned to ride a two-wheeler at 6. And yet now, you’ve ridden in the Tour de France and are a favorite to win a Dollympic medal in these games.

Jacky: Yeah, one time when I was riding my hot wheeler, one of the wheels came off and since I was going really fast, I was thrown off onto the street and I was almost hit by a car. I still remember it even though I was only 4 and a half. I never wanted to ride again. But then my grandpa, who really wanted me to overcome my fear, invented this metal stick that could attach to my bike. He would hold the stick and ride on his own bike while I rode on mine and after that, I wasn’t scared anymore and could even ride without the stick.

 Tatiana: You’re riding a racer bike, that can go 45 miles an hour. That doesn’t scare you?

Jacky: Not anymore! You want to have a go?

Tatiana: Well, I guess so. I mean, how often do you get a chance to ride a world class racing bike.

 Alexis: Be careful, Tatiana, you’re not wearing the right kind of shoes.

 Tatiana: Oh, yeah. Well, here I go!

That was really fun! Now it’s your turn, Alex!

 Alexis: The most important thing is to protect your head! Always wear a helmet.

 This is fun!

 Whoa! AAH!

 (CRASH)

Ow.

Jacky: Are you okay?

 Alexis: Oh, man. I’m okay, but I hope I didn’t break your bike.

Jacky: You didn’t. It’s taken far worse spills than that.

 Alexis: I think I’m going to be leaving all the riding skills with the  professional rider. Jacky, good luck on your gold medal journey.

 Jacky: Thanks!

 Tatiana: Jacky did have a gold medal journey. She had to go a little bit slower down the mountain because it was raining and the pavement was slippery, but she had the fastest time and won the gold medal.

Alexis: Well, that’s all for the competition. Keep watching for the closing ceremonies. We are going to leave you tonight with one more adventure Tatiana and Lea had on their hike in the Tijuca rainforest.

Lea: Look at this tree branch! I can’t believe how long it is!

Tatiana: Yeah, I’d guess it’s like, 20 ft long.

Ah! Look up!

Lea: What?

Tatiana: Look up there! It’s an animal!

Lea: It’s a sloth! That’s the 3rd time I’ve seen one this year. I saw one once with my brother, then with Jess and now with you.

Tatiana: I think the sloths like you.

Lea: Aw, you’re sweet. I hope they like me, because I helped to rescue one once, but this one doesn’t look like it needs rescuing. He’s just happy in his tree.

Tatiana: And we’re just happily enjoying being in Rio for the second to last day.

-Heather

Note: Again, these dolls did not get to travel to South America. They hiked with me at Ludington State Park, hiking on the Coast Guard Trail that leads up and down sand dunes and through swamps, which leads to Lake Michigan where they saw their ‘sea turtle’.

I apologize if I botched up the tennis match. The only time I played was in high school and my friends and I would choose a court farthest from our PE teacher and we’d make up our own rules because the real rules were way to hard for us! To this day, I don’t really know how to play tennis correctly.

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Dollympics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dollympics 2016: Tennis and Cycling

  1. Jen says:

    Maybe you don’t know much about tennis, but the dolls look great playing

  2. Jen says:

    I especially like the yellow and grey tennis outfit with matching shoes 😃

  3. bennettv says:

    I’ve been following your Dollympics series, and I must say you are doing a fantastic job! Love it! Keep up the great work!

    ginnie / http://www.fakingitmostly.com

  4. Lea and Tatiana are so lucky be in Brazil for the Olympics – such fun!

Leave a Reply

