Dollympics 2016: Kayak Racing

(cue Olympic music)

Tatiana: Bom dia! As we’ve told you before, Alexis, Lea, Jess, and I are not only your hosts for these Dollympics, but we make up the Dollympic kayak team. Here we are out on the deck getting ready to race:

 I was the first one out on the lake.

 It was a beautiful day and the water looked calm but the little ripples were strong and tried to carry me off course.

 I paddled voraciously to try and stay in my lane but I got really hot almost immediately from the humid Brazilian weather. My hands were slippery with sweat and suddenly my paddle just slid away from my fingers and plopped into the water.

“Disqualified!” someone announced. Shoot. I hoped my teammates would be able to do better than me.

 The next race was a double between Alexis O’Shay and Jess McConnell.

Announcer: Ready…Set...(Beep)

 Tatiana: And they’re off! Jess is looking really strong in her kayak picking up a lot of momentum.

But Alex has already gotten into a great rhythm with her paddle.

Both girls kayaks are cutting through the water like a knife.

Jess is working her whole upper body. Turning at the waist for each stroke to put every bit of power into her paddle.

Both girls have reached the 75 meter mark. They’re very close, but it looks like Alex has pulled ahead just slightly.

Let’s see if Jess has enough in the tank to try and beat her..

But she doesn’t! Alex wins the gold medal!

For our final race of the day, we have the triple race featuring Jess and Alex once again, and our newest member of the kayak team, Lea Clark. Now, Lea has her own kayak but was told she would be disqualified if she used it. She had hoped to use her ocean kayak, but since we are not in an ocean she was told she could not use it. More on that later. Thankfully, she was able to borrow another one of Alex’s. This puts her in quite a spot, being not only the youngest and least experienced competitor, but also using a kayak she is not at all familiar with.

 So, here we are at the start of this exciting race. The girls line up…

Announcer: Ready…Set…(Beep)

 Tatiana: Their only job is to be the first to travel 100 meters to the shore, and I think this is going to be a close race.

 Jess is in the middle, just a tad behind Lea who is really taking this race off to a fast start, and Alex is certainly keeping up with them.

 Oh! Oh, no! It looked like Alex and Jess bumped boats and both got a little bit rocked and lost they’re momentum and rhythm, leaving the door, or rather the lake, wide open for Lea.

 And Lea takes it! Wow, she looks so good in that kayak. Almost as if she’s been working it for years, not just a few hours. She is now almost a whole half a boat length in front of Jess.

 Jess is still trying hard but she’s running out of real estate. Lea Clark makes it to the shore first with a gold medal to be draped on her neck!

Well, at least everyone participating will be going home with a medal! I hope you all enjoyed this crazy kayak adventure! This is Tatiana Oliviera from Rio, thanking you for watching!

Note from Heather: Yes, about Lea’s kayak….I had my doubts about it, because it really doesn’t look like it was going to float very well. I set it in the water without a doll to test it first…

 Does it float? Yes! And at first it was really cool.  Because of the clear bottom, you really can see everything! They should make human boats like this.

 Can you see that pretty piece of seaweed? I know my photo of it isn’t very clear.

 Then, I decided to set Alex in it, since she is an all vinyl doll, it wouldn’t be the end of the world if she got wet. (Her box even says she can get completely wet, but this is a lake with sand, seaweed, algae and other stuff that I don’t mind on me, but I don’t want on my dolls)

 

 I couldn’t even take a picture of her because the boat immediately started to tip and fill with water. There was no way I was going to use it with Lea. I even kind of wonder if it leaks because the highest part, (the black bungee cord part where Lea keeps her underwater camera) was full of water and I know it didn’t tip that much to let water in there. If I have time, I might try to take just Lea out on it very, very close to the shore where I’ve seen other bloggers set Lea and her boat in real water, that way, the boat is touching the bottom and won’t tip. Oh, I had the sail, but I forgot to put it in! I guess that was another reason why Lea’s boat got disqualified for competition.

Tchau!

-Heather

P.S. Have you ever seen a real Olympic kayak competition? It’s really amazing how much work and power goes in to paddling a boat that fast. Click here to see.

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Dollympics, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dollympics 2016: Kayak Racing

  1. Flo says:

    Wow, that is kind of crazy that it wouldn’t work. I know the OG one also says on it that it’s not to be used in water. Sort of dumb if you ask me, why would you make a water themed toy that can’t go in the water?

    • jackylina says:

      Yeah, I was pretty disappointed and Lea was pretty mad up until she won the gold medal. I think if the boat was just a bit wider and the sides went up higher it would have worked. The Magic Attic boat is the best. I had to be careful with the AG blow ups because they were prone to tip, but the Magic Attic boat is perfect.

  2. Jen says:

    I just knew you were going to get those dollies out on the open water LOL!
    Great pictures… You are brave!

Leave a Reply

