Tasha and Tanya

Back in December of last year I not only got Tatiana for Christmas but I also bought myself another doll on ebay. She is a first edition Tanya from the Maru and Friends doll collection. The first edition Tanyas have crimped hair, they since changed her to have loose curls, like Jaimie. I’ve been really wishing for a crimped haired doll (I don’t know why AG doesn’t make one. I was hoping Melody might have crimped hair but I was wrong) so I was thrilled to purchase her. According to the seller she was a displayed only doll but she wasn’t wearing her meet outfit. She was wearing a Maru and Friends Christmas dress.

She arrived at my house just after Christmas and I had just purchased an outfit from Walmart that I thought would be perfect for her. I immediately took her dress off and gave a sad exclamation of, “Oh, no!” Her body looked like it had been covered in bruises! It looked like she had gone through some major child abuse. Her Christmas dress which was black velvet with a red sash had stained her entire body all over!!

I was so disappointed. This was going to take a lot of work to get out. I immediately contacted the seller and was happy to get a partial refund since I didn’t want to return her. 1st edition Tanyas are very hard to find.  Then I packed her up in a box and didn’t touch her until some warm weather came our way.

Spring hit, and as soon as the temps got in the 80s I took her out and slathered her with Oxy. I wrapped her up in seran wrap and decided to take her out to my car where it would be even warmer so the Oxy could really get a chance to soak into the vinyl. This is the funny part; here I am carrying a naked doll wrapped in seran with white stuff all over her, carrying her like a platter to my car which was parked on the street. A car came by as I was coming out of my house and it sloooowed down and the driver looked at me, and I just smiled and then they drove off. I can just imagine what those people were saying in the car after they saw me!

It took two car treatments and two rooftop layouts but I’m very pleased with the results.

 No more bruises!

 Wearing another My Life As Walmart outfit:

 As much as I’m thrilled to have a crimped haired doll, I’m a little scared to play with her hair. It’s not like a Barbie doll with crimped hair. When I was a kid I had a skipper doll who had crimped hair and her hair was just fine if you just ran a brush through it. Tanya’s hair is very textured. Very similar to PC Addy. I feel that running a brush through her hair would just make it frizzy. If there’s anyone out there who knows how to care for dolls like this please let me know what you do. Right now, I just finger combed it and it looks pretty good.

 Here’s a look at my Maru and Friends collection:

 Savannah, Jamie, Maru, and Tanya.

These picture are minus one: I recently saw another first edition Tanya on ebay for even less than what I paid for mine AND she was in brand new condition, and she came with her book, an extra outfit and tights! I couldn’t pass that up. So I’ve decided that eventually I will sell one of my Tanyas but now, they are enjoying being twins: Tanya, and Natasha (called Tasha for short). Here they are together.

 -Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Meet the Dolls, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tasha and Tanya

  1. Marion says:

    You did a good job . Congratulations for finding and purchasing the first edition of Tanya.
    Marion

  2. Marilyn says:

    Nice job. Have fun with Tanya.
    Marilyn

  3. Pingback: Naturally Perfect Kennedy | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

