Doll Doings

Can you believe that spring is almost over? I never really published any spring type posts so I thought I’d do one here. This is mainly a photo-shoot but there’s also a little bit of a story at the end.

 Springtime Pet Baths.

 A fruity picnic.

 Mary-Grace reads the twins the sequel to The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

 Cecile and Felicity have a cook-out.

 McKenna checked the clock in the bakery she was working in, “Where is Jess?” she muttered to herself out loud. This summer, she and Jess had decided to help Nicki out by running a bake shop for the campers that were due to arrive next week. Even though there weren’t any campers this week they had thought to do a trial run and see how things would work.

McKenna continued to glance at the door every few minutes as she set the table up for cupcakes. Finally Jess burst in with an angry glower and ripped her apron off it’s peg.

“You’re late!” accused McKenna.

 “I KNOW I’m late! I’m so MAD!” Jess donned her apron and began to dump some flour in the bowl and stir it violently.

 “What happened?”

Jess growled, “Do you remember that awesome party I had when Lea first arrived here?”

“Well, sure that was so fun. I loved going hiking in your imaginary jungle.”

“Yes, well, according to Nicki, Alexis and Tatiana invited Lea to go to South America with them to host the Dollympics!”

“Well that’s great! That’s a really nice thing for them to do, especially since Lea’s so familiar with that country.”

“BUT NO ONE INVITED ME!!” Jess shouted slamming her spoon on the table and scattering dough everywhere, “What about ME!?? I went to South America too! I’m familiar with it just as much as she is, AND, she’s supposed to be my best friend!”

 “Oh,” said McKenna after a moment of silence, “I kind of forgot.”

“Yeah, because everybody forgets. Everybody forgets what I did because my story was boring.”

“I’m sure it wasn’t boring, I just haven’t read it in a while and I couldn’t remember what you did. And anyway, why don’t you just talk to Lea about this? I’m sure she could just say something to Alexis and you’d be invited too.”

“How can I say something? I can’t just go up to Lea and say why wasn’t I invited. That’s babyish and rude.”

“But Alex is soo nice. I’m sure she’d love to have you come along. She probably just forgot you had been to South America too and would be a great asset to her production, just like I forgot.”

“Right,” Jess scoffed,  “because everybody forgets -”

 But she didn’t get to finish because just then, two girls walked into the bakery and one of them was Lea. Jess gasped.

 “What should I do?”

McKenna sighed, “I’ll get them drinks while you think of what to say because you are serving them the food.”

 “Hello, ladies, what drink can I get you today?” McKenna asked as she passed them the menus. The girls ordered their drinks and poured over their menus while McKenna went back to Jess, “Have a plan?” she asked.

“Not exactly,” said Jess but she grabbed an order pad, stuffed it in her pocket and walked over to Lea’s table.

 “Hi, what would you like to order today?”

“Jess! I almost forgot you were working here. Can you sit with us while we eat?”

Jess gave a small smile, “I’m really busy here, but I’ll see what I can do.”

 Jess held the order pad out in front of her like a shield, “What would you like?”

Sonali and Lea went over their menus one more time and ordered a cupcake and cookies.

 Then, just when their treats arrived, Isabelle burst in.

 “I’ve been looking all over for you! A new ice cream shop has just opened down the street and they’re giving away free cones! Want to come?”

“Sure, I love ice cream way more than cupcakes,” said Sonali as she got up and started to go with Isabelle.

“Lea, aren’t you coming?”

“No, I’ll meet you guys later. I want to finish mine.”

 As soon as Jess saw Sonali leave, she sat in her spot face to face with Lea.

“Look, I heard about what you and Alex and Tatiana are going to do this summer -“

“Oh, yeah!” Lea interrupted, “I keep forgetting to tell you. I talked to Tatiana and asked her if you could come too. I thought it wasn’t right that Alex gets to take her best friend on the trip but I couldn’t take mine. She said it would be fine if you came with!”

“She did? I mean, you did? I thought you just forgot all about me.”

“Of course not Jess! How could I forget you? Especially since you went to South American even before me.”

“Well, this is great!” Jess cried happily, “Heather’s sure going to have her hands full with four dolls going on a trip.”

“Yeah, and you’re the biggest handful!” Lea playfully punched Jess in the arm, “Are you able to take a break and go over to the new ice cream shop with me? I want to try some flavors.”

Jess grinned and nodded and off they went.

Note from Heater: Of course as much as I’d like to go to South America this summer, that is not going to happen. Instead, I’m going on vacation with my family to the place we’ve been going to for the past 24 years – Ludington, Michigan. Since it has amazing beaches and Jess has such a great imagination, all the dolls are going to pretend they are in South America for the Olympics. The whole month of August will be devoted to it!

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doll Doings

  1. agteen says:

    I love all your props

Leave a Reply

