A Great Weekend

This weekend was the best Memorial Day weekend I have ever had. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts my family and I have been vacationing to Ludington, Michigan for the past 24 years. My sister, Hillary has not been able to go for at least the past 4 years and she’s been really missing it. When she found out she wouldn’t be able to come this summer either she decided to do something about it. She booked a motel at the same place we rent the cabin in August for Memorial day weekend and my dad and I were both able to make the trip with her. I of course, couldn’t leave without bringing a doll, so for the first time ever I chose a non-AG doll – Savannah (also called Hannah).

 When she found out she was going to go, she immediately went and told her good friend Maru her exciting news.

“I get to go in a cool backpack that’s made especially for me!” she said.

“Don’t forget to pack enough clothes and don’t forget to take your swimsuit,” Maru reminded her.

 Savannah remembered everything except underwear! Which is why, in one outfit her pants tend to fall down.

 The halfway point to Ludington is South Haven and we always stop on the way there and on the way back for THE BEST ice cream in the ENTIRE WORLD!!! I mean it. This is not your normal ice cream. It is an ice cream place with the factory right behind it called Sherman’s ice cream. They have over 50 flavors of ice cream and come out with two new ones every year. Their French silk is to die for.

Savannah shared her Georgia Peach with me.

 “I’m not from Georgia though, I’m from Alabama!” Hannah said, which made us all laugh and start singing “Oh Susannah”.

 I’ve always wanted to buy one of these shirts but they’re pretty expensive. Hillary and I were wearing our resort shirts which matched the Sherman’s shirt so well.

 When we got to Ludington, we started hiking right away. Remember the Maplelea stuff I mentioned from the previous post? Well, I also go this backpack which has tons of pockets and Hannah fits in very comfortably.

 The main reason I wanted to bring Savannah was for her to show you a lighthouse. Ludington has 3 lighthouses. You have to hike to the biggest one and that’s what we did.

 Here’s our first glimpse of the Big Sable lighthouse.

 We’re getting closer!

 It was sooo windy that day. Hannah did not really like standing on the dunes because sand got in her eyes and hair.

 We made it!

 After that, Hannah relaxed on the beach.

 She thought it was too cold to go swimming but that didn’t stop me! Supposedly the water in Lake MI was 46 degrees and the water in Lake Hamlin (where I swam) was 50 but once I got moving it really wasn’t that bad.

 We really had the best time there with perfect weather and the beauty of the hiking trails. I’m so glad we went.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Doll's travel stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Great Weekend

  1. Jen says:

    It looks like an amazing time, what a great way to start your summer! Brianna got to see some of the Michigan dunes a few months ago when she traveled to Detroit for a competition. She thought it was amazing.

Leave a Reply

