Maplelea

I feel like I’m writing a commercial (I guess I am) but have you heard of the doll line called Maplelea? It’s basically the Canadian version of American Girl but only modern (there are some historical outfits but hardly any). Last year, I found out about this brand, even though it’s been around for a while and requested one of their free catalogs. I poured over it, just like AG and picked out my favorite outfits and added them to my wish list. I had a feeling I’d never buy from them because shipping is very expensive and the outfits are not at all cheap either. The dolls themselves held no pull for me. It took me a while to figure out why but I think it’s because their dimples make their smiles look strange. Not quite realistic or normal. Since I requested the catalog I also got on their email list but for more than a year, nothing tempted me until about a month ago. I got an email saying they were having an online warehouse sale and tons of outfits originally listed for $28-$40 were on sale for $18-$20! Wow! I didn’t think I could pass this up and I knew the best thing to do would be to buy in mass quantity to get the most out of my shipping price.

I compare anything and everything to American Girl and I can’t believe I’m saying this

 (I’ve never said this before) but every single Maplelea outfit I bought FAR surpasses any modern American Girl doll outfit. My sister summed it up when she came to see my loot, “Heather, these outfits are seriously human outfits in doll size.” And they really are. The quality, craftsmanship, and fabric of these outfits are exactly what a real girl would wear except it’s for a doll.

I bought 3 of these outfits directly from Maplelea and I also bought a few from other sources. I thought I’d show them to you. Each outfit comes in a pretty Maplelea box:

It includes a hangar and journal pages for the specific doll which describes life/things you might see/learn about in Canada:

One side of the journal page is in English:

And the other is in French:

This outfit called Close Knit I bought specifically for Lanie.

Now the big question is how does it fit AG dolls?

The long sleeve shirt is pretty tight so it looks dorky not tucked in. If she were to wear leggings with it or some kind of pants that don’t have a fly it would look nicer. The jeans fit very well although they’re a little on the too long side. Don’t you just love the crochet flowers on the ankle?

 All the pants that I bought had ‘M’s embroidered on the back pockets.

You can see how these jeans kind of look baggy around the ankles and they’re pretty high wasted (or rather, I pulled them up as far as they could go).

The sweater fits her perfectly and makes her tucked in shirt unnoticeable. Lanie told me she never wants to take it off!

The next outfit is called the Pack it Jacket. Here is the featured jacket:

 It has a cute hood and a very deep back pocket, look how far my fingers go down:

 You can pack the hood into the collar:

 And then you can pack the entire jacket into the back pocket until it turns into a tiny ball.

 Maggie tried to use it as a pillow, but it was even too small for that!

 Here’s Maggie in the full outfit:

 The next outfit called the Manitoba Wildflower outfit is the reason why I decided to go ahead and buy from Maplelea. This outfit was on the very top of my wish list and I couldn’t believe that it was only $18. The embroidery on the pants and jacket are incredible.

 Even the lavender shirt doesn’t skimp (like AG would have): it is long sleeved, it’s a turtle neck and it has a decorative gathering at the neck. You would have been lucky if AG would have provided a plain lavender t-shirt to go with this outfit.

 Here are up close pics of the embroidery. These flowers are actual wildflowers found in Canada. The journal pages contain more information about them.

 The flowers are just everywhere! All over the front of the jacket, the collar and the sleeves!

The only thing that’s not so great is these outfits do not come with shoes. You have to buy them separately. I didn’t mind because I have plenty of shoes and I was buying these outfits on sale, but if you decide to purchase them at original prices keep that in mind. I’ve also heard that their shoes do not fit AG dolls.

The very first Maplelea outfit I ever bought was from a board member on agplaythings. Felicity was kind enough to put it on even though it’s 70 degrees outside. This is called the Cabin Set:

 First is an adorable Canadian sweater. I just love it (the pants are not included).

 A white quilted vest goes over it.

 A furry hat and maple scarf keep her warm and toasty. (“Too toasty,” says Felicity, “I’m sweating already!”)

And cute maple mittens complete the outfit.

So far, these outfits basically fit AG dolls. But, with this next outfit, I finally figured out which doll brand they fit perfectly: the Maru and Friends dolls.

 Maru is wearing the Outdoor Odyssey outfit which contains green leggings, plaid shorts, a light blue t-shirt, and thick yellow sweatshirt. Maru has a quirky little body. She’s the tallest of my dolls, being 20″ with very long arms and legs. The top part of her body is slim but her tummy widens out so that many AG bottoms fit her but the tops don’t. Almost all of the Walmart brand clothing I’ve purchased fit her, but her arms are usually too long for any long-sleeved outfit. I noticed many of the Maplelea outfits sleeves seemed too long for the AG dolls so I thought why not try it on Maru. I couldn’t believe out it fits!

 Here she is with her three friends.

These outfits are great to mix and match with and I’ll show that to you in the next post so stay tuned!

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maplelea

  1. Very interesting! I’ve considered buying a Maplelea outfit from Amazon before, but they are pretty expensive.
    ~Christian Homeschooler

  2. In Canada the AG outfits as just as expensive if not more expensive as the Maplelea outfits. Since the Maplelea outfits are better quality I always go to them first. You can also find Maplelea on Amazon.com, this should save you on shipping. I hate paying high amounts for shipping, so I feel your pain. So glad you like these outfits!

Leave a Reply

