My Guide to American Girl

Did you know AG is finally coming out with an official visual guide to American Girl? It comes out in September and you can click here to see what the cover looks like. I’m wondering if they’re only going to focus on the BeForever dolls and all the Truly Me stuff so I’m waiting to decide to get it until I can flip through it in person.

When I was around 10 I made my own AG visual guide in a scrapbook/collage. I’ve tried to keept it up to date whenever new historicals or GOTYs come out. I thought it might be fun to show it to you now.

 Here’s the cover. I had it in a binder for long time (hence the holes). Every time a new historical comes out, something about her gets put on the cover.

 At the time I was making this, the Best Friend dolls were coming out one after the next and I just assumed that every historical would get a best friend which is why you’ll see Josefina’s page below is not as full (and probably never will be) as Felicity who did get a best friend.

 All these dolls need best friends! In the older catalogs you could see a small picture of Addy with her hair down. I couldn’t believe how long it was. Addy’s old hoop skirt was much wider than the hoop skirt sold today.

 Finally some full pages with their best friends.

 I didn’t make Kit’s and Kaya’s pages until long after they had come out. They stayed too-new-to-me for a long time and I didn’t think they would fit into the Golden Set of American Girl Characters.

I stopped with Kaya because Julie would have been the next doll I would have had to make and I didn’t care for her at all. So I never made anymore.

 Here is the modern doll cover page. I have a cut out of every meet outfit AG ever came out with.

 There aren’t too many pages of the modern stuff and I certainly have not kept it updated. Most of these cut outs are from 1996-2004.

Ballet:

 Instruments:

 Hiking:

 Here are all the Girls of the Year and for some reason I not only cut out their books, but also the look-alike model on their new catalog page. I kind of wish I hadn’t done that and would have just done the doll and book, but I”ve kept up the pattern just because. Poor Lindsey never got a human model.

 Lea’s not on it because I can’t find a look-a-like model that’s small enough and resembles her enough.

On the back of these GOTY pages are picture of the magazines I used to get and actually still have. Even the cover is so different to how it is now. There was absolutely no advertising in them and they were thicker than they are now too.

.

And finally, the beforever page, just because I love their silhouettes. Can you tell which girl is which? And what kind or order I put them in? Obviously not chronological.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Old American Girl catalogs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Guide to American Girl

  1. Jen says:

    I love this Heather! I think the themed pages are especially interesting, as well as the “meet” outfit page. I’m sad though I haven’t sold you on Julie yet! I hope the new book reaches as far back as your archives do.

    • jackylina says:

      Yeah, I know, I’m sorry about that, but even after I read Julie’s books I never connected with her like I did with so many of the other characters. My sister likes her though. She’s mentioned more than once to me that I should think about getting her. And I tell her, “you get her” and she says “No way! I’m not going to go down the AG road you’re going down!” And I don’t blame her. (she does not own any AG dolls except for a bitty baby which I’m ‘borrowing’.

  2. This is really cool! I think my favorite page is Felicity’s 🙂
    As for the BeForever silhouettes, I believe you put them in order of the date when they were released, correct?
    ~Christian Homeschooler

Leave a Reply

