Circle of Friends Part 9: Finale!

To follow Part 9 click this link and fast forward to 55:20′.

 Katie: Okay everybody, this is it!

Everyone: Birthday party…

Birthday party…

Birthday party… 

 Surprise!!!

 Laura: I didn’t know anybody knew!

 Katie: And this is for you, Laura, our friendship quilt.

 Natalie: To show that we missed you when you couldn’t come to our meetings.

 Laura: It’s for me? It’s so beautiful. This is the best birthday present I’ve ever had.

 I couldn’t help wondering,

Day after day,

Would you forget me

While I was away?

 Would you remember

The way that we cared?

The secrets we kept,

The stories we shared?

But now we’re together

It’s so plain to see,

You always were steadfastly 

Standing by me.

In a circle of friends,

Circle of friends,

We care for each other,

This circle of friends.

No matter what happens

As life turns and bends,

We always can count on

This circle of friends.

Circle of friends,

Circle of friends,

We care for each other,

This circle of friends.

Sharing life’s journey

As the path turns and bends,

We all need each other,

 This circle of friends. 

The end.

 Oh wow, I had SOOO much fun re-creating this musical. I remember last year I had just as much fun and although I was sad because it was over, I knew I had Circle of Friends to look forward to for the next year. But now, Circle of Friends is over too. I mentioned that sentiment to my sister and she and I both came up with two separate but brilliant ideas. She knew that I had the old AG theater kits that went along with the cookbooks, craft-books and paper dolls of the historicals and she thought it would be a great idea for my dolls to act out those skits. My idea was to write my own script to go along with the music of the American Girl’s Christmas CD. I’m planning to put both of those ideas into action sometime in the future!

I thought you might be interested in what the modern dolls were wearing.

If you were to go to AG Place in NY or Chicago and see the musicals back when they were still running, you could also not only buy the soundtrack, but buy exact replicas of the cast’s outfits for your doll!

The outfit Molly wears throughout the show is called the Circle of Friends Finale outfit.

It consists of a long sleeve pink and purple tee with embroidered stars and white capris with a purple embroidered star at the hem.

 I love the little pocket in the back:

 Each outfit, like Molly’s Jitterbug outfit I’m going to show next, came in a special AG place box:

 Where everything fits perfectly inside along with an official AG place hangar.

I took a pic of the front and back cover of the Circle of Friends CD so you can see the actual girls wearing these outfits:

 

  The American Girls Revue (the first musical) also had two outfits devoted to the show.  Poor Emily, who ended up not getting a part in the musical, wanted to at least be pictured in the outfit Molly and her sister dance to.

Felicity is wearing the Revue uniform that every ‘club member’ wore. Here’s the shirt by itself:

 AG did actually have an American Girl’s club that anyone could be a member of. If you were a member, you would get an official club handbook, hat, newsletter and more, and of course, there were also outfits for the dolls:

 The jacket is reversible:

 Red side:

 On Addy:

 Back:

 Although I love the skirt of this outfit, the shirt is really too tight for my chubby older Pleasant Company dolls like Kirsten. The poor thing had to squeeze into it and it still didn’t zip up all the way.

 I really like Josefina’s outfit, although the shorts are too short.

 Kirsten’s outfit came with this fun purse.

 The rest of the doll’s outfits aren’t club or revue outfits but they’re special AG outfits all the same.

 Samantha is wearing the 10th anniversary shirt. You could buy one for yourself and a matching one for you doll.

 It even has the old historical logo on the sleeve.

 Kit’s outfit is a sweatsuit AG sold when they came out with modern-like outfits for the historical dolls (Addy’s African dance outfit, Nellie’s Irish dance outfit, etc. This one is supposedly Molly’s.)

I hope you enjoyed this wonderful musical by Gretchen Cryer and Nancy Ford. Stay tuned for more!

Cast

 The historical American Girls and their best friends played themselves

Annabelle…………………………………..Tess Gotz

Miss Manderly………………………..Lily Gotz (Lily was having a major eye problem in the Felicity cast picture)

Francisca…………………………………….Ana Ming

Tia Dolores………………………………..Miranda Alverez

Mama Larson…………………………….Jacky Faber

Papa Larson……………………………….Katelynne Claire

Miss Winston………………………………Amy Trevelyne

Mary………………………………………….Heather Hardin

Grace…………………………………………Beth Gotz

Kirsten’s friends……………………………Nicki Fleming, McKenna Brooks, Katie Gotz,

Miss Dunn……………………………………Ashleigh Salon

Sara……………………………………………Keisha Vance

Harriet…………………………………………Cecile Rey

Street Vendor………………………………..Jakob Hartmann

Cart Woman………………………………….Mia St. Claire

Cornelia……………………………………….Carlie Cullen

Gard……………………………………………Lindsey Bergman

Tusnelda Frouchy……………………………Penny Tonner

Jenny O’Malley………………………………Sophie Gotz

Bridget O’Malley……………………………Sara Ryder

Gertrude……………………………………….Kathy Gotz

Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in American Girls Revue: Circle of Friends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Circle of Friends Part 9: Finale!

  1. Yay! 🙂
    I was wondering where you got those outfits….They are so cool! 🙂
    ~Christian Homeschooler

  2. Emily says:

    I’ve really enjoyed this series you’ve done! I saw the American Girls Revue in Chicago, but I never saw this one, so I’d say this was the next best thing! Great idea about acting out the theater kits with your dolls. That’s actually something I’ve thought of doing, too, since I always wanted to put on the performances with my friends when I was a little girl, but none of them cared as much about American Girl as I did. 🙂

  3. kaitlynrh1 says:

    Great job on the story! I really love them!
    kaitlynrh1

  4. Sunny says:

    BRAVO!! Heather, this was fantastic! I’m sad it’s over but I’m looking forward to your other “experiments”!
    *Sunny
    P.S. Love the jitterbug outfit!

Leave a Reply

