Circle of Friends Part 7: Flying Solo

To follow Part 7 click this link and fast forward to 41:36′.

Laura/Kit: It was 1934, the Great Depression had hit America and people all over the country had lost their jobs and had to struggle to make ends meet. Kit’s family had to take in boarders just to try to pay the bills. Kit’s friend Ruthie was luckier. Her dad still had a job at the bank.

 One time Kit and Ruthie went to the movies. Ruthie paid, and it made Kit feel uncomfortable.

 Ruthie bought the popcorn too. Kit only ate 2 pieces.

 Ruthie: Don’t you just love that Dottie Drew, the movie star? I loved that part in the movie where she was wearing a tiara and singing and dancing up that staircase, shaped like a wedding cake!

 I like to imagine that I’m a movie star, or a princess just like her.

 Kit: Oh, Ruthie, imagining you’re a princess is just make-believe. I want to be like Amelia Earhart in the newsreel. She’s a real person. The first woman in history to fly a plane across the Atlantic Ocean all by herself!

 When I saw her up there on the big silver screen,

It was the most exciting thing that I’ve ever seen.

Amelia, you’re my hero, you’re my ideal.

You’re not a silly princess – no! – Amelia, you’re real!

How does it feel to be Amelia Earhart?

How does it feel to know that you can fly?

How does it feel to climb up on the wing of your plane?

 Get in the cockpit,

Buckle your helmet,

Rev up the motor,

Taxi the tarmac,

Wait for the signal,

Ready for takeoff-

Wave goodbye!

And when you thunder down the runway,

And when you feel your wheels lift off the ground,

How does it feel to find yourself way up in the blue,

With no one else around?

Flying solo,

Solo.

Four thousand miles across the Atlantic

Up there all alone. 

 Flying solo,

Solo.

Nobody else to give you some popcorn

Up there on your own.

 

Bet there were times you felt some trepidation,

Wondering if you’d ever make it through,

Wondering if you’d reach your destination,

But nothing can stop you, no one can top you.

I want to be like you.

 Flying solo,

Solo,

It all goes to show how far a girl can go,

Flying solo,

Solo.

 One day, Ruthie was helping Kit do her chores.

 Ruthie: I’ve been thinking about Christmas. I know you and your mother are awfully busy, what with the boardinghouse and all,

 so I was thinking this year, instead of spending the whole day downtown the way we usually do, we could just go for a few hours instead.

 Kit: Well, time isn’t the only problem, Ruthie. My mother and I don’t have enough money for lunch at a fancy restaurant or tickets for a show.

 And I’d have to wear this old rickrack dress which I hate!

 Ruthie: You can wear my dress-up dress, Kit. I’ve out-grown it, and, and my mother will pay for the tickets.

 Kit: I’d be embarrassed to wear your dress, and we’d be ashamed to let your mother pay for us.

Ruthie: Ashamed! Well, well we’re just trying to help!

 Kit: I don’t want your help!

 Ruthie: Oh, I know. You think you’re just like great old Amelia Earhart flying all by yourself without any help from anybody!

 Flying solo,

Solo,

Miss Independent, Miss High and Mighty,

Up there all alone,

Flying solo,

Solo,

I think you’re stuck-up, I think you’re selfish,

Up there on your own.

 Letting your pride just ruin our tradition,

Keeping your nose stuck way up in the sky

Just go ahead, and fly your stupid mission

I don’t think we can be friends anymore!

Guess we should say good-bye!

 Kit: Good-bye!

Ruthie: Just fly solo,

Kit: I will!

Solo,

Kit: That’s fine with me, I’d much rather be alone-

Together: Flying solo,

Solo!

Goodbye!

 Becky: But don’t you think it was sort of silly of Kit not to take the dress that Ruthie offered in the first place, and the tickets?

 Keisha: No, I understand how she felt. It’s like, Ruthie was treating her like she was beneath her.

Becky: Mm, but she didn’t mean to.

 Laura: Well, anyway Kit felt that way.

To be continued…

-Heather

This is my favorite Circle of Friends song, and yes I changed it a little bit by adding Kit’s doll (Amelia Earhart had to make a cameo, right?)  and dressing Kit in Molly’s WASPS uniform as she dreamed of flying alone. I wanted to edit those photos with a dreamy, cloudy border but I didn’t like how it looked.

Oh, and Kit says that in real life she LOVES her so-called rickrack (Beforever) dress and would wear it every day if she could!

This song kind of connects to the next song so I’ll try and get the next song up as soon as I can!

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in American Girls Revue: Circle of Friends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Circle of Friends Part 7: Flying Solo

  1. Rutvi says:

    I like the songs and am loving the series!

  2. Jen says:

    Great little song and Amelia doll is so cute.

Leave a Reply

