Circle of Friends Part 4: Circle of Friends

To follow Part 4 click this link in a new tab and fast forward to 20:48′.

Katie/Kirsten: At school at recess time, Kirsten and her friends had fun working on a quilt for their teacher, Miss Winston.

 But then, Kirsten had to stop going to school because she had to stay home to help her mother. Mama was going to have a baby, and some days, Mama’s back ached so badly, that Kirsten had to do all the work: She had to milk the cows, churn the butter,

pick berries and greens to eat, and cook breakfast and dinner. Every night she would fall into bed exhausted!

Soon it would be Kirsten’s birthday, but she thought that her family had probably forgotten. She knew that she shouldn’t bother Mama about it until after the baby was born. Kirsten missed her friends, she knew that they were working on the quilt without her. She hoped they would not forget her. Day after day, Kirsten did the household chores as Mama’s time drew near. Finally the day came! Kirsten dashed across the pasture.

 Kirsten: Papa! Papa, it’s time!

 Papa: All right, Kirsten, you stay here.

 Kirsten: So Kirsten waited all afternoon looking across the broad pasture to their tiny cabin, waiting for a sign. Finally, far away she saw Papa appear at the doorway of the cabin waving! He was smiling.

  When Kirsten got to the cabin, she was so excited!

Papa: Come see your little sister, Kirsten.

 Mama: You’ve been such a good help, Kirsten. You’ve done the work of two women, and I know you’ve missed your friends.

 They’ll be here at the barn raising next week with their parents. It’s the day before your birthday and I thought you might like to do something special when your friends are here. So, after supper, we’ll have music and dancing!

Kirsten: Kirsten was so excited! Mama hadn’t forgotten her birthday after all. On the day of the barn raising, all of Kirsten’s friends and neighbors gathered together in the meadow.

 Miss Winston: Happy birthday, Kirsten!

 Friends: Happy birthday, Kirsten!

 Grace: This quilt is for you.

 Kirsten: Thank you! But,.. but I thought it was for Miss Winston.

Mary: We just said that so we could keep the surprise a secret. We wanted you to know we didn’t forget you even though you weren’t with us.

Kirsten: I couldn’t help wondering,

Day after day,

Would you forget me

While I was away?

 Would you remember

The way that we cared?

The secrets we kept,

The stories we shared?

But now we’re together

It’s so plain to see,

You always were steadfastly 

Standing by me.

In a circle of friends,

Circle of friends,

We care for each other,

This circle of friends.

No matter what happens

As life turns and bends,

I always can count on

My circle of friends.

Circle of friends,

Circle of friends,

We care for each other,

This circle of friends.

No matter what happens

As life turns and bends,

We always can count on

This circle of friends.

 Papa: Happy birthday, Kirsten! You’re blessed with good friends, and so am I.

 We couldn’t have raised this new barn without our neighbors. So come on, birthday girl! Let’s celebrate with a dance!

The seasons keep turning,

And this much we know –

Our friends become dearer

And our families grow.

Circle of friends,

Circle of friends,

We care for each other,

This circle of friends.

 And wider and wider

The circle extends.

We all must give thanks for

Our circle of friends.

Circle of friends,

Circle of friends,

We care for each other,

This circle of friends.

Sharing life’s journey

As the path turns and bends,

We all need each other,

This circle of friends.

Laura: Well, I understand how Kirsten felt, she couldn’t do the same things her friends could, because her mother needed her. But that’s not all, sometimes a person can’t do the same things their friends do because they don’t have enough money.

Natalie: Well, anyway Laura, money’s not important in a friendship. Look what Addy found out about friendship. Remember what happened?

To be continued….

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in American Girls Revue: Circle of Friends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Circle of Friends Part 4: Circle of Friends

  1. kaitlynrh1 says:

    I love all the story so far!
    kaitlynrh1 ❤

  2. Sunny says:

    I’m really enjoying these Circle of Friends posts! Looking forward to more! 😀
    *Sunny

    • jackylina says:

      Thanks so much! Sunny! I’ve been missing you and your posts lately.

      • Sunny says:

        Aww, thank you, that makes me feel good! I was away for Easter break, and then when I got back I was really busy w/ school and stuff so I took a break from blogging. But now I’m on my way back. I’ve missed you too but have been keeping up with your posts! ❤
        *Sunny

      • jackylina says:

        Glad to hear you’ll be back to blogging! I’m excited for your new posts and any possible stories you might come up with or continue with. I really love reading them!

      • Sunny says:

        Aww, thank you Heather! That made my day. 🙂
        *Sunny

Leave a Reply

