Circle of Friends Part 3: Is There Room in the Heart for Two

To follow Part 3 click this link and fast forward to 13:24′.

Angela: Yeah, I was just going to start my Josefina story. This is my quilt square – it’s two little hearts inside one big one.

About a year after Josefina’s mother died, Tia Dolores came all the way from Mexico City to live with the family. Tia Dolores was Mama’s sister.

 She brought lots of new things with her; a piano, a writing desk, paper, pen and ink. Josefina loved Tia Dolores and the sunshine she brought into their house, and Papa seemed happier too. But Josefina’s older sister, Francisca, had other feelings.

 Josefina: Are you hurt Francisca? Are you ill? Shall I fetch Tia Dolores?

Francisca: No, I’ve had quite enough of her.

Josefina: What do you mean? Tia Dolores is good and kind. She’s trying to help us.

 Francisca: By changing us. Now she’s going to make us learn to read and write. Mama didn’t read or write. Reading and writing will be one more way Tia Dolores will fill our heads and our hearts. We’ll have no room left for Mama. We’ll start to forget her. We’ve already started.

 Josefina: Francisca, that’s not true!

 Francisca: I’m not going to do it. I won’t learn to read and write. You’ll have to make your own choice.

 Josefina/Angela: Josefina was suddenly confused. Was Francisca right? Would learning to read and write be disloyal to Mama? Francisca made it seem as if Josefina had to choose between Mama and Tia Dolores.

I miss you Mama.

I hope you’re listening,

I wish you were here to take my hand.

I need you, Mama.

I’m lost and lonely, 

There are so many things

I don’t understand.

If I am happy, 

Will I forget you?

If there is sunshine,

Should I be sad?

If I am growing,

If I am learning,

If I am changing,

Can that be bad? 

If Papa’s smiling,

Does that betray you?

You know he loved you

Through and through.

I have this question-

So I’m just asking-

Is there room in the heart for two? 

Is there room in the heart for two?  

Tia Dolores: After we finish the laundry today, you’ll have your first reading lesson!

 What’s the matter, Josefina? You look sad.

 Josefina: Tia Dolores, I worry that I’m forgetting Mama. Francisca and I were trying to remember this poem Mama used to sing to us. And we can only remember the last line:

Hmmmm……

Hmmmm…..

There’s no love like the first love. 

Tia Dolores: Come with me. I have something to show you

When I was far away in Mexico City, I made this book. I wrote down songs and stories your Mama and I both loved when we were little girls. I wrote this down:

On a rosemary bush sat

Four white doves, saying,

“There’s no love like the first love.”

 Josefina: That’s it!

 Tia Dolores: When you learn to read and write, you can look in this book any time you like and read your Mama’s words.

Josefina: Oh, gracias, Tia Dolores!

Josefina felt as if she had received an answer from Mama. It was as if Mama was encouraging her to read and write.

 Josefina: Look, Francisca, Tia Dolores made this book. She wrote down all of Mama’s poems, and prayers, and songs. And here’s the one that we couldn’t remember. Tia Dolores just read it to me:

On a rosemary bush sat

Four white doves, saying,

“There’s no love like the first love.”

 Together: “There’s no love like the first love.” 

Josefina: When we can read, it will be like hearing Mama’s voice. And when we learn to write, we can add things that we remember her saying. 

 This book will be a way to keep her words safe forever. Reading and writing won’t pull us away from Mama. It will help us remember her and keep her close.

Josefina realized that she didn’t have to choose between Mama and Tia Dolores, she could hold them both in her heart.

Josefina: Gracias, Mama.

 I am so happy

I won’t forget you.

No need to worry,

I won’t be sad.

I know I’m growing,

And I am changing.

I’m learning new things.

You would be glad.

And Papa’s smiling,

We’ve found a new way

To keep your memory

Forever true.

Now there’s no question,

I won’t forget you,

And there’s room in my heart for two.

There is room in my heart for two.

 Up there in heaven

I know you’re smiling

That there’s room in my heart for two.


Angela: That’s why my square is two hearts in one. Because you can have more than one person you love, like more than one best friend.

 Becky: Yeah, but I understand how bad Francisca felt. She thought Tia Dolores was going to take Mama’s place. It was sort of like she was thinking how Mama herself would feel. Like, if you had a very best friend, and then they started being best friends with someone else and left you out. That doesn’t feel very good.

 Katie: Kirsten felt left out too, but it wasn’t because someone was taking her place.

To be continued….

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in American Girls Revue: Circle of Friends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Circle of Friends Part 3: Is There Room in the Heart for Two

  1. kaitlynrh1 says:

    Love it!
    kaitlynrh1

  2. Jen says:

    Great work. Does your Josefina have bangs? Such pretty dresses!

    • jackylina says:

      I got my Josefina used from a neighbor who had gotten her hair cut to just past her shoulders and had also tried giving her side bangs. Some day far down the road when Josefina’s limbs get loose I will send her to the doll hospital for a new head and limb tightening, but right now her limbs are super tight. Way tighter than any AG doll I own besides Kaya, so that won’t happen for a long time. I kind of enjoy her short hair anyway (don’t like the bangs though).

Leave a Reply

