Circle of Friends Part 2: Can’t We Still be Friends?

To follow Part 2 click this link on a new tab and fast forward to 7:54′.

Felicity/Hallie: This is Felicity’s friendship story. My quilt patch says, Faithful Friends Forever Be.

Felicity’s mother had decided it was time for Felicity to begin her education as a gentlewoman. So Felicity found herself taking lessons in dancing, handwriting, stitchery, and the proper way to serve tea.

There were two English sisters at lessons too: Annabelle, the older one:

 Annabelle: You must be the shopkeeper’s daughter.

 Felicity/Hallie: And the younger one, Elizabeth. Felicity didn’t like Annabelle very much.

 But she and Elizabeth immediately liked each other.

But one day, trouble started brewing around the tea table; a group of colonists were protesting the British tax on tea and threw a shipload of tea into the river!

 Annabelle: Your father said those hotheads were right to throw tea into the river.

Felicity: No, he didn’t, he said that they –

Annabelle: Yes he did! Bitsy heard him.

 Didn’t you? Bitsy.

 Felicity: That’s not what he said. He said the men who threw the tea in the river did what they thought was right. Tell her, Elizabeth. You were there. You heard him.

 Annabelle: Your father is a traitor! He could be hanged!

 Felicity: My father is NOT a traitor! Traitors are liars. Traitors are cheaters!

Tell her, Elizabeth!

 Elizabeth, tell her!

 How could she do it?!

She just said nothing,

When Annabelle was lying plain as day.

She just stayed quiet,

She didn’t answer,

Elizabeth had not a word to say!

 How could she do it!?

I guess I hate her,

I guess she’s not my friend it’s plain to see.

My father’s not a traitor!

 And, yes, I really hate her,

Elizabeth’s the traitor – to me!

Felicity: I don’t want to go to lessons anymore.

Mrs. Merriman: It is because of the argument about tea, isn’t it?

 I think it would be a terrible waste to throw away your friendship with Elizabeth because of one misunderstanding.

 Felicity: She thinks father is a traitor, to the king!

 Mrs. Merriman: Did she say that?

Felicity: No, Annabelle did, but Elizabeth didn’t stop her.

 Mrs. Merriman: Elizabeth isn’t as brave as you are. You must be patient with your friend. Go back and talk to Elizabeth. Try to untangle the knots and start again.

 It will take courage.

 Felicity: It’s our fathers who disagree.

Elizabeth: And there are differences between you and me. 

Felicity: We hear the drumming and mustering for war.

 Elizabeth: We hear that trouble’s rumbling just outside the door.

 

 Together: And there’s a tempest in every pot of tea. But there’s no denying, it’s plain to see,

 I really like you, and I can tell that you like me.

Can’t we still be friends?

Forgive and make amends?

Felicity: In spite of  the differences that pull us apart,

Elizabeth: There’s no denying the pull of the heart.

 

Can’t we still be friends

With a friendship that never ends,

Felicity: Untangle the knots between you and me,

Elizabeth: And faithful friends forever be?

 Together: Can’t we still be friends

In this patch of stormy weather?

We’ll just wait it out together, 

Untangle every knot,

Hang on to what we’ve got!

 Elizabeth: And even though my favorite drink is not your cup of tea.

 Felicity: Thank you, Elizabeth, I will take no tea.

Together: We’ll faithful friends forever be,

Faithful friends forever be!

Hallie: So the point is that friends don’t always agree on everything.

Becky: What time is it? Oh, I wish Laura would hurry up.

 Keisha: Here she comes! Everybody act natural.

Everybody: Hi! Hi Laura! Hey!

Laura: Hi, I’m sorry I’m late.

Katie: That’s okay, but we started without you.

To be continued…

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in American Girls Revue: Circle of Friends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

