Circle of Friends Part 1: Birthday Party

Last year I did an 8 part project with my dolls re-enacting the American Girl’s Revue which was a musical girls could go see at the American Girl Places in NY and Chicago . A couple years later a new musical came out called Circle of Friends (2001). The first musical was kind of way to introduce you to the AG historical characters but The Circle of Friends has more of a story to it. It’s about 8 modern girls who formed their own American Girl’s club. When the CD soundtrack first came out, there were only 7 historical dolls out: Felicity, Josefina, Kirsten, Addy, Samantha, Kit, and Molly. The 8th modern girl played the part of Becky’s (Molly) little sister (who played Elizabeth and Jenny). Later, when Kaya was released, they added her to the mix and there was supposedly a beautiful song for Kaya to sing but I cannot find it anywhere on youtube or online. I’m guessing, Becky’s sister, named Michelle, played the part of Kaya once she got added in. In fact, when the first musical came out, Kit had only just gotten released so there was no story/song for her on the CD. But I just discovered while watching the bonus features of the Samantha movie (bad movie by the way, I don’t recommend it unless you enjoy watching ABC’s Once Upon a Time and want to see the actress who plays the Wicked Witch of the West play the part of Aunt Cornelia. The whole time I was a little creeped out. I kept thinking, Samantha, do you know who your aunt really is? She’s the Wicked Witch of the West!) and I saw that Kit got added in on the first song, Imagine.

I hope the way I’m having my dolls re-enact this won’t be too confusing for you. My historical dolls will play the part of the modern characters and themselves which means you need to know who’s who. The most important names to remember are the first 3:

Katie—–Kirsten

Becky—-Molly

Laura—–Kit

Keisha—-Addy

Angela—-Josefina

Hallie—–Felicity

Natalie—-Samantha

And even though Molly and Kaya look nothing alike, I’m having Kaya play the part of Michelle, Becky/Molly’s little sister in the hopes that someday I can get my hands (or ears) on Kaya’s song and revise this post to include that.

In the human version of the musical the girls helped each other out by playing the parts of the character’s friends too, for example Natalie/Samantha also played the part of Annabelle when Hallie/Felicity took her turn to share her Felicity story. I decided not to do that with my dolls. Instead, my best friend historical dolls are going to join in and play themselves. I think it would just be less confusing that way.

After all that explanation, here is the doll version of the Circle of Friends by Gretchen Cryer and Nancy Ford (to listen to it, and I highly recommend you do that in a different tab so you can still read this while listening to it, click here):

Together (chorus): Birthday Party,

 Slumber party,

 Birthday party,

Celebrate!

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

It’s gonna be great!

 Katie: Okay everybody, let’s get everything ready for the party!

 Natalie: Laura is going to be so surprised. She thinks it’s just a regular meeting of our American Girl’s Club, right?

 Katie: Right! She doesn’t even know we know today’s her birthday! Luckily, she’s going to be a little late.

 Michelle: Good! Then we have plenty of time.

Hallie: So, did everybody bring everything?

Addy: Who brought confetti?

 Angela: I brought confetti!

Hallie: I got the candles.

Michelle: I brought the cake.

Addy: Who’s got the streamers?

 Natalie: I got the streamers.

 Katie: Looks like we’re ready!

Together: It’s gonna be great!

 Hallie: Flowers! We forgot the big tissue paper flowers we made.

 Michelle: Becky’s bringing them.

 Katie: Well, why isn’t she here yet?

 Keisha: Where’s your big sister, Michelle?

Michelle: She couldn’t fit in the car with all her flowers, so she’s walking. She’ll be here soon.

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Celebrate!

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

It’s gonna be great!

 Becky: Perfect! I’d say it’s perfect. 

And I’m feeling just so perfect,

 Just so perfectly fine. 

Secret! 

We kept it secret, 

And to think the whole idea for the party was mine!

 I’m so excited I can’t stand it!

How we plotted and we planned it,

Boy, it took some strategy.

It was so hard not to tell her,

To keep it to myself,

‘Cause I think her very closest friend is me!

 When Laura moved here

She was a stranger.

She seemed a little sad and all alone.

I tried to help her,

I was her first friend,

I brought her in and helped her feel at home.

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

 Becky: Don’t wanna be late!

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Celebrate!

 Becky: I’m here! I’m here! I ran all the way.

 Katie: Don’t worry, Becky. Laura called and said she’s going to be a little late. She has to babysit her little brother and she probably won’t be here for a half ‘n hour.

 Becky: Why did she call you, Katie? I was the one who told her what time to be here.

 Angela: Becky, you’ve got to see the cake. It’s so beautiful. It has roses on it.

 Hallie: Katie found out roses are Laura’s favorite flower.

 Becky: Katie found out? How?

Katie: She told me. Rose is her middle name. She was named after her grandmother.

 Natalie: And it’s Katie’s turn to run the meeting today.

 Michelle: So Katie, you should tell us what to do!

 Katie: Okay! This is so perfect! See, our theme today is friendship and our project was to make a friendship quilt. Now you guys were all supposed to make squares about friendship based on your favorite American Girl story. Did you bring them?

Everybody: Here’s mine! Here!

Becky: Michelle, what’d you do with mine?

Katie: Great! Put them over here. See, we’ll each tell our stories and then at the end of the meeting, we’ll give the quilt to Laura as her birthday present. She’ll be so surprised. It’s so perfect!

 Becky: Perfect! She says it’s perfect, And yet I’m feeling not so perfect, Not so perfectly great. Friendship- The theme is friendship. I’d say a friend should always call you when she’s gonna be late.

 Look how I worried, 

How I hurried,

And I guess I should forget it-

Not important I suppose-

But you’d think a friend would tell you,

And not tell someone else,

That her very favorite flower is a rose.

 Katie: You know how Laura had to miss meetings because she had to help her mother? That’s just like Kirsten. She had to drop out of school when her mother had a baby. And remember how Kirsten’s friends made her a friendship quilt to show that they had missed her? Well that’s what we’re doing for Laura. It’s so perfect!

 Becky: Perfect! Okay, it’s perfect.

 I guess a friendship quilt is perfect, 

And it’s perfectly clear 

We’ve missed her, 

We’ve really missed her. 

She’s so busy babysitting 

And she never is here.

Sorry.

I guess I’m sorry 

That I’ve got these funny feelings-

I should drop it, I suppose-

But it sure does seem peculiar.

How did Katie know her birthday

And all the other stuff that Katie knows?

Like her very favorite flower is a rose!

 Katie: When I was at Laura’s house helping her babysit, I noticed the blanket on her bed was really old and worn out.

 Keisha: Laura’s mom works all the time so she hasn’t had a chance to fix up Laura and her brother’s room.

 Katie: So this quilt is going to be perfect! It’s going to brighten up her room!

Becky: Did I just hear that?

I can’t believe it!

Katie’s been to Laura’s house,

And maybe Keisha has too.

I can’t believe it!

I’ve never been there,

She’s never asked me and I almost can’t believe that it’s true.

I don’t get it,

I just don’t get it,

And I guess I should forget it- 

Not important, I suppose-

I’ll pretend I always knew it,

That I always knew her birthday,

And I knew her favorite flower is a rose!

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Celebrate!

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

Birthday party,

It’s gonna be great!

Katie: Okay everybody, let’s start without Laura so she won’t suspect anything when she gets here!

Hallie: Okay, I’ll start.

To be continued….

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in American Girls Revue: Circle of Friends, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Circle of Friends Part 1: Birthday Party

  1. This is really interesting! Can I have the next part, please? 😉
    ~Christian Homeschooler

  2. Jen says:

    Really enjoyed this bit of history and all of the “vintage” AG outfits 😃

Leave a Reply

