Magic Attic-tude of Awesomeness on Magic Attic Mondays: Fancy Fashions

Towards the end of the life of the Magic Attic dolls, the newest owner of the brand revamped the dolls in 2003, giving all of them rooted hair, and Megan, a new face mold. They also did away with catalogs and instead put pictures of extra outfits on the back of brand new outfit boxes:

I am going to focus on the first column of outfits, what I call, the Fancy Fashions:

 Since these outfits have no book to go with and nothing to do with the Magic Attic characters I thought I’d give the Magic Attic dolls a break from modelling and recruited my Carpatinas instead. Here is Rowena wearing the Star of the Ice outfit. The box pictures Megan wearing this skating outfit. Except as you can see she’s not wearing the ice skates because I had just put all the winter clothes away and was too lazy to go in my chest and dig them out again! They’re just normal skates anyway, nothing special.

 I like this outfit MUCH better than Alison’s skating outfit which I think is rather dated. This one is timeless. The tights and sleeves are made from the same meshy-type fabric and seem fragile but at least they’re not prone to snagging because there’s no Velcro! The end of the sleeves have snaps which helps a lot because it’s impossible to get the sleeves through the hands when the snaps are closed.

 She wears a pretty plastic crown with purple jewels.

 The best part about this outfit is the embroidery on the bodice. So pretty.

 Another beautifully embroidered dress is the one Kohanna is wearing called Princess Pretty, shown on Heather on the box. I have to say, it’s very brides-maidy. You wouldn’t see a normal human wear this dress except to a wedding, and they would probably do without the gloves too. But my dolls think this is a beautiful spring dress and can be worn for any special occasion.

 This embroidery is accented with tiny beads which are sewn to the dress. All of these long gowns come with some type of accessory, like the gloves, shoes, and a netted petticoat (it also came with a crown surrounded with flowers but I got this used so mine didn’t come with that).

Ana Ming wanted to show the petticoat that goes with her dress because it really flounced the dress out:

 It’s almost like a tutu! Of course when the dress is on top it doesn’t flare out as much, but these netted petticoats really help poof out the dresses. Don’t they seem terribly scratchy looking to wear? Oh well, my dolls never complain! So we have a brides maid dress and now a flower girl dress. Here is Ana Ming wearing a dress Rose is pictured in called Flower Girl Fun:

 Gold threaded stars? flowers? fireworks? are embroidered into this dress along with the same beads as the dress before.

 A lot of accessories come with this dress; a flowered wrist corsage that you have to rubber band to the doll’s wrist yourself.

And a beautiful flowered wreath with a ribbon bow tied in the back.

The next dress was one I dreamed of having because on the back of the box, Heather looks so beautiful in it. When I finally got one used on ebay, it didn’t quite meet my expectations. Simply titled, Party Dress, the dress itself is very unique. I find it to be sort of like a 3-D dress:

 First you have the main part of the dress with the blue flower print, on top of that is a sheer ruffled overlay, and on top of that are real blue fabric flowers that seem to be only glued on so you have to be very careful storing this dress so they don’t come off.

 Here’s Julia wearing just the dress.

 As if that’s not enough, a double thickness shawl is worn around the dress giving a dreamy affect:

 Those are all the wonderful things about this outfit. Now we come to the bad parts. This barrette is impossible to get in any doll’s hair. It’s very fragile, impossible to open and impossible to close (at least mine is) so I either just sit it in the doll’s hair and hope no gentle breeze blows it off, or I very carefully bobby pin it like I did with Julia’s hair:

 The sandals, although adorable to look at, do not stay on the doll’s feet at all. Too bad, because they’re so cute.

 Here’s one more look at all the 2003 Fancy Fashions:

I’m probably going to take a break from Magic Attic Fashions for the month of April because my historical AG dolls and myself are going to be involved in a major project. I’m so excited and I can’t wait to reveal it to you! I’ll give you a little big hint: click here!

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Magic Attic fashion posts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Magic Attic-tude of Awesomeness on Magic Attic Mondays: Fancy Fashions

  1. Those dresses are gorgeous! But why didn’t each Magic Attic Club doll get a dress? I don’t even see Keisha on the back of the box! Oh well.
    I’m looking forward to your big project! 😀
    ~Christian Homeschooler

    • jackylina says:

      I know, right? I think it’s terrible they excluded Keisha and Chloe. But Chloe seems to be excluded from everything.

      • Oh, so Keisha and Chloe were excluded a lot? I wouldn’t know, because I practically know nothing about Magic Attic Club when they sold Chloe. I guess she wasn’t a hit.
        ~Christian Homeschooler

      • jackylina says:

        Chloe was released just before Knickerbocker sold Magic Attic to a different company. I guess the other company didn’t like Chloe and didn’t get Keisha any outfits even though they still continued to sell the doll.

  2. Sunny says:

    Gorgeous! 😀
    *Sunny
    P.S. I forgot to say this before but I love the name you came up with for this series. 😉

  3. Sunny says:

    Gorgeous! 😀 I think my favorite dress is the party dress. You are right…it sure is unique!
    Also…I forgot to say this before but I love the name you came up with for this series. 😉
    *Sunny

  4. Pingback: Magic Attic-tude of Awesomeness on Magic Mirror Mondays: School Cool and Cozy Nights | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

