Victorian Valentines Mash Up

I’ve been meaning to do a review of my historical AG doll undergarments since they are rarely shown/discussed. I was hoping to do that at Christmas since all my dolls were wearing them but the pics didn’t turn out very well. So I’ve decided to do it for Valentine’s day instead. And, instead of your normal review of clothes, I’ve made it into a story. Happy (early) Valentine’s Day!

Mary Grace woke up to a beautiful sunshiny morning on Valentines day. She walked with sleepy eyes toward the closet when Samantha bumped into her.

“Oops! Sorry, I didn’t see you,” Samantha yawned.

“Sorry. Ugh, I can’t decided what to wear for Valentine’s day. I suppose I should wear my meet dress since it’s pink, but I’ve really taken such a strong liking to all of Felicity’s outfits. Do you suppose she’d be mad if I wore her birthday gown?”

“Mad? Are you kidding?! She’d be so thrilled she’d probably buy you an extra special Valentine’s day gift because it would mean she wouldn’t have to wear her stays and undergarments.”

“Great! Do you want to wear my meet outfit? I bet it would look good on you and you can wear my crinoline.

What’s so bad about Lissie’s undergarments anyway?”

“I’ll show you,” Samantha said with a small smile, “you’re already wearing her shift, so put on her stays and I’ll help you pull them tight.”

Mary Grace got into Felicity’s stays while Samantha put on the crinoline and chemise. Mary Grace pulled her hair to the front so Samantha could pull it.

Samantha laced it up and pulled.

“AAh! Too tight! I can’t breathe!”

“It’s not too tight. The stays aren’t even meeting up. Felicity wears it so no part of her shift shows through the laces.”

“Well, I can’t do that! My stuffing will explode out of me. I guess I’ll have to stop eating so many Valentine cookies.”

“I guess so.  Okay, you need to put your pocket hoops on next to fill the dress out. Oh, and here, put this on in case you need to hide something in your pockets.”

“I need to wear a pocket?”

“Yes! Colonial dresses don’t have pockets built into them. Instead, they have slits so you can stick you hand through the dress and reach into your pockets. Felicity only has one pocket though. It’s from Williamsburg, though so it’s really special.”

“Oh my gosh, all this stuff to wear and put on even before the dress. No wonder people needed ladies maids.”

“Uh, Mary Grace, people back in 1774 did not have ladies maids. At least, most people didn’t.”

“Well, I don’t know how I’d put all this on without your help, Sam.”

“I do have to say, your undergarments are a whole lot easier to manage than Lissie’s.”

“You look good in them too!”

 “This is fun wearing each other’s clothes. I wonder what Felicity will think –”

“Think of what?” cried a grumpy voice as the bedroom door burst open and Felicity herself barged in, “I don’t think it’s funny to walk into my closet and find everything I have to wear today gone! I’m walking around in my underwear trying to figure out who stole it – and I caught her red-handed!”

 “Oh, Lissie! I’m sorry. I knew I should have asked you before I took them, but you were still sleeping and Samantha said you wouldn’t mind.”

“Well, she’s actually right. I don’t mind. But I still don’t know what I’m going to wear now.”

“Hey, since we seem to be clothes swapping for Valentine’s day, why don’t you wear my tea dress?” Samantha said, handing Lissie her lacy whites, “Here put these on fast so you don’t freeze in your undies.”

 “Ooh, Samantha! You are so lucky. I can wear these undergarments and still be able to move and breathe! They’re really pretty too.”

“I guess they are nice. I just hate having to wear long underwear.”

Just then, another doll walked in.

“What’s this an undergarment party?”

 “I guess it is!” Felicity laughed, “and you’re the only doll in your own undergarments!”

“Yeah, these are my pantelletes from my Christmas gown. Addy and Cecile are going modern for Valentines day and I asked if I could borrow her meet outfit since I don’t own anything pink. I wondered what it would look like if I wore my undergarments underneath the dress.”

 “Hey! Since this is a party let’s take some pics together!”

 “Okay guys! I’m all gussied up and I think I’m ready to present myself!” Mary Grace came out in Lissie’s birthday dress, “I decided not to use the apron since it’s too spring-like.”

 “Hmm,” Felicity pondered watching her, “I agree about that particular apron, but I still think you need something more since we’re going to a party. Why don’t you use my Williamsburg apron and lacy mob cap?”

 “Perfect!”

 “My turn! Except, this is not working at all.” The girls burst out laughing to see Samantha looking all frumpy and bunchy.

“Well that’s too bad! The crinoline doesn’t fit under that dress! Bad marks for AG I say! Not enough material,” Mary Grace criticized, “it really is Cecile’s crinoline but we both use it so much. I guess it only fits under her meet dress.

 “You better take it off,” said Lissie, “You’ll never be able to move.”

“Ah, that’s a lot better. Felicity, you’re next!”

 “Ohh, those lacy whites really help to fill the dress out. You look so proper.”

“And I feel proper too, without having to suffocate with stays on.”

Josefina walked in next.

 “Do these look dumb? Maybe the pantellettes are too long.”

“They’re a little too long, but I like them. I think you should keep them on,” replied Mary Grace.

“Come on out everybody, breakfast is served!”

 Carline walked in just in time for the food, “What a lovely surprise! I come back from a morning horseback ride, and breakfast is all laid out so beautifully.”

 Kirsten found her way into the room having been led by the wonderful aromas.

 “Huh, I thought I was the only one wearing someone else’s outfit. I guess we all decided to switch gowns.”

 “It almost looks like you didn’t switch, Kirsten, you look so much like Carline in that dress.

Soon, more friends joined the party all dressed in each others outfits and they had a grand time exchanging Valentines to the wrong person too!

The end.

There will be one more Valentine’s day post to come hopefully on Valentine’s day. I have to say, for a long time I used to think the doll’s undergarments were a waste. Why buy something that goes under a dress where you can’t see it? It wasn’t until I saw other bloggers show pics of the difference it makes to have the undergarments on the dolls. It really makes a stunning difference and much more so in real life.

I found Samantha’s and Cecile’s for only $7.00 on ebay. I had to pay much more for Felicity’s but I think it’s worth it  because it really makes her gowns so authentic looking. In this post, I put everything on Mary Grace backwards: the shift should be worn first, then the pocket, then the hoops, and finally the stays.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Victorian Valentines Mash Up

  1. Your dolls are so funny(especially Felicity)! This was a very interesting post to read; I liked seeing all the different undergarments.

  2. Jen says:

    I enjoyed this undergarment education! Felicity’s are really special. My favorite are Josefina’s pantalettes.

  3. IrishAG says:

    Tee hee! Funny undergarment story! XD
    I love all the pink dresses for Valentine’s day! All your dolls look beautiful!
    <3, IrishAG

Leave a Reply

