A Poopy Discovery

Cecile and Maggie were finishing breakfast and getting ready for their morning Bible study when Kanani walked in.

 “Hey guys! I have a surprise for you. Remember when I went to Hawaii and stayed with some wonderful friends? And remember when Heather went on that super crazy hike with Esther, Bill, and Abby?”

“Yes.”

“Well, while we were there, Esther was in the process of writing a devotional book and we even got to help her! I think it’s so cool that we know and got to work with a real true author! And guess what!? Her book has been published and it’s for sale right now!! I just bought a copy and I thought, instead of our usual Bible study, we could do this instead.” Kanani showed the girls the book.

  “Sin is like Poop!??” Maggie asked, giggling, “just by the title this book looks, um, weird, and I guess, funny, and well, I’m already interested in it!

 “Yeah,” agreed Cecile, “I guess sin really is like poop. Or maybe it’s even worse than poop because it’s evil. Okay! Let’s totally do this Bible study! It sounds really fascinating.”

“Great!” Kanani cried, “I was hoping you’d say that. And just in case you didn’t, I asked Katelynne and Bitty Bobby to act out one of the chapters with me.”

“Act out chapters?” asked Maggie, “Wow, I’ve never done a Bible study that good before. Let’s see you act it out!”

“Here we go!” Kanani announced, “It starts in the bathroom: Bitty Bobby had to use the bathroom and he decided all on his own to use the big dolly toilet.

“I’m a big boy and I think I have to go a big No. 2 so I’ll try using the big dolly toilet.”

 He pulled down his pants and went.

 When he got up he felt proud to have done such a grown up thing. But as he turned around to flush the toilet, he noticed something brown on the seat and on the floor.

 “Oopsies! I bet I can clean it up myself! Here’s some clothes and towels on the floor. I’ll use those.” He proceeded to wipe the  mess up with those. “There! All gone!”

So Bobby, pleased with both accomplishments left the clothes on the floor, set the towel on the counter and walked out.

Katelynne and I were the next ones to walk into the bathroom. Katelynne was moaning over the fact that she had gotten up too late. “Do you think I have time to take a shower?” she asked, “I’m scared I might be late for my meeting.”

 “Umm, I guess you might have time if you make it quick.”

“No, never mind, I’ll just wash my face and brush  my teeth,” Katelynne went to the sink while I proceeded to pick up the clothes on the floor.

“I really wish people would pick up after themselves! Just look at this! Are these clothes even clean?” I inspected them….and couldn’t believe what I saw.

 “EWWWWW! POOP!”

“What!?” Katelynne turned to me in the middle of drying her face and hair.

 “There are poop streaks on these clothes! And poop on the floor! Oh my gosh! This is so disgusting! Who did this!??

 “Wait,” Katelynne started to panic, “My towel! Is there poop on my towel?”

 I checked the towel and saw tiny brown specks…”Ew! Yes!”

 “AH!” Katelynne cried, starting to freak out, “is there poop in my hair? Quick! Check it!”

 Katelynne bent down and I combed through her hair with my fingers and found some more brown specks, “There is!!”

 “AAAAAAH!”Katelynne violently started to rip her clothes off. I guess now she had time to take a shower.

She wasn’t going to just wash her hair either, she was going to do a full body wash. Would she have jumped in the shower if there hadn’t been poop? Probably not. Do we treat sins in our lives with a similar intensity? Very rarely. So often we let our sins go on so much that we get used to them and don’t even feel like what we’re doing is a sin. Consider James 1:23-24: “Anyone who listens to the Word but does not do what it says is like someone who looks at his face in the mirror and immediately forgets what he looks like.”

God’s word tells us to treat sins with severity. Matthew 5:29 says: “If your right eye causes you to stumble, gouge it out and throw it away.

It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell.”

Of course the Bible isn’t telling us to take our eyes out! God is saying that we must get rid of any and all sins in our lives just as we would get rid of poop in our hair. Plus, was Katelynne’s reaction to  just wash her hair? No, she had to take a full bath. So we too, need to immerse ourselves in our Lord Jesus’ perfect sacrifice.

 Lather up with the bar of the Holy Spirit and pray for forgiveness at the first sign of our sinful natures.

“Wow,” said Maggie, “that was an awesome devotional.”

“We’re not quite done, silly, there are questions: Do you deal with sins quickly? Or do you let them linger?”

“Hmm,” Cecile thought, “I find myself acting more like the person who looks in the mirror and forgets what he saw. Sometimes I tease my brother too much and I can tell it hurts him and sometimes I say I’m sorry and sometimes I don’t, but then I don’t change. I just go on teasing him day after day.”

“Yeah, I feel the same,” Maggie agreed, “I tend to complain about everything a lot. And I tell myself every morning that other people have far less than me and have a whole lot more to complain about than I do but I just end up feeling miserable over nothing anyway.”

“Well, probably the first thing we need to do is pray that God would forgive us and that He would open our eyes whenever you’re about to tease your brother or complain about something. That way, if we realize what we are about to do, we can stop it.”

“That’s a good idea,” said Cecile, “And I can ask my brother to warn me when he notices I’m teasing him, even if he doesn’t mind it.”

“Here’s a prayer in the book that we can pray:

‘King of kings, we recognize Your holy perfection and our struggle as sinners. Thank you for the provision of Jesus Christ, the Lamb that atones for our sins. May we recognize teasing, complaining and selfishness, even a speck of it, as a great offense to You and extremely harmful to our souls. May we learn how to recognize sin for what it is by staying rooted in Your Word. May we also have the wisdom to recognize our need of cleansing from harmful sins. ‘

Amen

This post was based on the book Sin is Like Poop, by Esther Edwards.

-Heather and Kanani

P.S. : Commercial Time!

Yes, this book is not just a made up dolly book. It is real for humans! Here is the human version of it:

I can’t tell you how much fun it has been reading this book and doing the devotional. Each chapter is not very long and highly interesting and entertaining about how our sin is so much like poop and how God deals with it and how we need to deal with it. This book is great for everyone! Not just mother’s who have changed their child’s dirty diapers. I highly, highly recommend you go out and buy it. You can find it on amazon here!

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Poopy Discovery

  1. elte0906 says:

    Wow!! This is way more than I expected Heather! You really did such a great job of portraying the book! I love that you did chapter eight!! I told Bill his story is now immortalized through the dolls, lol! Thank you Heather, LOVE it!

  2. Sunny says:

    Well this sure was interesting. 😉 I had no idea what to expect at first but I totally get the message and think it is so true. I can really relate to Cecile and Maggie. 🙂
    Congrats to your friend on publishing her book! 🙂
    *Sunny

    • jackylina says:

      Thanks Sunny! I knew people wouldn’t know what to expect and it took me forever to decide on a title for the post because I didn’t want to weird people out of reading it. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  3. Jen says:

    I need a wig like Katelynn’s!
    I also draw from your post the condition where sin spreads throughout people.

  4. Abbylina says:

    Hahaha I love the dolly devotional! You could have a spinoff blog 😛 I love how the dolls have pencil and paper and a laundry basket! Seeing the chapter played out in doll form was hilarious! And a good reminder of the yuck of sin and the good God who doesn’t leave us poopy 🙂

Leave a Reply

