Via E Update

If you read my review of the Via E Tatiana doll, you will remember that my one concern about her was that her head was tilted up. I found out that I was not the only owner with this problem. I emailed Via e and they said she is strung very tightly (as is the rest of her body) and if I pull hard I can bring her head down to look straight. They said I can pull hard as Tatiana was meant to take abuse. I tried this, and it did help a little bit, but she still has a tendency to look up. I’m guessing, that like Alexis, her limbs will loosen over time and it will be easier to move her body parts.

Yesterday afternoon I checked the Via E facebook page and website and found that the company is already gearing up for the next new doll! Her name will be Elena Marie Engel. She has been Alexis’ best friend throughout all of Alexis’ books! This is the original illustration of Elena created for the Storicolor® books.

Ellen Callen wrote on her facebook page what she envisions the Elena doll to look like. I’ve copied it for you here (interspersed with my comments, not italicized): I see her hair come down to the middle of her back in soft waves. She will have sweeping bangs, big deep brown eyes, with a smile but not open mouth like Alexis. Light skin with freckles across her nose. She will be shorter than Alexis and Tatiana at 18″ but still fit all the same clothing. (Tatiana and Alexis are 18.5″/19″). She will have French manicures and pedicures with rouging to create a life-like quality to the skin. (Alexis has this rouging, it makes her look lively and healthy). The critics don’t seem to like my clothing choices, so I’m turning that job over to the Via E Family. Submissions will be voted on by those who decided to help her be created. (I can’t help but agree with the critics. Alexis meet outfit is nothing to write home about. I thought her skirt was too short and the kitty cat shirt is blah. Tatiana’s is better, but it’s also a little plain. How exciting to get to vote!) What I have learned in making Dollfriends® is that their look evolves. I use software that applies a mathematical formulation for facial balance and beauty to test the final design. Alexis scored 10 out of 10 and Tatiana was 9 out of 10. I use the software to remove my personal opinion out of the equation. So this is why I’m confident that Elena will win hearts even though we have not seen her yet.

Yeep! Wavy hair! Sweeping bangs! Although I hope those bangs won’t become Lanie/Grace side bangs. Closed smile!! And freckles!!! Eeek! I’m already ultra excited and I’m still working on truly meeting Tatiana! Ellen is hoping Elena will be ready by September at the earliest and Christmas at the latest. If you can, I think it would be great if you purchase her now (she is $68, and once she is made, she will never be that cheap again) and keep yourself posted on Elena’s journey of being created. I enjoyed it SO much with Tatiana, I’m highly looking forward to Elena’s.

Here are some more thoughts from Ellen about Elena: Yep, you guessed it! Elena will be our Dollfriend® adventure for 2016. Yes, we will soon also meet a Japanese/Brazilian friend in our Storicolor® books, but Elena has been waiting patiently for her turn to be born. Elena has been with Alexis since the very beginning when the stories were first created six years ago, so it seemed that Alexis and Tatiana wouldn’t be complete without adding Elena this year. We have lots to learn about who Elena is as a person. For starters, she is the first friend Alexis made when she moved to Brazil. Elena lives on the same street as Alexis in Sao Paulo so they spend quite a lot of time together. Elena is half German and half Portuguese. You can see each culture in her name. Engel is a German name that goes back hundreds of years. It means angel. Elena Marie is Portuguese. Elena means shining light or bright one, which is perfect for Elena’s personality. She loves surrounding herself with color and her personality is, well…spicy! The name Marie is tied to rebelliousness, I guess that’s where she gets her spice. Elena rebels against wrong-doing and may ask for a few more reasons why she should do anything. She is always respectful and can be a bit of a trickster, which makes for quite a bit of fun because you never know what Elena is going to do next!

I heard that Ellen wanted to make Elena right after she created Alexis but her fans were clamoring for Tatiana so she made that doll first. She really wants to make Elena and the Japanese/Brazilian doll at the same time but there isn’t enough money to do that.

Together we will bring Elena to life. I’ll need your help. You will be the creative team to design Elena’s meet clothing. I’ll be posting more about that later. Anyone can participate, but only those who advance order Elena will be able to vote on what Elena should wear. Also we have a new song to create…new books…a lot of fun for 2016! I’ll be setting up the Advance Order on the website within the next week so we can get an early start. An early start means Elena will be able to come home sooner in 2016!

I’m super excited to for us to build another Dollfriend together. I have already provided the specifications to the factory and my additional requests for Elena’s special features that will make her unique and wonderful!

The image shows some of Elena’s planned attributes. But what I have found is that each Dollfriend seems to reveal herself along the way, so like you, I can’t wait to meet Elena for the very first time! Elena Marie Engel™ is a trademark of Via E, Inc. All rights reserved.

All this was taken from her facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ViaE.Dollfriends

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Via E Update

  1. Jen says:

    What a terrific idea to let early adopters choose the meet outfit! I am following them on FB now.

    • jackylina says:

      Cool! I’m looking at it through my sister’s facebook account since I don’t have one (and don’t plan to get one) myself.

    • jackylina says:

      Jen! I just saw Melody’s bk 2 cover on Poppets and Posies blog! It looks like she has full bangs! I’m getting even MORE excited about her!

      • Jen says:

        I’m really curious on her hair texture. As you know, when Addy’s hair is down its massive. Yet a Samantha texture doesn’t seem quite right either. I think our book arrives Wednesday!
        Did you get the catalog yet?

      • jackylina says:

        I’m curious too. I think it will be less textured than Addy’s. More like Magic Attic Keisha. Her hair looks textured because it is, but it’s a lot softer than Addy’s. I have not gotten a catalog yet! grrr. I know some people actually got one Dec 31st! I usually get one immediately. Have you gotten one yet? Can’t wait to hear what you think of the book! I’m not going to read it until Melody actually comes out.

      • Jen says:

        We got our catalog Jan 2. I expected it to be more massive, but it was the regular size. I guess those Christmas catalogs spoiled me.
        Melody s book came today and Brianna and I are taking turns!

      • jackylina says:

        Oh! how exciting! Okay, if I don’t get my catalog by tomorrow I”m going to go to the AG place this weekend to get one. I also bought a used Kit for my young cousin (her mom wanted me to buy a used one). I thought it was a great deal (only $67) because she came with 3 other outfits besides her meet. However, I should have looked at the pictures more closely. Her skin is really dirty, like stained with dirt, and her limbs are loose. I’m going to clean her up as best I can but I might need to send her to the hospital.

      • Jen says:

        Sorry to hear Kit needs work. At least if you have to send her for limbs, they will clean her up as part of the cost. Having outfits is definitely a plus…

Leave a Reply

