The Night Before Christmas

I hope you readers don’t mind, but I’m going to bombard you with posts today! I wanted to spread them out but I didn’t have time. So, here are three new posts: The night before Christmas, Christmas Presents, and Tatiana Oliviera. Just keep scrolling down!

Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the house

Not a creature was stirring, not even a mouse.

 The stockings were hung by the chimney with care,

 in hopes that St. Nicholas soon would be there.

 The children were nestled all snug in their beds,

 While visions of sugarplums danced in their heads.

And Ma in her kerchief and I in  my cap,

 Had just settled down for a long winter’s nap.

When out on the lawn there arose such a clatter,

I sprang from my bed to see what was the matter.

Away to the window I flew like a flash,

Tore open the shutters and threw up the sash.

The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow

Gave the lustre of mid-day to objects below.

When what to my wondering eyes should appear,

But a miniature sleigh, and eight tiny reindeer.

 With a little old driver, so lively and quick,

I knew in a moment it must be St. Nick.

 More rapid than eagles his coursers they came,

And he whistled, and shouted, and called them by name!

“Now Dasher! now, Dancer! now, Prancer and Vixen!

On, Coment! On, Cupid! on Donner and Blitzen!

To the top of the porch! to the top of the wall!

Now dash away! Dash away! Dash away all!”

 As dry leaves that before rthe wild hurricane fly,

when they meet with an obstacle, mount to the sky.

So up to the house-top the coursers they flew,

With the sleigh full of toys, and St.Nicholas too.

And then, in a twinkling, I heard on the roof

The prancing and pawing of each little hoof.

As I drew in my head, and was turning around,

Down the chimney St. Nicholas came with a bound.

 He was dressed all in fur, from his head to his foot,

and his clothes were all tarnished with ashes and soot.

A bundle of toys he had flung on his back,

and he looked like a peddler, just opening his pack.

 His eyes – how they twinkled! his dimples how merry!

His cheeks were like roses, his nose like a cherry!

His droll little mouth was drawn up like a bow,

and the beard of his chin was as white as the snow.

The stump of a pipe he held tight in his teeth,

and the smoke encircled his head like a wreath.

He had a broad face and a little round belly,

That shook when he laughed, like a bowl full of jelly!

 He was chubby and plump, a right jolly old elf,

and I laughed when I saw him, in spite of myself!

A wink of his eye and a twist of his head,

Soon let me to know I had nothing to dread.

 He spoke not a word, but went straight to his work,

And filled all the stockings; then turned with a jerk.

And laying his finger aside of his nose,

and giving a nod, up the chimney he rose!

 He sprang to his sleigh, to his team gave a whistle,

 And away they all flew like the down of a thistle.

 But I heard him exclaim, ‘ere he drove out of sight,

 “Merry Christmas to all! And to all a good night!”

St. Nicholas lived in the 4th century A.D. in what is now Turkey. He had inherited a lot of money when his parents died and there were 3 daughters in a different family who were very poor and had no dowry so they couldn’t get married. St. Nick decided to drop some gold down the chimney in the middle of the night to give to the oldest daughter. The gold landed in a stocking that had been hung to dry. Each time one of the daughters wanted to get married he would drop gold down the chimney. The father of the daughters wanted to know who this secret giver was. He stayed up late to watch and discovered it was Nicholas. Nicholas begged him not to tell anyone what he had been doing because he didn’t want to draw attention to himself but the secret got out and everyone who received a secret present thought it was from St. Nick!

 Merry Christmas!

-poem by Clement Moore

-photos by Heather

CAST

Narrator…………Katelynne (wearing Molly’s pjs and a build a bear hat)

Ma………………..Ellie-May (wearing Felicity’s shift and Kirsten’s kerchief)

St. Nick………….Lanie (wearing a Bitty Baby Christmas outfit from 2000)

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Night Before Christmas

  1. Jen says:

    Ok, how did you do that?!? My brain was thinking, ” Wait, that really is a doll outside the window!” This post rivals the boating post from this summer.
    Lanie looks great and the sleigh in beautiful. Super post! Merry Christmas

    • jackylina says:

      Hehehee! Yes! I really did go out on my roof and set Lanie, the horse, and the sleigh out on it very late one night! I sort of wanted there to be snow but I was also really glad there wasn’t or I’d have been tracking in messy snow all over my bedroom carpet!
      My sister came up with the idea of doing a doll version of the night before Christmas, and I decided to make it as real as possible by going out on the roof! Everyone made it back in safely. Lanie is so full of outside adventure. She’s thrilled to have been out on the summer and now out on the roof in the winter. I wonder what other outside plans she’ll come up with!

Leave a Reply

