Excitement in the Mail

 “Mail’s here!” announced Katie as she walked into the room, “and along with the mail came another waif looking for a home.”

 “Hey! I’m not a waif, I’m just new here. My name is Caroline Abbott. I came all the way from Sackets Harbor in New York. It took me forever to get here and I’m filthy from the journey.”

“No problem, Caroline! And welcome to our gigantic doll family. We only have one shower but I doubt if anyone is using it. It’s downstairs and to the left.”

 “Thanks!” said Caroline as she left to find it.

“Okay, we have a problem with the mail,” said Katie turning to the girls, “this envelope is addressed to Alexis Christine O’Shay who, according to Henriette, said that no one is allowed to wake her from her beauty sleep until Tatiana comes.”

 “It’s addressed to her?” asked Alison, “it’s probably a message from Tatiana. I say we should wake her up so she can read it.”

“But we don’t even know if it’s actually from Tatiana. It could be something totally different and when we go and wake her up for nothing she’ll get really mad,” said Keisha.

“Can you imagine Alexis being mad? Cause I can’t.”

“Well, I still don’t think that would be right.”

Megan spoke up, “Okay, maybe we should open it and just see who it’s from and if it’s from Tatiana we go wake her up.”

“But Tatiana still isn’t here!” Keisha countered again, “what if it’s bad news about Tatiana? We’ve been waiting for her for months and months. Maybe she’s delayed again and Alexis won’t have to go through that heartbreak is she’s still sleeping.”

“That’s true. What do you think we should do?”

“I think we  should talk to Henriette before we do anything else and see if we can get more information. I still don’t get why Alexis has decided to go to sleep for so long in the first place.

Somebody grab Henriette.”

“Hi.”

“Aww, you look so cute in that Christmas dress, Hattie. We asked you to come here because we got some mail for Alexis and we’re not sure what to do about it since she’s sleeping. What was your exact conversation with her before she fell asleep?” Katie interrogated.

“Um, well we were both getting into our sleeping bags and I asked her what she was more excited about, Christmas or Tatiana’s homecoming. She answered Tatiana and she said she couldn’t stand the excitement of Christmas and Tatiana all at once. She felt like she was going to explode. She had been checking the mail slot more than once a day and planned to set up a tent and sleep outside in front of the mail box until Tatiana arrived.”

 “Oh my goodness! That seems a little extreme doesn’t it?” snorted Rose.

“I don’t know,” Henriette answered, “she’s been waiting for Tatiana to come for so long and when she found out that she had left the factory and had arrived in the US Alex just got so excited with anticipation. And you all know how Alexis can get carried away with exciting events.

Anyway, I told her it would be a bad idea to set up a tent outside in the winter because she’d freeze and that was when she had the idea to go to sleep until Tatiana arrives. She commanded to be woken up the very moment Tatiana enters the house. And then she fell asleep.”

 “Wow,” murmured Heather to Rose, “she sounds pretty desperate for Tatiana. I don’t think we should wake her up.”

“I don’t think so either,” Savannah agreed, “I say we open her mail and read it and if it’s tremendously important, then we wake her up, but otherwise she stays asleep so she can protect her own self.”

Everyone agreed on that sentiment and waited with bated breath as Katie opened the envelope. Inside was a big book, a CD and a Christmas card.

 Megan grabbed the Christmas card and scanned the author, “It’s from Tatiana. I’ll read it out loud:

 Dear Alexis and friends,

I’m sorry it has taken me such a long time to come home to you but I’m sending these gifts because I am in the mail and should arrive any day now! I thought it would be fun for you to get to know me before I even show up! Here is a book about me and an adventure I’ve had with Alexis. I added a fun song too because I love music!

Can’t wait to see you all!

Love from,

Tatiana Oliviera

 Here’s a picture of her in the book! I can’t wait to read it.”

“I guess if she’s going to arrive any day now we shouldn’t wake Alexis up?” Katie wanted confirmation.

“Yeah, we shouldn’t, if we wake her up now and show this to her she really will camp out in front of the mailbox,” Keisha said.

“Or she might even go out to the mail herself to try and find her!”

“All right, I guess we’ll just have to wait.”

Note from Heather (the human): I received those three items when I first ordered Tatiana way back in January.

Tatiana did indeed arrive by ship from the factory in China to the US. She thankfully did not get stuck in customs but she did have to wait a week in a warehouse before a truck drove her to the Via E company in CA. When the truck got to Via E they called Ellen (the creator of Via E, Alexis and Tatiana) and said they were going to turn around because the entrance gate wasn’t working.

“No please don’t” Ellen cried, “these people need to get their Tatiana dolls before Christmas! Just come!”

So the trucker parked outside the gate and he and Ellen carried each Tatiana doll box by box into the Via E building. Ellen was so grateful for the guys help she asked him if he had any little girls at home.

“It’s funny,” he said, “I have two and they look like this doll!”

Ellen gave him a Tatiana doll for his two girls to enjoy.

(this story is true but I paraphrased it, it’s on the Via E facebook page.)

Now, all the pre-ordered Tatiana dolls have shipped. Mine is still in the mail and since I’m just as excited as the dolls I keep checking her tracking update and it’s been saying that she’s stuck in Bell Gardens, CA for the past 3 days! Arrg!

 

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Excitement in the Mail

  1. Jen says:

    Wow, you are very generous with your exciting news, dropping Caroline on us and a soon-to-arrive Tatiana! How are you enjoying Miss Abbott and where did you get her from?
    Remember how much I liked your PC blue windbreaker… I think you had Lindsey in it? I got one on eBay for 4.80 and free shipping too!

    • jackylina says:

      Wow! $4.80 is a GREAT deal! I can’t wait to see the dolls wear it.
      I got Caroline from ebay for $69.00. Her face and limbs are dirty and her hair needs some help but at least it’s not frizzy. I got her accessories from AG when they went on sale. I wasn’t sure if I’d like her because I’ve seen pictures of her where her eyes look creepy but she is such a gorgeous doll in person. My sister and I were debating who is more beautiful, Elizabeth or Caroline. What do you think?

      • Jen says:

        I have an affection for Caroline because I really like Kathleen Ernst who wrote her books. Her mysteries for adults are great… Heritage of darkness is a favorite. Her blog, I think, is http://sitesandstories.wordpress.com
        One Caroline item I would like to have someday is the little embroidered map that Caroline hides in her picnic basket that gives Papa information while he is imprisoned.
        I’m glad you found her and at a nice price too!

      • jackylina says:

        Neat! I’ll have to check those out sometime when I have time to read. I have only read Meet Caroline so far but I plan to read her whole set very soon.

    • jackylina says:

      Jen, have you seen the leaked book cover of Melody Ellison? Oh my goodness is she gorgeous!! If you haven’t seen it check out http://poppetsandposies.blogspot.com/

      • Jen says:

        Yes, I was really excited to see the cover of the book. I know a Caucasian teen who has the same face as the book cover, with the same deep dimples. It’s kind of freaking me out!
        I look forward to seeing how it all translates with the doll. It will be interesting to see what the texture of her hair is like… Addy’s textured hair can be so fragile and I wonder how that will play out with Melody’s hair apparently not braided or in a ponytail. There’s a lot of Addy’s with crazy hair on eBay!
        Tonight we watched “White Christmas” and it was fun to see the dresses Maryellen was swooning over. That movie is also 1954.

      • jackylina says:

        Maybe since it won’t be as long as Addy’s it will be easier to take care of. I’m just really hoping she doesn’t have side bangs or any kind of weird bangs.
        I used to watch White Christmas and It’s a Wonderful Life every year with my family when I was a girl. We kind of stopped doing that. Now we’re all excited about watching Star Wars.

      • Jen says:

        Second the concern about weird bangs!

  2. Geeky_Girl says:

    Cute!! I love Caroline!!

  3. Pingback: Christmas gifts | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

