Christmas Can-Can

My dolls thought about doing a Christmas photo story but then they thought you might like to see something different so they put on a photo-song. One of my favorite music groups is Straight No Chaser, an all men a-Capella group founded by Dan Ponce when he was studying journalism at Indiana University (Dan Ponce went on to become the anchor of the 5am newscast here in Chicago on channel 9, he is the son of Phil Ponce who hosts Chicago Tonight on PBS). The group arranged The Twelve Days of Christmas, (see it on Sunny’s post  here ) put it on youtube and they basically became really famous. They’ve been on live TV on many occasions, they’ve toured and have put out quite a few albums. I love this group so much I own all of their CDs and I’ve been listening to their Christmas albums this month. My favorite song of theirs is not 12 Days of Christmas but another song called the Christmas Can-Can. This song goes sort of fast so you’ll have to have your mouse ready if you want to scroll through the photo illustrations while listening to the music.  I’ve typed up the words just in case you miss some. I strongly recommend  you listen to this song twice (if you have the time), first watch the group singing the song, they’re pretty hilarious. Then listen to it again while scrolling through this post. Here is the link. So, here are my dolls dancing and singing to Straight No Chaser’s Christmas Can-Can:

Christmas Christmas time is here and Christmas songs you love to hear.

Thoughts of joy and hope and cheer, but mostly

 shopping, Shopping, SHOPPING!

 Christmas, Christmas time is here, the sleigh bells and the red-nosed deer

Thoughts and songs we love to hear, all played a thousand times each year.

 Heard this same song twenty times, and it’s only Halloween

It’s not even cold outside!

Christmas Christmas time is here and Christmas songs you love to hear.

Thoughts of joy and hope and cheer, but mostly

  shopping, Shopping, SHOPPING!

 Christmas season, starting sooner every year,

 It’s October, stores with plastic Christmas trees.

Ransack the mall, shop until you lose your mind,

Spike the eggnog,

Sit back and watch Rudolf, Frosty, Tiny Tim and Scrooge, the Grinch, and Charlie Brown.

It’s time!

 It’s time to do the Christmas Can-Can if you can’t, can’t dance

Well, that’s okay,

 I’m going to do the kick line.

 All you need is a tree some lights, about a thousand presents

Wrap them up and pray for snow. “HO!”

 Run to your closet find your Christmas sweater

screaming carols all the way: “Fa la la la la la la!”

 Maine, all the way to California

It’s the Christmas Can-Can, Halloween till Christmas day!

 It’s the most wonderful time of year, we’re running mad with Christmas cheer

Hey, what’s troubling you my friend,

It’s not fair if you’re Jewish, Jewish, (not fair if you’re Jewish, Jewish..)

 Dreydel, dreydel, dreydel, I made it out of clay,

You realize that Christmas ain’t the only holiday.

 Hey, he’s right who made these laws,

 Look wait, here comes Santa Claus, Santa Claus, Santa Claus, Santa Claus,

Santa,  Santa, Santa, Santa, Santa, Santa, Santa, Santa,

Hey, Santa do the Can-Can, help him if you can, can join in the parade,

 “I’m going to go buy some Chinese food”

 All you need is a tree, some lights, about a thousand presents

Wrap them up and pray for snow. “HO!”

 Run to your closet find your Christmas sweater

Screaming carols all the way: “Fa la la la la la la!”

Prance,  all the way to Indiana, it’s the Christmas Can-Can, that’s the end!

 Wait! For our ending we should share this holiday

 Havah Nagila, Happy Hanukah to you!

 A Happy Hanukah to you!  A Happy Hanukah to you!

 A Merry Christmas, Hanukah,

 And also Kwanzaa,

Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah and Mer-ry Kwan-za, too!

HO!

-Heather

I think this might have been better as a slide show, but I am rather computer challenged and don’t know how.

Note: I was always confused about the Jewish guy getting Chinese food when I asked one of my friends who is Jewish about it. She said that it’s a tradition for some Jewish people to get Chinese food on Christmas day. She said she does it every year!

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Christmas Can-Can

  1. Jen says:

    Loved the appearance of “Santa” and the picture with the can can dancer! the song was really fun to hear… It was new to me and out a smile on my face this morning before we hosted Christmas for half of the family.
    I am amazed by your ability to find all those shoes and tights for the fancy dresses.

    • jackylina says:

      Thanks! I hope your party went well! I inherited my grandma’s beautiful oak desk after she died and the drawers are very shallow, so shallow in fact that they are perfect for storing doll shoes! Each drawer is devoted to doll type and season: top drawer is slim doll summer/spring shoes, next, AG summer/spring, next is AG and slim doll winter/ boots and the final drawer is where I keep all the Christmas doll dresses. The tights are all in a separate zip lock bag. Nice and easy to find.

  2. Sunny says:

    Haha, I LOVED this!! 😀 😀 The song is so funny and your pictures are great too. 😉 Thanks so much for linking to my post! 🙂
    *Sunny

Leave a Reply

