Happy Colonial Thankgiving

Colonists during Felicity’s time celebrated Thanksgiving more than once a year! The Continental Congress would issue Thanksgiving Proclamations. The first national Thanksgiving Proclamation was written by Samuel Adams who urged the Colonists to thank God for the many blessings He bestowed upon them, and to pray that God would be merciful and just as they fought the Revolutionary War. He also reminded the Colonists to not only be thankful, but to remember their sins and offer them up to God so that he may “forgive them and blot them out of Remembrance” through the atoning blood of Jesus Christ. If you are interested in reading the draft of Sam Adam’s proclamation go here.

I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Colonial Thankgiving

  1. Wow!! That was quite interesting to read about!! I had no idea that they celebrated like that! Great job on the post!!
    -Samantha

  2. Jen says:

    Gorgeous dishes, silver stein, and cake! Can you tell me more about them? Happy Thanksgiving to you too!

    • jackylina says:

      The blue and white china tea set was a gift from my mom when I was a girl. Felicity’s family did not serve tea for a time so they used the silver chocolate pot (that’s from her birthday set). The turkey came with a doll refrigerator I bought, the carrot cake is actually a candle I picked up at another rummage sale and the rest of the food is from Felicity’s birthday set.

Leave a Reply

