American Girl Paper Dolls

In the posts about my Old American Girl Catalogs I mentioned that I had Sam’s and Molly’s paper doll sets but I couldn’t find them. Well, recently I went to a rummage sale and picked up Kirsten’s paper doll set brand new! I decided to go on a search for my other two sets and I found them in a very dusty box! I hadn’t touched them since I was a kid. I thought I’d take lots of pictures and show them to you since I think they’re kind of a rare thing.

Before I got this set, the only other paper doll set I had was Disney’s Little Mermaid. Ariel, Eric, Flounder and Sebastian were made of very thick cardboard and the punch out outfits were also very thick. When I got the AG sets I was surprised that the dolls were thin cardboard and the outfits were magazine type paper that you had to cut out, not punch out. To this day I’m not so good with scissors, so you will see some rips and bends in the outfits, especially Molly’s.  Since this is magazine paper I had a hard time photographing the outfits without a glare so please excuse some of the bad pics.

Here are Kirsten, Samantha and Molly in their undergarments. Did you know that in the Pleasant Company days  (and a little bit of Mattel) you could buy the undergarments for your dolls? I own Felicity’s and will show it to you sometime before Christmas.

 What is SO wonderful about these sets is that for every paper doll page there is a mini page to cut out and put in a little book:

 The front side of each page is a summary of the character’s story and the back page consists of historical information pertaining to it. These books are too big for the real dolls to  play with but they are still really neat!

 The accessory envelope really can’t hold very much it’s even smaller than the mini books. I think it’s kind of useless.

 Here is what a paper doll page looks like. You can see the mini page to cut out.

 Here are all of Kirsten’s pages.

 This is Samantha’s paper doll collection cut out. I’ll go through each piece in greater detail.

Almost all of the outfits come with items the dolls can hold, for example, Samantha’s purse.

 Here she is holing it.

 This is Molly’s meet outfit. Notice that it comes with two sweaters. I think she wears the plain blue one the most in her books. Too bad the real doll didn’t get one.,

 Here she is in her navy blue outfit.

 And in her meet outfit.

 Not only does the back of the mini book give historical information, but the back of every large outfit/accessory too! Take a look at Kirsten’s:

 Kirsten in her meet dress:

 Here are all the things I’m going to try and make Kirsten hold/wear.

 She looks so pretty holding the flowers.

 All the girls in their meet outfits:

 Kirsten by herself.

Kirsten is wearing a Swedish dirndl she wore on her way to America. When she arrived in MN they told her it was out of style and gave her her blue prairie meet dress. Samantha is in her play outfit. Many girls would wear black stockings to play in but wealthy girls like Samantha wore white. Molly is in her homemade hula costume. She supposedly lined the skirt with newspaper strips to make it look full, but I don’t notice it in the paper doll set or the real doll set.

A little information about Kirsten’s journey:

Here is in example of the information you can discover on the back of their outfits.

Ready for school!

Molly’s really going at it, holding her book, flashcards and backpack. The backpack looks more like a purse to me. I think they should have made it bigger.

Kirsten’s school dress is all one piece.

But you can add things to it like her collar

Or her shawl and book:

Kirsten is wearing her work outfit, Samantha is ready for tea (notice the tea set in front of her), and Molly is set to work in the garden (notice the turnip packet and garden shovel).

Christmas outfits! Samantha can hold her doll, her music box, or her paper snowflake and she comes with her gingerbread house. Molly can hold the Christmas lights, her ballerina, and candy cane all at once. I believe this set also came with her nurse doll but I lost it.

Kirsten’s set came with her trunk and one of the mugs can pop out of the tray. Her St. Lucia wreath was tricky to cut.

Kirsten’s bedtime set: That red and white thing is a blanket.

Every doll’s birthday set comes with a lot of items. Samantha’s has the most:

She can where her pink striped dress and hold her teddy bear.

Or you can put the pinafore over that and she can hold her lace fan and wear her rosebud circlet. She is surrounded by presents, petite fours, and fancy glassware.

The birthday dolls also came with their pets who are made of the same cardboard.

Summer outfits:

Kirsten’s winter outfit takes up two pages!

I’ve always been sad the Molly doesn’t have a real winter coat. (I don’t count her ice skating outfit as a winter coat).

Kirsten’s all ready to go snowshoeing! Her little raccoon friend is waiting to jump out of her arms and cause some mischief with the kerosene lamp!

Molly is the only one who gets a whole extra outfit! Here is her Miss Victory costume.

Back in the 90s every issue of the AG magazine would provide a paper doll version of a real girl. The little books talked about the girls ancestors and the outfits would reflect on that.

Here are three examples:

The back of the dolls talks about the girls themselves.

And just like the historicals, the back of each outfit gave more historical information.

These are their today outfits.

And some of the outfits their ancestors might have worn.

I never wanted to sign up for a paper doll of myself. I thought it would just be too creepy to see myself on illustrated paper!

 That’s the end of my AG paper doll collection. After I uncovered my AG paper doll box, there was another box underneath it the held non AG paper doll stuff that I had forgotten all about! I am currently working on a separate post about that. It will feature Little House on the Prairie, Ann Estelle and fairy tale paper dolls. So stay tuned!

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Old American Girl catalogs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to American Girl Paper Dolls

  1. Geeky_Girl says:

    Awesome!! I have all the orginal dolls not the paper but real. The new ones are not like the old ones. I LOVE the old ones they actual have information!! 🙂 Great Post
    Happy Blogging ❤
    Happy Thanksgiving

  2. Jen says:

    Looking forward to the future posts. I still have all of my ME magazines and never cut the dolls out. Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Neat! I love Molly. She is probably my favorite Doll. I was six when she retired. Lots of tears. Anyways, that was a very large paper Doll collections!! Do you have Molly the real Doll? If so, I would love to see a photo story modeled after one of her books!
    -Samantha

Leave a Reply

