My American Girl (catalog) Collection: Intro

Before I get into this post, I have to tell you about one of my favorite blogs! A Doll’s Picnic has great reviews of dolls and clothing but also really amazing photo stories! The Night Picnic is my favorite story so far and I liked it so much I wanted to share it with you: http://www.adollspicnic.com! Okay, now onto what this post is about:

I talked about how my collection got started in the Samantha’s Wardrobe Collection post. After I received Samantha and Molly, I was very content with them for a long while. Since Samantha and Molly came to our house we continued to get catalogs from AG and I spent a lot of time pouring over them and circling what I dreamed to have or cutting them up to make a scrapbook. I was absolutely shocked that for my birthday, my parents bought me Samantha’s table and chairs! It was a big surprise since I had barely mentioned that I wanted it (even though inside I desperately wanted Samantha and Molly to have tea on something other than a box with them sitting on the floor!)

Then, when I was in 8th grade, I was helping out at my church rummage sale.  I was stacking books on the shelves when I heard someone say “American Girl stuff” at the other end of the gym.  I ran over to the toy section where a woman was taking a ton of American Girl stuff out of a giant garbage bag! My mom also came to see what was going on and why I was so excited.

“Put everything back in that bag,” my mom told the woman, “my daughter is going to buy all that stuff.”

My mom didn’t let me look at what was in the bag! She made me continue to work at the rummage sale! I was dying to find out what was in the black garbage bag. I knew there was a doll in there, I had felt it! It seemed like hours before my time was up and I could finally see what I had bought.

Inside was a modern AG doll #11, many modern clothes, a wheelchair, and parts of the 1999 Cabana set.  I couldn’t believe it. In one day, I had gone from 2 dolls to 3 dolls and a new collection! I named my #11 Miranda Alverez. I felt she had to have a last name since Sam and Molly do! Here’s my Miranda in the original outfit she came in:

IMG_2441[1]

I was again, more than content with my collection, and for years and years I continued to get the catalogs, visit the AG store, but never buy anything. Everything I got from AG, be it the catalogs, magazines, (when my aunt and uncle bought me a subscription) programs, etc, I kept because AG was so special to me. I still have ALL of those catalogs! Just look at this gigantic stack!

 

When I went to college, I pretended to grow out of AG. I barely played with my 3 dolls and they sat in a corner of my room with produce bags on top of their heads so they wouldn’t get dusty! I would dress them up for Christmas and when the seasons changed, but I didn’t play with them the way I used to.  It wasn’t until after college that my mom, kind of out of the blue said, “I just read in the for-sale section of the newspaper that someone is selling a huge collection of American Girl items.  Would you be interested?”

Would I!? I called that person, who lived very close by and went to their house to see this so-called huge collection. When I looked at it, I could not believe my eyes! I felt like I was seeing the entire AG catalog collection from 2000 to 2005! She was selling 5 American Girl dolls, all in almost pristine condition except for  loose limbs, almost the entire collection of Kit and Samantha, a huge assortment of modern clothes, gear, food items, books, and the complete collection of Magic Attic dolls and tons of their clothes! I decided right then, that I had a job making my own money that I could now spend on my hobby. I bought almost everything (for almost nothing) and filled my van completely full (thank goodness it was empty to begin with).

From then on, I decided to go all out with collecting. I got rid of a bunch of non-doll items to make room for my new hobby and I continued to complete more of what I already had. Since I now had so many slim Magic Attic dolls and their clothes I wanted variety in my collection and bought dolls that weren’t AG. Now, I have never looked back, and continue to collect although I plan to slow down since I’m seriously starting to run out of room!

Wow. This is already starting to be a long post and I haven’t even shown a picture of my catalogs yet!

I think, what I’m going to do now, is end this post, and show my catalogs in sections. I tried to take lots of pictures because if I were one of you readers and had never seen these old catalogs before, I’d want to see as many pages as possible.

I guess this will be the intro. Part 1 will come soon!

-Heather

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Old American Girl catalogs, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My American Girl (catalog) Collection: Intro

  1. That is such a cool story!

  2. Very interesting! I had no idea that you accumulated a lot of your AG collection that way. 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    Fantastic story… Glad you are taking us through this journey. Miranda is gorgeous and what a special story.
    I have to tell you about my big regret. About 9 mo ago my aunt said there was an American Girl estate sale somewhere near her in Appleton, WI. She doesn’t know anything about AG and I wondered whether it was just resellers like those that show up at the MCM sale. Oh no, it was really an estate sale and the soma had everything imaginable going back to Pleasant Co, fancy Felicity items, you name it. I didn’t go!!!! Now, the prices were reasonable yet pricey, so it wasn’t as though I could have gotten Felicity’s carriage for 25.00 or anything. Still, I feel some regret.
    I think blogging is a great way to have fun with our collections so we can enjoy them while we are alive.

  4. Pingback: Doll Diaries and AG Playthings | dollightful dolls

  5. Pingback: Old American Girl Clothes Catalogs | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

