Nicki goes to work…again

Hi guys! It’s Nicki here.

I know the last time I was typing it was winter and I was at work shoveling to follow through on my new years resolution of helping out. I haven’t done anything since, and someone noticed that and decided to take that matter into their own hands:

“Brrrring! Brrring!”

Josefina had just entered the office to get her homework done when she heard the phone ring.

She dropped her backpack and reached for it.

“Hello?”

“Yes, hi, my name’s Isabelle and I just received your note in my mailbox. I thought I’d call because I need someone to help me write invitations to a party I’m going to have at my house.”

“My note?” Josefina asked.

“Yes, you’re Nicki right?”

“Oh no, but I can take a message. So, she left a note saying she’d help you out?”

“Yes, if she could come over as soon as possible that would be great. I live on 2344 Rowland Street. I’m so thankful I got her note, and that’s so kind of her to want to help out! Especially to strangers. I’ve been wanting to have a pool party all summer but I’ve been to busy to arrange it and now that I have an assistant willing to work for me, I think this will be a great end of summer party.”

“Okay, I’ll let her know right away! Thanks! Bye.   Nicki! Come here!”

I went over to Josefina.

“I guess your plan worked! You got a job. That’s great you’re doing something about that resolution. I’d thought you’d forgotten all about it.”

“My plan? A job? What are you talking about?” I asked, totally confused.

“Nicki, didn’t you put notes in people’s mailboxes offering to help them out?”

“No, I didn’t. I actually had forgotten about my resolution.”

“Well, it looks like someone did that for you. Anyway, a girl named Isabelle wants you to write out invitations to her big party. She must be inviting a ton of people if she doesn’t want to do it herself.”

This was certainly going to change my plans for the day, and I was kind of mad.

“Who would pretend to be me and put notes in peoples mailboxes? I have to say that’s a good idea but I think that’s kind of mean to not ask me first.”

“Sounds like some doll played a prank on you. I wonder who? It almost sounds like something Jacky would do.”

“Yeah, I want to talk to her. Do you know where she is?”

“Last time I saw her she was at after school study hall.”

I headed out to the study hall with Josefina trailing me, leaving her homework behind because my predicament was way more interesting than homework!

“Jacky did you play a joke on me and put help-out notes in people’s mailboxes without telling me?”

“Ha! No, but that’s a good one! I’ll keep that in mind. Listen to someone make a resolution in January and then in September after they haven’t done anything about it – Bam! – make them pay!”

“Jacky, you’re so mean! But I guess you didn’t do it,” I turned to Josefina, “If it wasn’t Jacky, who did it?”

“Who do we know who likes to play pranks on people when they’re bored?”

“Alison!”

“Right, let’s go find her.”

We found her on the top bunk bed reading a magazine with Megan.

“Alison, I know you put help-out notes in people’s mailboxes! Why didn’t you tell me?”

“How do you know it was me?”

“Because everyone else around here is too nice to play jokes on dolls. It would either be you or Jacky and we already confronted Jacky.”

“Oh, well, if I told you, it would ruin the fun of someone calling you and seeing the surprise on your face. I bet Lindsey would have done something like this too.”

“Well, I think that was mean and you should apologize.”

“Yeah it was kind of a stupid joke to play anyway since I didn’t get to see your face. I am sorry, I know I wouldn’t like it if someone did that to me. If you want I can help you out.”

“Thanks Alison, but I just have to write out invitations. I can manage that myself.”

“Okay, good luck.”

After eating a little snack, I headed out to Isabelle’s house.  It was a big, fancy house with a swimming pool in the back.

“Hi, I’m Nicki.”

“Oh, Nicki! I’m so glad you could come and help me out! I’m just so busy and now that I can get someone to help me out my friends and I will have such a good time next weekend.

Here you are. I have everything all set for you. Just write out invitations for this list of people here and let me know when you’re finished.

I couldn’t believe how many invitations there were! She must be some girl to have this many friends! I wrote for almost two hours. After I had gotten a bit of a writers cramp, I finished and let Isabelle know I was leaving. I headed out the door and went into the office to finish my last bit of homework.

When I walked in, I checked the bulletin board. It was pretty much always empty, but today I was surprised to see a whole bunch of notes tacked to it.

They were all for me! Deliver Groceries. Pick up Dry Cleaning. Needs Dog Walker. Plan Pool Party.Plan a Pool Party! I looked carefully at that note, and sure enough it was the same Isabelle I had written the invitations for! Why hadn’t she just asked me when I was there? Oh, well, I knew from experience (Sprocket) that I couldn’t do all of these things myself. I thought to myself who would do the best job helping me plan a pool party. Working with Alison might be fun, but I knew Keisha had planned the pool portion of Kanani’s Luau party and she was a lifeguard. She would be the best candidate for the job.

“Keisha, I need your help. Would you be willing to plan a pool party for someone? We would be invited to come too.”

“A pool party? That sounds great! We could call it, the Last Gasp of Summer Celebration!”

I was surprised and pretty pleased that Keisha did almost all of the work. She cleaned the pool, scrubbed the deck, set up an eating and hang out area. Isabelle already had the food ready, so when the party finally started, I served the food while Keisha acted as a lifeguard and made sure everyone was having fun. Isabelle sure did have a lot of friends show up to the party.

Ann arrived wearing the most adorable swimsuit and fantastic flower goggles.

Felicity was one of the first to dive into the pool.

McKenna and Addy hung out and sipped lemonade on the deck.

“Hi Chloe,” said McKenna as Chloe walked by wrapped in a towel.  Are you enjoying the party?”

“Oh yeah! It’s great.”

Penny walked over carrying her towel, “Is the water cold?”

“Not exactly, I suppose it is when you first get in, but after a while you get used to it.”

When the party was coming to an end, Isabelle took a picture of Keisha and I and her friends (I’m the one in the pink hat).

“Nicki, I want to thank you and your friend for helping me so much with this party. I hope you had as great of a time as me,”Isabelle spoke sincerely.

“Of course! And my friend, Keisha did a whole lot of the planning too, and I think she had just as much fun planning it as attending it!”

It was a really fun party to plan and attend, but now I’m going to have to figure out how to get all of these other jobs I have to do done.

To be continued…

-Nicki

To see Nicki Goes to Work Part 1 see: https://jackylina2013.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/nicki-goes-to-work-part-1/

Note from Heather:  Guess what!? This was my 100th post! The next post will be my catalog collection from 1992 – 2010. Stay tuned!

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nicki goes to work…again

  1. All your dolls are so fun and nice! Mostly, anyway. 😉 I hope Nicki can do all her jobs! 🙂

  2. Jen says:

    Love it! Is Ann MEs Ann-Estelle? So cute!
    Did you recently get Isabelle or did I not notice her before?
    I liked the picture of Felicity because her abdomen looks very realistic!
    Great story — co I got back to those resolutions. It will be fun to see how,it plays out.
    I really like the way you are using the background scenes. Photos looks great.
    Congrats on 100th post. I would love to see a Behind the Scenes post on how you store and organize the stuff. I just started storing things by doll “Addy” “Julie” “modern” etc. Time will tell if this works.
    Jen

    • jackylina says:

      Yep! That’s ME’s Ann Estelle. I got Isabelle sometime this past summer, so yes, she is rather new. Thanks for complimenting me on my photos! I’m the farthest thing from a photographer so that means a lot! I’ll think about doing a post about storage. I need to make it just a bit neater than what it is right now!

  3. Sunny says:

    Sounds like Nicki is off to a good start!
    Looking forward to the next post! 😀
    *Sunny

  4. Sunny says:

    By the way, congrats on your 100th post! 😀
    *Sunny

Leave a Reply

