My Maryellen adventure and thoughts about her

I had a free afternoon this past Saturday and I decided to go downtown and see Maryellen! I’m trying very hard not to fall in love with her because I have too many dolls already! Thankfully, going there and seeing her in person helped me to not want her. I have to say, she is very cute and is probably my second favorite historical character who is not retired (my favorite being Kit). But the one thing that totally turns me off to her is the little tuft in her bangs.  Looking through the boxes of Maryellens at the store, I saw so many dolls with wild tufted bangs. If I owned her I knew that would annoy me to no end. I have not yet read her books, so I can’t say anything about her personality.

I pretty much love all of her clothing and accessories. Her TV console disappoints me in that you have to own an ipad to utilize the full function of the TV and her couch/bed seems ridiculously overpriced. Other than that, I think she’s really great and I enjoy looking at pictures of her and learning more about her.

I couldn’t bring my camera to take pictures at the store (I also wanted to take my #61 and Nellie to the store and compare them with Maryellen, but couldn’t) because I decided to walk to Lake MI beach and go swimming. The Chicago store is so close to the Oak St Beach, but since I do not like paying to park, especially downtown, I find free parking about 3 miles away and walk! I carried my backpack with my bathing suit and towel, but no valuables because I was by myself.

As you know from the previous post, there is an annual swim across Lake Hamlin event in Ludington, MI.  I’ve really wanted to do this swim but I’ve always been scared. It’s 2 miles long and although I swim at least a mile every day in a pool at a fitness center, I take tiny breaks to take my flippers on and off (to do butterfly) and so to do it without stopping seemed a little bit nerve wracking, plus I have this fear of ultra deep water. A couple of years ago when I was in Ludington again with my family I went by myself to a  tiny lake with an island in the middle that was walk-able to our cabin. There is a sandbar you walk on to get to the island, and after arriving at the island, I decided to swim to the shore on the other side where there is no sandbar. The shore wasn’t that far away and I was sure I could make it. I started swimming, and after a while the water got so deep that I couldn’t see the bottom through my goggles anymore; all I saw was pitch black water. That scared the life out of me and I panicked. If you’ve ever panicked in water where you can’t touch the bottom, I have to tell you it’s a horrible experience. Suddenly I couldn’t breathe and I was thrashing around. I felt like the blackness was going to swallow me and I was going to drown! My brain kept telling me, you know how to swim, you’re not even that tired, stop thrashing but my fear was overpowering.  I did end up making it to the opposite shore and since there was no way to walk around the lake on land, it took ALL my courage to traverse that water again, but at least I knew to expect the blackness this time.  Fast forward to this year and I was scared that during that 2 mile swim across Lake Hamlin I might experience some of that black water and panic again. I did not end up doing it this year, but I’m planning to do it next year.  I really want to overcome that fear.
This past Sunday, I decided to swim at the Oak St beach where you can swim a mile out on Lake MI. I was not at all afraid because there are ladders along the wall that you can climb up if you get too tired and walk on the bike trail to the beach.  There were also even life guards patrolling the wall! I swam one mile to a buoy and then swam the mile back to the beach and I wasn’t even the least bit tired! I didn’t get to overcome my fear, though because the water never got very deep at all. We’ll see what happens when I go to Ludington next year!

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Maryellen adventure and thoughts about her

  1. Jen says:

    You will need to read the book to find out about the bangs. Plot aside, I’m not crazy about her bangs or Grace’s. Our Grace’s bangs have a weird piece that seems like it should go down but it goes up instead. I would much prefer the fuller bang that we saw in some of the early models of Maryellen.
    Enjoyed hearing about your swim… I didn’t know there was a set up to actually swim in Lake Michigan. Up north here we get rip currents in the lake.

    • jackylina says:

      Hm! Okay! I will definitely read her book! I don’t care for Grace’s bangs either, or her lips. They seem to red and shiny which is why I have no desire for her either. That was my first time swimming at that particular beach downtown. It’s very sheltered with a boating dock and harbor in front of the beach. I know that when there are big waves, the life guards do not allow swimming.

  2. Sunny says:

    I loved hearing your opinions on Maryellen! Hopefully I’ll be able to do a post about her collection this week. I got the books out of my library the other day, and so far I absolutely love them. 🙂
    That lake scare sounds so terrifying, but I really believe that you’ll be able to do that swim next year! 🙂
    *Sunny

    • jackylina says:

      I’d love to hear your thoughts about her collection and the books! I hope to read them sometime soon! If you’d like to post comments on the Truly Me additions I’d be interested to hear you thoughts as well.
      Thanks, about the swimming! I’m seriously going to plan on doing it especially since I now know I can swim 2 miles straight!

      • Sunny says:

        I’m so glad! Yeah, I was thinking about doing one post on Maryellen and another on Truly Me. I think the Truly Me post will be better than the Maryellen one because there’s nothing I really dislike in Maryellen’s collection (unlike TM).
        You’re welcome! That is amazing that you’re able to swim 2 miles–I definitely can’t do that! 😀
        *Sunny

Leave a Reply

