Lindsey and Lanie at the lake

From: Lanie <hollandnotthecountry@4natr.net>

Date:  August 5, 2015  3:13P.M.

To: Dakota <dakotanotthestate @4natr.net>

Subject:  Lake adventure

I thought Lindsey’s ideas of going bird watching and dune sledding and hiking were great, and I was just starting to relax and to trust her with an idea for the last photo in the competition when this happened:

It was 6:17 in the morning and I was asleep until…

018

“Lanie! Wake up! My next idea must be put to action!”

“Right now? It’s 6:18am and I’m still tired from dune sledding and hiking.”

019

“No! We have to do it now before Heather gets up.”

Before Heather gets up! I sat up, very suspicious.

“Tell me what you’re going to do, Lindsey, no surprises this time.”

“Look! I’ll just show you!”

Lindsey leaped off the bed.

“Ta da!

021

We are going on the lake!”

My suspicions were confirmed, “Lindsey! Where did you get that!? That’s Alison’s, not yours, and I can’t imagine her lending it to you either.”

“Why wouldn’t she lend it to me?”

“Because she knows exactly what you would do with it and she also knows that she is made of all vinyl and therefore can get wet, whereas you are not!”

“Well, yeah, so, I kind of stole it…”

022

“Lindsey!! You are crazy! Is this some kind of suicide mission so Heather can take you to the hospital so you can come back with longer hair?”

“What?! Oh, I didn’t even think of that. But no, we can stay perfectly safe and do this. Don’t worry, I have a plan!”

023

“A plan,” I responded sarcastically, “that makes me feel so much better!”

I was really scared about doing this, especially without Heather knowing and keeping us safe.  If we got wet, we were going to die.  We both knew that if we told Heather, she would never allow us to do something dangerous like this since she was the one who purchased us. But I was also thinking of the excitement of exploring a world extremely few dolls had ever witnessed. I could be making a true scientific discovery!

“Come on, just help me carry this thing to the beach, and if you don’t want to go, at least I will.”

I started to help her carry it out of the cabin.

024

“Wait! I can’t go like this! At least let me change out of my pajamas!”

After I changed, we ended up taking a long time lugging the big raft down to the beach, but we made it! We had plenty of time, too because Heather sleeps in all the time.

001

“Okay, I’ll get in, and you push me out to the water.”

“Wait, let’s do it on this deck here, I think that will be safer.”

002

We got out to the deck and Lindsey got ready inside the raft.

“One, two, three, go!”

I hoisted her out and into the water she went. I waited with bated breath for her to tip over and sink, but she didn’t.

003

“Wow! This is fun!”

004

At first she didn’t even paddle, she just let the waves glide the boat along.

005

“Okay Lindsey, come back!”

006

“All right, I’m coming.”

Lindsey came up to me and I helped her get out of the boat. My turn next! Since Lindsey had done it without any mishaps I wasn’t afraid anymore.

008

“Wow! This is really cool! I feel like I’m walking on the water, like Jesus, only I’m sitting down.”

010

“Sure, Lanie, you’re in a boat, so you can’t even touch the water.”

012

“I know, but I’ve never been this close to it.”

{Factoid: Lake Hamlin is a huge man-made lake! It was made when people built a dam on the Sable river. It is 5 miles long, and 2 miles wide. Every year there is an annual swim across Lake Hamlin event. Heather plans to swim it next year!}

013

“Don’t go out too far! I think you’d better come back!”

Sigh, but I came back.

016

Lindsey came over to come help me out. Then we carefully made our way back to the cabin with our boat and paddle. What a great trip! Heather seemed to know what we had done because she looked at us with a questionable look on her face and then she would smile. Then I realized, we had forgotten to change back into our bathing suits! Oops!

xoxo

Lanie

[The story behind this story:

It was really me (Heather) who was terrified to bring these dolls out so close to water.  I love water, I swim at a fitness center every day. Going on vacation for me is more like going to bootcamp: I swim in Lake MI as soon as I get up in the morning, then I eat, go hiking with my family (usually for many hours), go swimming again before the sun sets in Lake Hamlin, eat supper and then relax. I love it and I wanted to do something with my dolls and water too. Last year I was brave enough to bring Nellie out to the beach in the sand ( I was scared that sand would get in her joints/eyes/hair but luckily it wasn’t windy), and this year I wanted to do more.

I brought Lindsey along for this reason because I am planning to send her to the doll hospital some day so she can have her original hairstyle back (I got her from a neighbor who had already cut her hair) and I figured if Lindsey gets wet, then I’ll just be bringing her to the hospital sooner than I planned and Lanie would not be allowed to even come close to the lake. I waited for days and days to bring them out because every day we were there, the water was really choppy. Finally, after my normal swim, I called my mom to bring them out to me and I was so surprised at how well it worked! The water looks really calm, but the current kept carrying the raft along at a pretty swift speed. It was hard to get a clear picture! I was glad I was in my bathing suit and could grab them at any moment. I can’t tell you how much fun I had taking their pictures! And as I was walking back with them to our cabin I heard two voices from another cabin: “She has an American Girl doll!!!” I went up to two little girls who had bought AG dolls that really looked just like them and I showed them my Lanie and Lindsey whom they had never heard of. We had a fun time talking. One of the girls was terribly upset to find out Caroline was retiring. I hope she persuaded her mom to get her before she disappeared.

-Heather]

 

 

 

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Doll's travel stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lindsey and Lanie at the lake

  1. Jen says:

    I loved this post and I think my jaw dropped several times! The picture of Lanie where you can see the beach waaaaay behind her was … Scary! I liked the storyline about them sneaking out in the morning and that you have been outed as a late sleeper!
    Between Michigan and Hawaii it seems like you’ve had a good summer.

Leave a Reply

