Lanie and Lindsey let a fawn loose

From: Lanie <hollandnotthecountry@4natr.net>

Date:  August 6, 2015  7:37P.M.

To: Dakota <dakotanotthestate @4natr.net>

Subject: saving a fawn

Lindsey, Lulu, and I were hiking today when we heard some rustling noises.

IMG_4083

“Do you hear that? It’s kind of loud, maybe we should check it out,” Lindsey pointed to where the noise was coming from.

I know that there are bears around in Michigan. I had never seen one, but just in case, I grabbed Lulu and we left our trail and crept as quietly as we could toward the rustling.

“OooH, Look!”

IMG_4084

I let Lulu down and watched a baby fawn shaking her head back and forth because she had gotten her nose stuck in a plastic bag.

“This is what makes me SO MAD when people just litter in the forest. Especially plastic bags! They can kill animals. I heard of a bird who got his beak stuck in a plastic bag and couldn’t open his mouth and he died of starvation. I HATE that! It makes me so Utterly Furious!!”

“Lanie! Calm down! You’re scaring the poor baby!”

Oops! I was scaring it. It was trying to back up to get away from my noisy tantrum. I was not acting like a good scientist.

“Okay, I’m going to try and take the bag off of the fawn,” I said.

I walked slowly and quietly toward the baby and reached to take the bag off. It was wedged pretty tightly on its face.

IMG_4085

“Lanie don’t touch the fawn!”

IMG_4090

“I heard that if a mother scents the smell of something else on her baby, she might abandon it. I don’t know if it pertains to deer, but you’d better keep your hands off just in case.”

“Yeah, you’re right.”

“Hey, this really worked out; I was just thinking about the next round in the photo competition which is called, free. I think we just accomplished it! We freed the baby fawn, and I got some really sweet pictures of you doing it.”

“So that’s what that clicking was! I didn’t even know you brought your camera! That’s great!”

“Yes, well, let’s go so the mom won’t be scared of us and abandon her baby.”

I wish we could have stayed. I wanted to make sure the fawn’s mom would come back, but I knew Lindsey was right. We hiked for a little while more, and then headed home.

{Factoid:  Deer will leave their fawns for hours to search for food. The baby will stay in the spot the mother left it until the mother comes back. Mothers and fawns do have very strong bonds and if a human touches a fawn, the mother will not abandon it, but it is STRONGLY discouraged for humans to touch fawns unless they are in great danger!}

xoxo

Lanie

[Note from Heather: I just checked that http://www.dolldiaries.com is giving away Maryellen, the doll! Go check it out!

The final (and craziest) round of this competition will be posted next week! Stay tuned!]

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Doll's travel stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lanie and Lindsey let a fawn loose

  1. Jen says:

    Thanks for the link to the giveaway! Maryellen does have beautiful hair.
    I really like the picture of the surprised looking fawn when the bag is removed. Lindsey’s windbreaker is terrific. What a versatile piece.

  2. Pingback: A Boxing Day Ramble | The Dolls Between Us

Leave a Reply

