The Lost Legend of Lost Lake

From: Lanie <hollandnotthecountry@4natr.net>

Date:  August 3, 2015  5:00P.M.

To: Dakota <dakotanotthestate @4natr.net>

Subject: Losing a legend and finding a lost lake

Lindsey is one of the funniest and weirdest people I know. When she said get your boots on because we’re going dune hiking for the next photo shoot for the contest (see previous post), I’m thinking hiking boots. But no, she meant snow boots! She even made me wear mittens and tried to get me to wear earmuffs but I said no to that! I’m surprised she didn’t try to stuff me into a winter coat. When I asked her why she wanted me dressed in such odd gear (I was still wearing shorts and a t-shirt, although she did hand me a hiking vest to put on) she replied, “Just you wait!” and hummed a tune so I couldn’t ask her any more questions.

Heather and Lindsey took me to a trail called the Lost Lake trail in the state park.

005

“Why is it called Lost Lake?” I asked.

Lindsey’s imagination turned on, “Maybe there was a legend about a lake that got lost in some mysterious mist, or maybe a great sea monster drank it whole, or maybe…”

“Or maybe it’s still here and we have to find it!” I interrupted excited to become a real explorer and maybe even discover a lake that had never been discovered before.

So off we went in search of the missing lake. If you are picturing us hiking through the woods and all we see are trees and woods and forest with no water (because the lake is lost) you are going to have to erase that thought, because the reason it is so hard to find Lost Lake is that there were so many little lakes on our trail, we had no idea which one was the lost one!

“Oooh! Look! A Lost Lake!” I cried posing in front of it.

004

“No Lanie, I think this one is it!” Lindsey ran down the trail and climbed a tree so Heather could take a photo of her in front of another lake.

006

We hiked down the trail some more and leaned up against some really tall trees wondering if the lake behind us was the lake that was lost.

007

“Girls come here! Here’s something cool you’ll like!” Heather called.

We ran down the trail again and came to a giant teepee.

011

“Ooo, too bad Kaya wasn’t here, she would love this.”

010

We saw some more really neat things on the trail. We discovered a giant tree that had fallen and all of its roots were exposed.

001

There were little holes for us to poke our faces through.

002

Peek a Boo. Find Lindsey and Lanie in the pic below!

003

We even saw some wild animals! We saw a mother deer and baby who ran away, and a wild turkey!

{Factoid: The turkey is one of the largest birds in North America. Turkeys can fly up to 55mph!}

012

We hiked over a bridge of yet another lake:

009

And by this time Lindsey was getting tired. Her body is 14 years old and her joints are really loose! She took a 2 minute nap in front of another lost lake.

008

Finally we finished the trail.

“I guess we will never find out  which lake is the lost one! Maybe they’re all lost or maybe they’re all found! I guess we’ll never know!” I concluded.

“Well, I’m going to become an author some day and write a story called the Legend of Lost Lake. It’s going to be a scary ghost story!”

“Okay, Lindsey, you can tell it to us around the camp fire.”

We made our way to Lake Michigan and the sand dunes and Lindsey finally showed me why I had been wearing snow boots and mittens for hours and hours.

“You are going to go sledding in the summer…on a sand dune and Heather will take pictures of you!!” Lindsey proceeded to blow up the snow tube while I grabbed the earmuffs and away I went.

015

Wheeee!

016

It was really fun!

{Factoid: Dunes are made by sand blowing by wind or water and piling up against something. Originally, the sand dunes of Michigan were made by melting glaciers}

017

I arrived at the bottom of the dune in front of Lake Michigan where a pretty sunset awaited us:

018

019

020

I guess we’ll see what kind of adventure Lindsey has in store for the next two rounds of the photo competition!

xox

Lanie

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Doll's travel stories. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Lost Legend of Lost Lake

  1. Jen says:

    Enjoyed the email format, and it took me a while to find the girls in the fallen tree. That is a super fun photo!!
    Glad you all are enjoying these summer days!

    • jackylina says:

      I tried to make it as similar to Lanie’s books as possible with the factoids and emails to Dakota. If you haven’t read the 2 Lanie books go check them out of the library now! They’re my favorite GOTY books so far!

      • Jen says:

        I will! I know we have at least the first book here. I read Jess for the first time this month and I was impressed! I appreciated the way Jess had to confront her own cultural assumptions and accept the ways of people in a different culture.

      • jackylina says:

        I don’t think I’ve ever completely disliked a GOTY book. I haven’t read all of them, but the ones I have, I’ve really liked. Have you read Chrissa’s book? That’s a really good one too.

      • Jen says:

        I haven’t read Chrissa, only seen the movie which I thought was painful and truthful. After reading Jess I went to Mary Casanova’s website and have the utmost respect for her. Comes from a family of 10!!! Lives so far north in Minnesota it’s practically Canada.

  2. Sunny says:

    I’m actually rereading the Chrissa books right now! 😀 They’re definitely some of my favorites. I also absolutely loved Nicki and Marisol’s books.
    And sledding in the sand? Wow….that Lindsey sure is creative! (And so are you. 😉 )
    *Sunny

    • jackylina says:

      Thanks so much! You’re so sweet! And Yes! I almost forgot about Nicki. I love her books too! Marisol’s were good too, although they didn’t grab me. Probably because I don’t relate to her as much (I don’t dance, and I’ve never moved away!).

      • Sunny says:

        Aw, you’re welcome! 😀 I know, Nicki’s books are my favorite GOTY books.
        It’s funny, I don’t dance and I’ve never moved away either, but what I liked about her book was that it talked about other things besides dance-like Marisol’s family, school, etc. She seemed more like a normal kid to me than Isabelle did.
        *Sunny

      • jackylina says:

        That’s very true!

Leave a Reply

