Perfect day in Ludington

Lanie is still writing her post so I thought I’d share some of what I’ve been doing! I’m here in Ludington, MI with Lanie, Lindsey, and my mom and dad. We’ve been going here as a family since I was 2 every year and have never missed!

We had a very thrilling and exciting first day here! We decided to go on a short hike in the beautiful state park.  Just as we were starting the hike we noticed a big shelf cloud coming our way.

156

The trail we took takes us from Lake Hamlin to Lake Michigan and as we walked through the forest, it got more and more windy and darker and darker. Here’s my mom and I showing you how dark the trail was  under the trees and it was the middle of the afternoon!

158

When we reached Lake Michigan the great cloud was approaching us swiftly.

160

We had to walk along the shore to reach the beach house, about a half mile away. One side of the sky was bright:

161

and the other side was getting darker and darker.

162

My mom got scared and started running. At first I ran too, but I kept stepping on pokey sticks in my bare feet (my feet are such soft wimps since I wear shoes all the time) and I wanted to take more pics, so I slowed to a walk. My camera zoomed into the storm clouds:

166

165

164

167

I just reached sight of the beach house when the shelf cloud came right over my head.

169

The wind was strong but not nearly as strong as being up on that mountain in Hawaii.

174

175

178

The water got so dark, it almost looked black but it still hadn’t rained yet!

182

I could feel the wind getting stronger and started running for the beach house. The wind carried a rain spray with it, and just as I entered the shelter it began to rain.

185

Then it began to pour.

188

The red flag means no swimming, but we saw a sailboat out in the water during the entire storm as close to shore as it could get in case it pitched over and they had to swim. During the downpour we couldn’t see it at all, but we did notice a Coast Guard boat go up to them to make sure they were okay.

The storm lasted an hour, and then the most beautiful sunset appeared! I won’t even describe it, I’ll just show you the pictures:

190

195

196

Have you ever seen clouds like these before?

197

All I can say is, “Wow! Look at God’s powerful and amazing creation!’

-Heather

201

P.S. We actually had yet another sky show after that because around 11pm my mom and I decided to go to Wal Mart and we stopped to look at the beach and the sky. There was the most incredible lightening show out over the lake! The lightening was orange! I wish I would have brought my camera to show you because it was like orange spotlights constantly lighting up the sky.

 

 

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Perfect day in Ludington

  1. Wow! Those are awesome pictures! I especially like the sunset pictures. 🙂

  2. jackylina says:

    Thanks! It was really amazing to be there in real life!

  3. Jen says:

    I think I was in this same storm! Was this Sunday? We were on the WI side of the lake and we had HAIL that looked like olives bouncing off the roof in mad directions. I have never been to that part of Michigan but we love the UP and Lake Superior.

    • jackylina says:

      Yes it was a Sunday! I bet you anything it was the same storm! We had hail too, but it didn’t last long, and wasn’t very big. It was really exciting though!

Leave a Reply

