Addy at the Plantation

Hi y’all, I’m Addy.

IMG_3836

Me ‘n Heather travelled to Williamsburg, Virginia this week.  Heather asked me to go because Felicity went last year, (https://jackylina2013.wordpress.com/2014/07/27/felicity-in-Williamsburg/) and talked about her life there, and this year she wanted me to tell y’all about being a slave and livin’ on a plantation. I’m glad I ain’t going to Master’s Steven’s plantation down in South Carolina. It’s bad enough going to one anywhere.

IMG_3861

This is about the size of our tiny little cabin Poppa, Momma, Sam, Esther, and me all lived in. It didn’t really matter how big it was ’cause we pretty much only used it to sleep in.

IMG_3864

I would sleep on the scratchy cornhusk mattress with baby Esther breathin’ down my neck, makin’ me even more hot. But I was glad she was there, and I was glad she was sleeping next to me. Then before I had even closed my eyes I felt I was being woken up by the roosters to start the next morning.

IMG_3866

I would get up and go over to Auntie Lula and help her husk the corn.

IMG_3857   IMG_3858

Then, I would start my loooong day in the tobacco fields.

IMG_3869

My job was to de-worm the plants.

IMG_3870

Yep, these are real tobacco plants. I’d recognize them anywhere.

IMG_3872

It didn’t matter how I killed them, under my feet or squished in my hand, I had to kill them dead.

IMG_3871

I remember that awful time after Master Steven’s had sold Poppa and Sam, and my heart was so heavy I couldn’t concentrate on what I was doing. The overseer got mad at me and forced me to eat the worms I missed. It was worse than disgusting!

IMG_3875

After worming my rows, I would have to lug water to the field workers. I was hopeful doing this chore, because it meant I might get to see Sam.  I would take the cover off from the well, and scoop my bucket full and carry it over, tryin’ not to spill too much.

IMG_3876

But these buckets sure were big and heavy!

When the bucket was empty, I’d go back to Auntie Lula in the kitchen.

IMG_3862

The kitchen was hot, and the smells made my stomach rumble in hunger. But once in a while, Auntie Lula would give me some scraps to eat while I took the food to the house to serve.

On some nights after a real long day, my back would hurt from being bent over and I would be so tired I’d just fall in bed without even taking my clothes off.

IMG_3877

After Poppa and Sam got sold, me and Momma decided to run away from the plantation.  We disguised ourselves as a man and a boy, ran through the forest at night and slept in little caves during the daytime.

IMG_3848

Sometimes the caves we slept in were just hollowed out tree trunks.

IMG_3849

We ran in the moonlight but it was still real dark under the trees, until we came to a raging river.

IMG_3845

We had to go across it, but Momma couldn’t swim!

IMG_3847

We set out to cross the river. Little stones made the footing slippery and then a sudden surge in the water separated Momma from me and I couldn’t see her anymore! I couldn’t see anything in the dark water, and I was starting to panic as branches from the trees groped at me. Suddenly, my feet kicked something soft and I realized it was Momma! I pulled her out to safety.

IMG_3846

We made it!

As we walked some more, I could see 2 silver lines snaking a trail through the woods.

IMG_3885

The railroad! This meant we were really close to the safe house.

IMG_3886

We walked a little bit on the tracks, I even got to see a train! And then around the bend was the white house with red shutters.

IMG_3882

We knocked on the door.

IMG_3883

And Miss Caroline took us in.

We ate a little supper and then I got to sleep in a real rope bed! I couldn’t believe how soft it was.

IMG_3921[1]

I wanted to enjoy it all night but pretty much as soon as my head hit the pillow, I was dead asleep.

The next mornin’ Miss Caroline got some clothes for me. I got to wear this beautiful pink dress with pantaloons! Momma was so proud and I didn’t feel like a slave no more!

IMG_3919[1]

We hid in the wagon and Miss Caroline took us to board a ship to Philadelphia to start our new life.

We was going to freedom!

-Addy

Here are some pics and adventures that didn’t make the post:

We drove to VA in a car, and I couldn’t believe it, but I got a frosty from Wendy’s that was my size! (I ordered an extra large).

IMG_3835

One of the gas stations we stopped at had train tracks, and Heather was worried I wouldn’t get a pic on train tracks in Williamsburg so she made me stand here just in case:

IMG_3837

IMG_3841

IMG_3840

On the plantation in Williamsburg, we saw a little lean-to that was just my size:

IMG_3874

When I didn’t go outside, Heather would dress me in all my dresses and I got to show off for her aunt and grandma! Here’s my fashion show shoot:

Addy in her Beforever meet:

IMG_3842

Addy in her Pleasant Company meet:

IMG_3919[1]

Beforever school outfit:

IMG_3915[1]

Pleasant Company School outfit:

IMG_3923[1]

Pleasant Company Addy Saves the Day dress she wore at the fair:

IMG_3928[1]

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Doll's travel stories, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Addy at the Plantation

  1. Sunny says:

    Sounds like you had a fun time in Williamsburg, Addy! 🙂 It was really interesting learning about how your life in slavery had been.
    *Sunny

  2. Jen says:

    You know Addy is my #1 girl so I really enjoyed seeing pictures of how her world might have looked. I know they get big storms in the south so I can only imagine how little protection these shacks provided. Historical fiction lovers might also enjoy the book Sugar by Jewell Parker Rhodes. Sugar takes place post slavery, but life is barely free and then Chinese laborers arrive.
    Great fashion show… Does anyone else in your family enjoy dolls?

Leave a Reply

