Happy 4th of July…4 Days Late!

IMG_3824[1]

Hello! It’s me, Suki, typing because I am in charge of all the music concerts and festivals that go on around here. This year, for the 4th of July, we decided to have a Battle of the Bands, Lollapaloosa style, instead of a parade. There were two big bands and two little bands who all competed.

The first band was the Glitter Stars.

IMG_3807[1]

This band featured Miranda on the keyboard.

IMG_3812[1]

Felicity with her glitter guitar, and Emily on her homemade drum set.

IMG_3810[1]

Isabelle was the star of the show as the vocalist. She sang with a clear, confident voice, but her dance moves topped the music.

IMG_3809[1]

The second big band was the Stars and Sparkles band. They really got into the 4th of July spirit performing their own renditions and arrangements of patriotic tunes.

IMG_3806[1]

Ellie-May played violin.

IMG_3803[1]

Kit played flute.

IMG_3804[1]

Jacky really took it away on her new drum set.

IMG_3801[1]

Amy played guitar and sang.

IMG_3800[1]

Maggie would sing along with Amy.

IMG_3805[1]

My favorite tune of theirs was “I’m Proud to be an American.”

While the bands performed, the dolls would listen and wander by the food stand which was right in the middle of the bandstand.

IMG_3795[1]

Kanani did not take a break from returning from Hawaii and got busy helping Mary Grace grill burgers and hot dogs.

IMG_3797[1]

Saige and Julia got plenty of food and enjoyed the music while they ate.

IMG_3798[1]

Past the big stages, the two little acts were performing. Nicki and Alison sang a duet while Alison accompanied on the Spanish guitar.

IMG_3813[1]

Sara and Kathy danced to Rose’s western tunes. All three of them would dance to the more flamboyant tunes, and Rose would pick up her violin for the slower pieces.

IMG_3814[1]

Those who got tired of listening to music could walk over to Megan’s stand and watch her perform magic tricks.

IMG_3815[1]

The historicals all gathered in their period Independence day outfits and listened to the bands.

IMG_3816[1]

“And the winner of the Battle of the Bands is…

IMG_3825[1]

The Stars and Sparkles!”

IMG_3818[1]

Their patriotic fans all cheered as the Stars and Sparkles performed one last piece in  celebration.

I hope you all had a great 4th of July!

-Suki

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy 4th of July…4 Days Late!

  1. I loved the bands!

  2. CutePolarBear says:

    I had lots of fun on the 4th of July! Part of the fun was that I harvested honey from my beehive. 🙂 I like the name Ellie-May- I suppose you got it from the Beverly Hillbillies? 🙂

    CutePolarBear

    • jackylina says:

      It had been a long time since I saw the Beverly Hillbillies and I had forgotten about her name. I actually have a student who’s name is Ellie-Jean. I didn’t want to copy that so I changed it to Ellie-May, and I kept thinking, “why do I recognize that name… and sure enough it was from that show! Yes, Ellie-May is a custom tlc doll I got for almost nothing on ebay. That’s so cool that you have a beehive. Maybe you should get your dolls involved so we can see some harvesting! 🙂

  3. That was very cute!! I loved the bands! 😀 Great idea your dolls names are great Jackie I love it!!
    😀 Happy 4th of July

  4. Jen says:

    Wow, a Tour de Force! As usual I appreciate all your work to get these girls ready. Amy has a terrific dress and reminds me of Amy Grant. Love the white denim overalls… Very much puts me in the mindset of the Patridge Family.
    The historicals photo was very interesting with outfits you don’t see very often.
    Saige’s hair is gorgeous! Ours is so frizzy 😟

  5. Sunny says:

    Your girls are all so talented! 😀 I can see they had a great Fourth of July. I did too! 😀
    *Sunny

Leave a comment