Music in Honolulu

Aloha!

Today we got to go to Honolulu and see the Hawaii Symphony perform the first ever ukulele concerto! I was so surprised when I heard about it. How could a tiny ukulele stand out and be heard over a full orchestra?! I had to go see to find out.

When we got there I had to take a picture of all the beautiful palm trees up against the sky.

IMG_3308

Aaah! Hawaii!

We had gotten to the concert a little early which was a really good thing because in front of the Hall, some Suzuki violinists were performing:

IMG_3311

Suki would have loved to hear this mini concert since she’s been working on the Suzuki pieces to live up to her name.

 

IMG_3312

All of the players had great posture and played really well.

We went in to hear the ukulele concerto which, in my opinion was not very great. It was really modern and not very memorable. What was memorable, and well worth my ticket was the encores the uke player, Jake Shimabukuro performed. The first piece was one he wrote himself for violin and uke.  It made me want to cry. I found it on you tube:

When we walked out of the concert hall we saw a beautiful rainbow:

IMG_3314

We walked all along Waikiki beach.

IMG_3324

Heather pretended to be a surfer dude. Shaka!!

Then we saw a humuhumunukunukuapua’a:

IMG_3332

I dare you to say that 3 times! It’s Hawaii’s state fish.

IMG_3340

Diamond Head is a very popular mountain hike in Oahu that we did late in the day so part of the mountain was shady and not horribly hot. There’s my friend, Abby getting ready to climb the mountain.

IMG_3342

Here’s Heather at the first look-out point. We’re already up pretty high.

IMG_3347

We climbed up these steep and never ending stairs (actually it really wasn’t that bad, it just looked scary.)

IMG_3346

We walked through a cool, dark tunnel.

IMG_3348

And we reached the summit! See the little white thing? It’s a lighthouse. It was actually only a 45 min hike up. Here are some more views:

IMG_3350

IMG_3349

IMG_3361

IMG_3375

IMG_3358

If you excuse the guy who photo bombed my pic, you can see the city of Honolulu.

IMG_3362

I tried to get a pic looking straight down.

IMG_3365

My hiking friends and I!

IMG_3377

A long, long time ago this part used to be an active volcano! You can kind of see the crater of it here.

At the end of our jam-packed day, we went swimming at Waikiki. (our bare feet got cut up by all the reefs, I forgot there’s not really any sand and didn’t bring water shoes. Ouch!) After swimming we saw a gorgeous sunset:

IMG_3381

IMG_3385

We stayed at the beach for a long time because our feet hurt too much to walk home. That actually turned out to be a good thing because I got a great twilight picture with the palm trees.

IMG_3398

IMG_3399

Sometime soon I’ll post about our trip to the Polynesian Cultural Center.

-Kanani

 

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Doll's travel stories, Kanani in Hawaii. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music in Honolulu

  1. That’s so cool and it looks like you had some pretty neat adventures! Also, can you follow my blog?

  2. Lydia says:

    So awesome! 😀
    When I was little and still watched “Octonauts”, I said humuhumunukunukuapua’a so many times now I can say it really fast with no problems! 😛

    ~Lydia~ ❤

Leave a Reply

