Kanani gets ready for Hawaii

Hi, It’s me, Kanani. I’m going to be taking over the blog for a while to tell you all about my Hawaiian adventure. I’m not sure how much I’ll post once I get there but I’ll try as much as I can and take lots of pictures.

I’m normally not a procrastinator. I’m usually really organized and good with time management, but the days just seemed to creep up on me until I suddenly realized that I was leaving for Hawaii tomorrow morning and I hadn’t even packed yet!

I made a quick list and laid out everything I was going to bring on the bed. I was just getting my suitcase out when Lanie came in.

IMG_3231[1]

“Hey Kanani! Whoa, you’re packing now? It’s so late and you have to leave really early in the morning!”

“I know,” I sighed, “I don’t know what I was thinking and now I”m so tired I can barely think straight.”

“I’ll try and help if you want.”

IMG_3232[1]

“Thanks, Lanie.

Let’s see: shoes first, snorkel gear, hiking outfits, muumuus, and leis. I think that’s about everything.”

IMG_3233[1]

“Don’t forget fun games to play on the plane! Here’s bitty boggle and cards. Kanani, do you want to wear this outfit tomorrow when you go?”

“Isn’t that your nature outfit?”

“Yeah, but I think you should wear it. I’m going to miss you and it will make me feel good knowing you have something to remember me by.”

“Aww Lanie, you’re a cutie pie! I’m gonna miss you too, but I’m only going to be gone for two and a half weeks.”

“Done!” I yawned, “I’m so tired I think I’m just going to crash.”

“Okay, Good night, Kanani.”

“G’night.”

I had enough energy to change into pjs but I didn’t have enough energy to put my hair in a braid like I usually do. I just slammed down in bed, buried my face in the pillow and fell asleep.

IMG_3234[1]

In no time at all I felt a soft voice say, “Kanani! You forgot to set your alarm! You have to hurry if you’re going to make it to the airport.”

IMG_3238[1]

Airport? What airport? I rolled over and looked at my suitcase and surf board. Oh, I’m going to Hawaii today! I jumped out of bed and ran to the bathroom. I tried to wash my retainer and brush my teeth at the same time.

IMG_3241[1]

Then I jumped into the tub.

IMG_3242[1]

Aaah! Baths are so nice. It’s almost like time stops and it’s just you, and the bubbles and the cozy warm water….

IMG_3243[1]

“Kanani, are you out of the shower yet??”

IMG_3244[1]

“Nearly!” I cried hurrying with my last rinse.

IMG_3245[1]

I wrapped myself in the towel and put on Lanie’s outfit.

IMG_3240[1]

Okay, what to do with my hair…I quickly twirled it in rope braids and then grabbed my suitcase and got ready to say good bye.

IMG_3252

“Good bye Kanani, I’m really going to miss you.”

“Don’t worry Lanie, I’ll be back before you know it and later it will be your turn to take a trip.”

Off I went to the airport. Everything went really smoothly on the first plane ride. When the plane stopped in LA for a layover I couldn’t help singing:

I hopped off the plane at L.A.X. with a dream and my cardigan
Welcome to the land of fame, excess, am I gonna fit in?

Jumped in the cab, here I am for the first time
Look to my right, and I see the Hollywood sign

This is all so crazy, everybody seems so famous
My tummy’s turnin’ and I’m feelin’ kinda homesick
Too much pressure and I’m nervous
That’s when the taxi man turned on the radio

And the Jay-Z song was on
IMG_3256

I bought some tacos at the airport and got camped out to sit for 2 hours.

I sat and watched some of the planes come in.

IMG_3254

And then the announcement came:

FLIGHT 271 TO HONOLULU HAS BEEN DELAYED TO 10:15.

10: 15! That’s like, 5 hours! It took a while for my mind to contemplate that, go into shock, and then freak out. Yeah, I was going on vacation and didn’t have any time commitment, but I really didn’t want to waste my life, not to mention my vacation time sitting in an airport.

IMG_3260

But I waited anyway.

IMG_3261

I watched the planes go by…

IMG_3262

Hey! take me to Honolulu!

IMG_3265

I waited.

IMG_3264

and waited

IMG_3268

and waited

IMG_3269

and waited

IMG_3263

AND WAITED

IMG_3270

I waited while the sun went down. And even after that I waited some more.

IMG_3272

And then I sat up because there was another announcement:  FLIGHT 271 TO HONOLULU HAS BEEN DELAYED AGAIN TO 12:15.

IMG_3271

Noooo! Pleeeease!

IMG_3267

 

I went to the gate and banged on the desk for anyone to take me to Hawaii but there was no one.

IMG_3273

So of course, I ended up waiting and waiting again.

Finally, after all that time 12:15 came around I boarded the plane.

IMG_3266

At 3:30 AM I got off the plane and set foot on Hawaiian ground.

IMG_3275

It was really hot and humid there so I finally took off my jacket. Here I am at the house I’m staying at. It’s a nice house and it even has two pet roosters and one cat! I already named on of the roosters Jinx.

Tomorrow I”m going to the SWAP meet which is an open market where you can buy stuff that’s normally really expensive on Waikiki, but at the market it’s much cheaper.

IMG_3276

See you soon!

Aloha,

Kanani

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Kanani in Hawaii. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Kanani gets ready for Hawaii

  1. Wonderful! I swear Kanani even started to look tired at the end of the pictures!

    • jackylina says:

      Hee Hee! Yeah, she should be! Because even when she was on the plane she was smushed in a pink basket underneath the seat! Her hat was on so her hair didn’t get wrecked but she was not happy about that!

  2. Sunny says:

    Kanani, I hope you have a great trip! Too bad about all the waiting…but at least it made for an interesting blog post! 🙂
    *Sunny

  3. Morgan P says:

    Wait, so you’re in Hawaii?

    -Morgan

  4. Evii says:

    LOL! I was laughing so hard at all the ‘waiting’ poses! And then the help desk!! I’m sure it made the final arrival all the more sweet. 🙂 Aloha!!

    • jackylina says:

      Yeah! Abby and I had nothing to do and we had so much fun posing her!

    • hjh says:

      hahahaahaah! Yep. I agree totally with Evie! I was also laughing at the shower scene and procrastination scene and alarm clock scene. Are you trying to turn Kanini into me? 😛 and I can’t see the Hollywood sign in the picture. sorry it took me forever to finally read your post.

      • hjh says:

        p.s. it’s me Hillary

      • jackylina says:

        Hee Hee. Yeah I thought about that, but Kanani (not Kanini (ha ha)) is her own self. The Hollywood sign is part of the song she sings, not part of the picture. I didn’t get out of LAX to see anything.

Leave a Reply

