Meet my mini me

What American girl doll looks the most like you? For me, if you wanted to be exact, it would have to be a custom: light skinned classic mold with straight blond hair a little past the shoulders with bangs, hazel eyes with gold rimmed glasses. Lanie is the closest to being my mini me. I’ve been looking on ebay for a Lanie doll but since I have so many dolls, I really didn’t want to spend over $70 on her, and most of the Lanies are $100 or more. But I finally found a very tlc Lanie for $45.

IMG_3152[1]

Poor, beat up Lanie (I received her nude). It’s almost hard to recognize her as a Lanie since her hair is not only straight, but big chunks of it have been pulled out!

IMG_3150[1]

You can see the big bald spot on the side of her head.

IMG_3149[1]

Her limbs were surprisingly tight, but she had a lot of marker stains on her vinyl which was also filthy. I decided that she was beyond hopeΒ  and sent her to the doll hospital. I sent her in late April and I was told the hospital was very busy and rather behind and I may not see my new Lanie for a month, and they were right. I finally got her two days ago:

IMG_3226[1]

Here’s Lanie right out of the hospital box. I was so thrilled to see her dragonfly headband!

IMG_3227[1]

Lanie awakens from a long time in the hospital, still with her hair net on.

IMG_3228[1]

Here she is with the hair net off. I never really cared for her side bangs, I’d rather have a doll with full bangs or none at all so I was pleased that my Lanie’s bangs were plastered down the side of her head.

IMG_3229[1]

Oh those lovely wild curls! I did not touch them except to take the hair net off.

IMG_3230[1]

I probably will eventually style them, but I think the wild curls fit her character. Even in her illustrations in her book, they’re pretty wild.

When I read other people’s blogs I always enjoy seeing a picture of what the blogger looks like (especially blogs I really like) and in this post you get to see me! Here I am with my mini me:

IMG_3251[1]

I decided to be even more like Lanie and take my glasses off:

IMG_3250[1]

Too bad my hair isn’t as thick and curly as Lanie’s…

A photo story featuring Kanani and Lanie will be coming shortly. Tell in the comments who your mini me is.

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Meet the Dolls. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Meet my mini me

  1. Heather, that’s a beautiful story about your Lanie renovation. Our Josefina (PC) had a trip to the doll hospital and they work they do is just incredible. Wouldn’t you love to know what goes on at the doll hospital? Dream job!
    Loved your picture with mini Me πŸ˜ƒ. It’s neat to meet you! Brianna looks like Grace (dark hair, blue eyes). I guess I’m Grace with highlights to cover to gray, LOL!

    • jackylina says:

      YES! I’ve always wanted to know what goes on in the doll hospital! I heard there used to be a video with a tour of the doll hospital but I don’t know if that really exists. Grace is so beautiful.

  2. Sunny says:

    You both look so cute together! I can definitely see the resemblance. πŸ˜‰
    Lanie looks so much better now, too. πŸ™‚
    My mini me would probably be MAG #57 (light skin, short brown hair, brown eyes). πŸ™‚
    *Sunny

  3. That’s so cool that you got a Lanie doll and then sent it to the AG hospital to get it fixed. She looks great. πŸ™‚
    The AG doll that looks the most like me might be Molly.

  4. Morgan P says:

    Yay! My Nicki doll just came back from the Doll Hospital. She’s my mini me, but I’m getting her eye swapped.

    -Morgan

    • jackylina says:

      Yes, I just saw your post. She is so beautiful! Are you going to do the eye swapping? I heard that’s really hard to do. Can you post about it if you are?

      • Morgan P says:

        Thanks! I don’t do the eye swapping. My Mommom does. She says it’s pretty hard, but I could post about it when she does it. I’ll have to see.

        -Morgan

  5. CutePolarBear says:

    You and Lanie look really alike! I guess I look like Grace the most, because of her highlights. But you can never really capture natural highlights in a doll’s hair. πŸ˜‰

    CutePolarBear

  6. Pingback: Jacky’s Back! | dollightful dolls

  7. Pingback: AG Face Mold Comparisons, (with Nanea!) | dollightful dolls

Leave a Reply

