American Girls Revue Part 4: It’s the Same Sun

Kirsten’s story comes from the book, Kirsten Learns a Lesson.  The words and music here are written by Nancy Ford and Gretchen Cryer.  Here’s the link to the song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=am41aSO33vo

Kirsten didn’t know anyone when she came to America in 1854.  Her family left her grandparents behind in Sweden and they came to a new country where they didn’t even speak the language.  Kirsten was really lonely.  When she felt sad, she tried to remember what her grandmother had told her when they said good-bye:

IMG_2998[1]

Grandmother: “When you miss me, Kirsten, look up at the sun, and know that I am looking at the same sun too.

It’s the same sun under the same sky, even though you’re half a world away.  When I see the same stars, the same moon, I’ll think of you; my love will always stay.”

IMG_3000[1]

Kirsten: “It’s the same sun under the same sky, even though you’re half a world away.  When I see the same stars, the same moon, I’ll think of you; my love will always stay.

IMG_3001[1]

Will I ever feel at home? Will I ever belong? Will I ever find a friend or sing a happy song?

And then one day, when Kirsten was fetching a bucket of water from the stream…

IMG_3002[1]

she saw an Indian girl looking at her through the cattails.

IMG_3003[1]

At first, Kirsten and Singing Bird just stared at each other.  But soon they became friends.  Even though they didn’t speak the same language, there were all kinds of things they could show each other without words.

IMG_3004[1]

Kirsten: This is a bird, this is a tree.

IMG_3005[1]

This is you, this is me.  This is the sun, this is the sky, this is the wind, blowing by.”

And Singing Bird taught Kirsten how to sing like the birds.

Kirsten: “We can whistle, have so much fun,

IMG_3006[1]

Make pictures in the sand of the sun. We can whistle like a bird, we can talk without a word. There are so many ways of saying all the things you have to say. You can whistle, make a picture, make a sign.  In a strange new land, we can understand that I like you, you’re a friend of mine!

This is “come”, this is “go”, this is “yes”, this is “no”, this is “now”, this is “never”, this is “one day”, This is “forever!”

IMG_3007[1]

There are so many ways of saying all the things you have to say, we can whistle, you can whistle, make a picture, make a sign.  In a strange new land, try to understand if you reach out, that’s the way you can belong.”

And then, one terrible day, Singing Bird came to Kirsten with some sad news; her tribe was going to have to go far away to hunt for food and they would never come back! Kirsten was so sad, but then she remembered what her grandmother had said:

IMG_3008[1]

It’s the same sun under the same sky, even though you’re half a world away.  When I see the same stars, the same moon, I’ll think of you; my love will always stay.”

Kirsten gave Singing Bird her crown of flowers so that she would not forget her.

IMG_3009[1]

And Singing Bird gave Kirsten her leather pouch.

IMG_3010[1]

Kirsten and Singing Bird: “There are so many ways of saying all the things you have to say. Just remember that the same old sun will shine

IMG_3011[1]

In a strange new land. Take my heart in your hand. I love you. You’re a friend of mine!”

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in American Girls Revue. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to American Girls Revue Part 4: It’s the Same Sun

  1. Sunny says:

    Kirsten is such a pretty doll! 🙂
    *Sunny

Leave a Reply

