Cinderella and beyond

This will be a post that features my dolls (it is very picture heavy) but first I have a very exciting human note to share: I had my birthday a week ago and my two best friends took me out to see the movie, Cinderella. Wow, that was the most beautiful movie I have ever seen! The special effects and music carried me into fairy land and the acting was stupendous. I HIGHLY recommend you go see this movie (and go get the soundtrack)! After the movie, we had dinner and one of my friends who is Hawaiian invited me to go with her to Hawaii this summer when she goes to visit her sister who lives there! EEEK Sqeee! I’m going to Hawaii this summer (Guess who’s coming with me: Kanani)!! Isn’t it amazing when God showers you with blessings you never ever saw coming!?

Anyway, my dolls got in the Cinderella spirit and decided to dress as their favorite Disney characters. Last year they dressed only as Disney princesses, but this time there are more characters involved:

Cinderella

IMG_2810[1]

I just got this doll. She used to be a Karito Kids doll Lara, but got customized with a Marie Grace wig. Her hair goes so well with her eyes. I fell in love with her (and her price) and she became Cinderella simply because she’s the only one who can fit into this dress I found at Goodwill. (she’s 21″ tall but slimmer than the AG dolls).

Fairy godmother, Kat.

IMG_2811[1]

IMG_2813[1]

Stepmother and sisters.

IMG_2814[1]

Sleeping Beauty

IMG_2816[1]

Doesn’t Elizabeth make a perfect Aurora?

IMG_2817[1]

Maleficent and the spinning wheel. Maleficent is a Carpatina Veronica doll.

IMG_2818[1]

with the three good fairies.

IMG_2820[1]

The spell is cast.

IMG_2822[1]

Snow White

IMG_2823[1]

Ruthie is such a princess and snow white is her favorite character.

Snow white and the seven – minis?!

IMG_2825[1]

IMG_2824[1]

Does the queen in snow white actually have a name? I haven’t seen the movie in years. In Once Upon a Time she’s called Regina…

The minis decided they didn’t want to be called dwarfs so the Ginny dolls took over. Some of the Ginny and Madame Alexander dolls you see are dolls my mom played with when she was a girl!

IMG_2827[1]

The Little Mermaid

IMG_2828[1]

Maggie, as Ariel.

IMG_2831[1]

Addy’s been watching Once Upon a Time with me and said she HAD to be Ursula. I wound pipe cleaners in her hair to be tentacles.

IMG_2829[1]

Kirsten is Queen Tritan.

Aladdin

IMG_2834[1]

Josefina makes a surprisingly good Aladdin. Rose has always and will always be Jasmine.

IMG_2836[1]

Jafar steps in with a swirling black and red cloak.

IMG_2837[1]

Kit grabs a lamp (or rather a teapot) and becomes the Genie.

IMG_2838[1]

Alice in Wonderland

IMG_2843[1]

Alice and the Queen of Hearts.

IMG_2846[1]

Alice at tea with her rabbit.

Beauty and the Beast

Yes, there are two Belles in this picture. Both Mary Grace and Heather wanted to be Belle. Miss AG bear is the Beast!

IMG_2847[1]

Pocahontas

IMG_2850[1]

Anytime I see Kaya with her hair down in her meet dress she looks like Pocahontas.

IMG_2872[1]

Pocahontas, Nakoma, and Grandmother Willow.

IMG_2873[1]

Tangled

IMG_2848[1]

Rapunzel

IMG_2849[1]

Rapunzel and her evil mother.

Frozen

IMG_2839[1]

I forgot to add Olaf in this picture!

Brave

IMG_2840[1]

Merida

IMG_2841[1]

Merida and her bear.

Who’s your favorite Disney character?

-Heather

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Cinderella and beyond

  1. Hawaii! That’s my kind of happy birthday surprise!
    The Queen of Hearts dress is stunning.
    You have an amazing collection 😃
    Jen @ DollsBetweenUs

  2. jackylina says:

    Thank you! I’ve been loving AG and other dolls since I was a girl. Total surprise about Hawaii!

  3. I nominated this post for a Doll Diaries pick of the week! Check her blog on Sat 😃

    • jackylina says:

      Wow! Thank you! I’m not sure if I will be picked but thanks for the nomination. ( my pics aren’t always the greatest and they tend to have clutter in the background) :).

  4. BBC Trending says:

    Hi

    I thought you might be interested in a short video BBC Trending have put together about AGSM.

    Thanks

  5. Kathleen says:

    Hey Heather
    I’m really sorry to say this, because I always love your posts, but this was just a wee bit offensive to me. The evil queen, Ursula, and Jafar were all non-Caucasian dolls, and they were the only ones other than Jasmine and Aladdin. I know it was not at all purposeful, but I know that if someone is super sensitive to different races and what is respectful and what is not; than it might come off sounding a bit biased if almost all the heroines are Caucasian, and you didn’t include Tiana, and the villians are almost all non-Caucasian.
    I know this is your blog, and you don’t have to listen to me, and you can delete my comment and ignore it if you like, but you might lose followers or readers from this.
    I’m really sorry for sounding so serious, but it’s something I’m becoming a lot more aware of, and realizing that sometimes even something this small can turn out to be a larger issue than anyone might expect. 🙂

    Kathleen

    • jackylina says:

      Thanks for mentioning this. I truly didn’t realize I had done that. I also wanted to do Tiana but I didn’t have good enough outfits for her but that still isn’t a very good excuse. I will think before I post next time. I love my dolls equally and my few Non- Caucasian dolls hold a very special place in my heart. I’m trying to add more racial diversity in my collection. Cecile who would have been Tiana just arrived yesterday and she is so beautiful! I also purchased a Brazilian doll named Tatiana from Via-E. she is not for sale yet but will be released some time this year. I really appreciate your comment though, especially since you stated it so respectfully.

      • Kathleen says:

        Your welcome!
        I have that same problem with the costumes, so I completely get it. 🙂
        Yeah, I understand that. My sister is a few years younger than me, and our first five dolls were all Caucasian becuase either she chose them or someone gave them to us, so we are also just getting some much needed diversity. Oh, I’m so jealous! Cecile’s pretty much my dream doll, other than Kanani.
        You’re welcome. 🙂

  6. Morgan P says:

    Your doll costumes are amazing! I love Maleficent, Cinderella, and Belle.

    -Morgan

  7. Kathryn says:

    So creative and fun!
    ~Kathryn

Leave a Reply

