American Girls of Today

Hello!

In 1995 American Girl created a modern doll line called American Girl of Today. Their motto was “Here’s a doll just like you; you’re a part of history too!” Every two years the doll line would get a new meet outfit. I have collected a few meet outfits through the years. Here are some of the dolls wearing them:

1996 Outfit

IMG_2439[1]

Here is Carlie Cullen wearing the “First Day outfit”. Yes, I’m slightly embarrassed to admit I’m a twilight fan and I named Carlie after Bella and Edward’s daughter, Renesmee Carlie Cullen.

IMG_2440[1]

1998 Outfit

IMG_2441[1]

I got Miranda Alvarez wearing this outfit a long time ago. I was in 8th grade and helping to set up books for my church’s rummage sale. Clear across the gym I heard someone say the words, “American Girl stuff.” I instantly dropped my books and ran to the toy section. A woman was donating an entire garbage bag of American girl items including Miranda! Since helpers are allowed to shop while they worked I told the lady to put everything back in the bag because I was going to buy it! I was so excited! It really pays to work and shop at rummage sales! You never know what you might find.

IMG_2442[1]

2000 Outfit

IMG_2443[1]

Jessica-Lily Gotz is not an American Girl doll, she is a 2003 Precious Day Gotz doll wearing the Urban Outfit. When I first bought her and Tess I thought they were Little Sister dolls but when I opened the box I saw that she had rooted, layered hair. I guess the first Precious Day dolls shared the same face mold as the Little Sister dolls. I’m really glad of that mistake though, I love the layered hair look and she doesn’t have pigeon-toes like the Little Sister dolls have. She was also a lot cheaper than what real Little Sister dolls sell for.

IMG_2444[1]

2002 Outfit

IMG_2445[1]

Amy Trevelyne is wearing the Go Anywhere meet outfit.  I won’t say much her here because she and Jacky are special dolls. You can find out why they are special by scrolling down to the previous post.

IMG_2446[1]

2004 Outfit

IMG_2448[1]

Jacky is wearing the Ready For Fun outfit because that’s just who she is: ready for fun! This my favorite meet outfit AG has created so far.

IMG_2449[1]

2010 Outfit

IMG_2450[1]

Suzuki (Suki) is wearing the Real Me outfit. If you take a close look at her necklace, you can see it’s not AG.  When the Macy’s store first opened in Chicago they handed out these magnetic star necklaces that light up. I attached the charms to it and made it her charm necklace. Suki loves music. She is studying violin and taking Suzuki violin lessons. Since she knows her name reflects the method she studies she works really hard and practices for two hours on the violin everyday! Her favorite thing to do is play with her friends in the AG quartet.

IMG_2451[1]

Those are all of my American Girls of Today. What My AG dolls do you have and which are your favorites?

-Heather

 

 

 

About jackylina

Hi, I'm Heather (the human) and Jacky (the doll) wanted us to start a blog together about all the dolls in my room. I collect 18"dolls such as American Girl, Carpatina, Magic Attic, and Kidz n Cats. I love dressing them up and creating photo stories for you to enjoy! I'm a Christian and you will see a Christian influence in this blog because I can't help glorifying the Lord!
This entry was posted in Meet the Dolls. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

